13 Reviews

These are wonderful. The first time I made them, something was "off" but I wasn't quite sure what. This time, I cut the salt in half, and they're perfect. I got 4 dozen medium size cookies out of one batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcglone1979 May 04, 2010

This is the Toll House recipe, just substituting shortening for butter and increasing the vanilla...still, they are delicious! I always halve the salt, use semi-sweet chips and lots of walnuts :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceg8908 October 02, 2009

Again the reviews prove so valuable. The cookies definitely look and feel undercooked when removed and I would have kept them in the oven longer, had I not read the reviews on this recipe. I baked mine for 10 min; got a batch of 46 and the cookie size is quite generous - like the palm of your hand. I personally found the cookies on the sweet side (perhaps because I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate, will use milk chocolate next time)but was voted out by everybody around me. They were loved by all. I made with regular shortening. A keeper for sure, especially since school is starting up in a few days. Made for Went to the Market tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 05, 2009

These are amazing! I have tried this recipe with both the regular and butter flavored shortening, and I prefere the regular. They taste great either way, though. I make exactly two dozen and bake them for 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erwestbrook July 13, 2009

Very good. A nice change from the regular recipe (tollhouse). Thanks for posting.......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reddi sketti June 13, 2009

Fantastic!! My kids and friends love them, and ask me to bake almost once a week!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danilu July 30, 2008

Amazing cookies! I've tried zillions of recipes searching for the best and this is near the top for sure! Dad said they were the best I've made.. but I'm afraid my quest isn't over.. But don't get me wrong! They have a wonderful cookie texture! Not cakey at all! Loved them!!! :) Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GBakes April 23, 2008

My family LOVED them! They were so chewy and filled with chocolate chips. I have been searcing for a great recipe for these! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Superhero's can Cook August 20, 2007

These cookies tasted good the first day but went stale after that. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 06, 2005

These tasted good but came out very thin. I don't know why, maybe it had something to do with the flour. Can somebody tell me where I may have gone wrong in my attempt at these cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmtriana July 09, 2005
Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies