60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This way great! My kids just loved it. They ask for it all the time. Thanks so much.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula February 04, 2003

One solution to over-sugared kiddos! Served this at a B'day party and no one noticed. Will become a staple.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe December 28, 2002

This was great. We started out with the 1 1/2 cups sugar but we wanted it sweeter and have settled with 2 cups sugar to suit our tastes. This has great flavor and is inexpensive to serve to thirsty kids and adults.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele O'Sullivan November 11, 2002

I made this and added a dash of salt. I salt everything. It was excellent.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ September 10, 2002

The kids have been begging me to make them KoolAid. I've been reluctant because of all that sugar. The kids didn't miss it. Thanks for a new, great way to make KoolAid!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenway March 26, 2003

When I first saw this recipe I thought "What's so different about this recipe? Kool-Aid is Kool-Aid!" Was I ever wrong. It is so good and very refreshing when it is poured over ice and you can really taste the flavor of the Kool-Aid instead of so much sweetness. When I made it, I put the sugar and Kool-Aid powder in a 2 cup Hidden Valley Salad Dressing container. I then filled it with HOT water, put the lid on it and shook it really well until the sugar was dissolved, I then added it to a gallon jug half filled with COLD water, while stirring it and then added more water until the jug was full. That way I did not have granuals of sugar at the bottom of the jug. UPDATE!!(October 4 '03 I made this again but only made 1/2 gallon. I used 1 full package of orange koolaid and about 1/2 tablespoon of another package of orange kool-aid and 3/4 cup of sugar and it came out perfect!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof November 22, 2003

This is so refreshing and delicious! Each time I make this, I love it even more than the last time! The first time I made this, I used the Grape flavour. Thank you for sharing this, Auntie Lennie! We are enjoying this in the summers here! This is the best drink to serve to a large crowd. A world of THANKS, again(from all of us)! This is known as "Auntie Lennie's Perfect Kool-Aid" around this place;)!!!Update: I made this today afternoon using the "Ice Blue Raspberry Lemonade" flavour of Kool-aid. I loved the light blue colour of this. It went very well! Update again: I made this today(16th June'03) using the Kool-Aid magic twists(Secret color! Secret flavor!) drink mix in which the orange colour changed to a beautiful green! We all loved it. This drink is so divine in these summer months. Thank you so much, Auntie Lennie, for such a good recipe! Time for yet another update: I made this today(29th June'03) using 2 packets (each weighing 4.8gms Net) of Blastin' Berry Cherry and 1 pkt. (Net weight: 4.2 gms)of Roarin' Raspberry Cranberry! I love the dark red colour of this combo. It resembles one of my favourite summertime drinks called "Vimto". Update again: I made this this time using Wild Watermelon Kiwi Kool aid and wow, this recipe continues to amaze me! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 11, 2003

Once we get used to it, it should be a great way to reduce sugar. After years of full-strength Koolaid and sugar, this tastes a bit watery and tart. But it's got good qualities because kids can do with less sugar, so we're going to stick with it. Also, a gallon quantity makes a lot more sense for a large family.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr June 09, 2003

I have tons of kool-aid that I got free after coupons, so I am always looking for a good kool-aid recipe :). This was so good and refreshing. I did not have to make any changes. I made black cherry, and will try it again soon with grape. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach October 04, 2003

After looking over the "welcome back Lennie cook a thon", I realized that somehow I forgot to review this,(oops). We don't have kool-aid very often but since I found this recipe, it is the only way I make Kool-aid! I do add slightly more sugar than 1 1/2 cups but it still works out to be less than the packaged directions! Thanks for posting this and welcome back!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * October 02, 2003
Absolutely Perfect Kool-Aid