30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe if done correctly. If you add the cold milk and cream to this pudding, you will have a lumpy mess. Warm the milk to dissolve the pudding before adding the cream and mixing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Enthusiast October 25, 2007

I made this recipe using Sugar Free Chocolate pudding. It turns out tasting just like Chocolate mousse..it does not have an "icing" consistency. It's just like putting mousse on top of your cake. I did take advice from other reviews and cut the recipe in half and used less milk etc. Milk is NOT sugar free so I used less milk. Unsweetened Almond milk would make it totally sugar free though. Taste good but does not turn out like icing you are familiar with.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olemisrebs_8026862 July 27, 2014

I made Died and Went to Heaven Chocolate Cake,diabetic Version in 9" cake pans and frosted it with this recipe using sugar-free french vanilla pudding. I took the cake to a work luncheon and it was a huge hit. I had half a dozen people ask me for the recipe and they were shocked to find out the frosting was totally sugar free. This recipe is going right into my keeper file. Made for Diabetic Cooking Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 22, 2011

I made this to go on a cake for my Mom who is a diabetic. It was wonderful! I used vanilla pudding, 2 cups whipping cream, and 2 cups 1% milk. Next time I'll do the 3 to 1 ratio listed. I made a cake in a pan with a lid, and this was twice as much frosting as we needed to frost just the top of a 9x13. We froze the rest, I"ll update when we thaw and use it. I made the cake from a Pillsbury reduced sugar cake mix with club soda and vanilla extract. I can't wait to try this frosting with many more flavors and to top many more cakes! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom July 15, 2008

I cut the ingredients in half to frost a small sugar-free cake for my diabetic father and he loved it! So did I. Thanks for your creativity and sharing with the rest of us. A TRUE SUGAR-FREE FROSTING! A Keeper! Frosted this chocolate "frosting" over Splenda Blend Sour Cream Pound Cake (Splenda Blend Sour Cream Pound Cake). Both are sugar-free for diabetics with taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ May 17, 2007

This is YUMMY !!! Super easy to make! My daughter is doing a wedding cake and they requested that one tier be sugar free. She chose this frosting and it is awesome. She made a "practice" batch today to check it out and she was able to decorate with it as well. Thanks for posting your recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pvt Amys Mom March 12, 2006

amazing!! made for my diabetic grandma's birthday!! simple and great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karina C. August 16, 2014

I also made this to go along with the Died and Went to Heaven Chocolate Cake,diabetic Version. We had a co-worker last year have a birthday and had recently been diagnosed as diabetic. It was a HIT!! So much so, that she has asked me to make it for her again this year. Thank you Chef Meela for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tljsmiles July 07, 2014

It's probably the best sugar free, whip cream frosting i've had.I will be making this quite a bit more...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan T. April 07, 2014
Absolutely Sugar Free Frosting