60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Super! We've been making 1 pkg. with 1/2 c. sugar and filling a large pitcher with water (probably more than 2 quarts.) I like the idea of using the gallon jug... we have so many. Best of all, every kid that's come to our house has liked it this way. A little less sugar never hurt anyone!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi July 09, 2002

We will be making kool-aid like this from now on Lennie! Who would of thought there was any other way to make kool-aid? Thanks Lennie, this just really has alot of flavor and it doesn't taste like sugar water either. DD really enjoyed it, she wanted to know where I bought the new kool-aid from :-)

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH July 29, 2002

Lennie, this KoolAid was well received in my house! My step son's exact words were, "Is this KoolAid? I don't know why, but it's addicting! I've already had 3 glasses, I just can't get enough of this stuff!" I mixed it up in a 1 gallon bottle of water. I poured half the water out into a pitcher and then I added the 3 packages of KoolAid and the sugar to the bottle using a funnel. Then, I put the lid on and shook it up. I then added enough water back to the gallon container to fill to the top, shaking a little as I go to get the water on the top mixed with the KoolAid mixture. Then I just put the gallon container in the fridge... but I must say that it didn't last long in my house! Thanks for sharing your KoolAid recipe, we'll be making it this way from now on!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. August 12, 2002

My children thought this was great. They said it had a stronger flavor, but it was not sweet enough, so I made it with 2 cups of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. I did not have 3 packages of the same flavor so I used 2 Cherry and 1 Roarin' Rasberry Cranberry. Now they can mix and match their KoolAid.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyB October 08, 2002

There is a little bit of confusion in this recipe about buying KoolAid. In Canada, the normal size of KoolAid packets is 6 grams. But I have since learned that the U.S. and Canada measure the packets differently; one country by weight and one by volume. You get the same amount of KoolAid in each! The size to use is the regular, ordinary packet of KoolAid, the one about 4 inches long and just shy of 3 inches wide.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie September 15, 2002

Add me to the cheering section! My kids love this new way of making Kool-Aid and so does my husband! I don't care for Kool-Aid, but took a little sip and it was surprisingly good, it tasted more like fruit juice than Kool-Aid. And I don't think my kids missed the sugar at all, definitely a plus! Thanks for a new family favorite, Lennie!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! February 13, 2003

Much better than regular KoolAid! However, I searched high and low, and 6 g. packets of KoolAid do not exist as far as I can tell! I used .14 oz. (3.9 g) packets of unsweetened KoolAid.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimar September 12, 2002

This taste much better than the package directions. Will be making it this way from now on. Thank-you!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama September 12, 2002

This way to make Kool-aid is even better than how it is supposed to be made. Flavor is WAY better and not that much sugar (which is good).

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmen B. February 08, 2003

Five Big Stars for you. I made this today. All I did was add a 1/4 cup more of sugar. It sure is really good. Thank You.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda February 09, 2003
Absolutely Perfect Kool-Aid