Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolutely the Best Amish Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely the Best Amish Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2003

      Yummy stew, nicely spiced. Went over well with the kids. Made it in the crockpot cutting the beef and vegetables into little cubes. Cooked on high for 5 hours. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      This was so totally yummy! I have been experimenting with stews lately and I just have not been able to get it right. I shall look no more for another recipe. This was so easy and tastes fantastic! Thanks so much for posting it. My 5 children and my husband loved it too. I had no idea that those spices would make it taste so good. Thanks to you Karen and the Amish!! Happy Eating!

      Just wanted to update and let you know how much we love this recipe. It's now 2011 and we've been enjoying this as our ONLY stew recipe all these years now. It's simply the best ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      So very basic and so comforting. We made this exact to recipe quantities and instructions except used moose meat. Don't you just hate when somebody says exact except!! Wonderful stew - not too heavy with too many combos of flavors. Almost tempted to add garlic since it seems we're putting garlic into everything but held back so we could experience the flavors as written. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Instead of 4 cups of water use 4 cups of tomato juice. That's how real men do it anyway...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Really good. I had some canned beef, so I just skipped the 2 hour cooking of the beef and saut?ed the onions in the oil and spices a little while before adding the veggies. I added the beef long enough to warm and get some of the flavoring. It worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Made this beef stew for DH and he thought it was great. I didn't use the cloves because they're awfully expensive at the store. Instead I used a dash of cinnamon and I added a bit more of the flour/water mixture as mine didn't thicken as much as I'd liked with the first bit. I'll definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Great recipe. I also added a clove garlic, and cooked the spices in with the beef for a few minutes before adding my water. Mine started on the stove for 2 hours, then I stuck it in the oven at 300 for another hour when I had to run out. Added the potatoes and carrots and placed back on the stove for 30 min when I came home. This is just nice, simple comfort food on a very cold night. Served with french bread and family loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the spices, though kept the liquid amount the same so it was nice and flavourful. I did add garlic as well and it all came together nicely. It still managed to be more of a light tasting stew, which we all liked. The house smelled AMAZING the entire time it was cooking! Thanks for a nice and easy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I halved the recipe and it tasted great, but the sauce still ended up too thin. Next time, may try not halving the amount of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Excellent! What a wonderful, simple, and delicious recipe. I made it exactly as written and then added some corn and peas. It is comfort food at its best. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I've done it in the pressure cooker I put a little bit less water but didn't change anything else, and it was super good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This is a simple, hearty stew that's perfect for a cold winter day! I've been searching for a 'go to' beef stew recipe for a LONG time and I've certainly found it here. Thanks for a great recipe and a new family staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

    • on October 19, 2007

      this is a fantastic dish. have made it several times now. i have to say that i did alter it (!!) for our own tastes. so, i doubled the spice and sauce requirements, to make it ultra tasty. otherwise i found that it smelt more mouth watering than it actually tasted. i also added a clove or 2 of chopped garlic, halved the potato's and kept the carrot requirement. using cubed veal is an option that works very well, too. yes, you may need to add extra water as it cooks and i tend not to add the flour, which does work very well if you choose to. we serve it with fresh chopped spinach or another green and the last time i also served it with a toasted piece of buttered continental bread. will continue to make it again!! also the longer you leave it, like any great stew, the better it gets. YUM! thankyou, karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      This tastes really yummo! Not sure how to make it a little thicker tho'. Had to add more water even with a tight lid. But it is worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This is the first time I make a stew myself. And I must say I have missed a great deal of kitchen goodness in not trying it before. Incredibly simple to make and such a great taste to greet the cold days. Thanks Karen for a perfect recipe. I did everything exactly as directed and it came out wonderful. If I could give it more stars I would certainly do. If you could smell it too right now...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      This recipe foot the bill on a rather chilly day and was wonderfully warming and hearty. For dietary reasons, I omited the oil and sugar, and cut to salt to 1/4 tsp with good success. Don't be afraid of the allspice and cloves as the stew turns out beautifully and richly spiced. Thank you Karen for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      Delicious Stew, Easy to make,Made it in my dutch oven. Love worcestershire sauce in stews ,the spices added a nice flavor. Used baby carrots and small red potatoes. Served it with Tasty Buns. Recipe is a KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely the Best Amish Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1291.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1011
    78%
    Total Fat 112.3 g
    172%
    Saturated Fat 45.8 g
    229%
    Cholesterol 150.2 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1291.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes