15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading about 9 bran muffin recipes, I settled on this one, incorporating a lot from the reviews. I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of splenda, 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat, 3 egg whites, 2 mashed ripe bananas, and buttermilk instead of sour milk. Added raisins to half of them, which added quite a bit more sweetness. Rather than use paper cups I oiled my muffin tins and they popped out beautifully. Filled each cup full and the result was a perfect puffed muffin. Yum, Yum! Will be using this again and again--next time I'm going to try shredded zucchini--and I envision using carrots for the holidays, add raisins/nuts, dollop w/whipped cream cheese and they'll be like mini carrot cakes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gonancysmith July 10, 2011

Love these! I make them at the beginning of the week (half recipe = 12 normal muffins) and keep them in the refrigerator and eat one or two every day for breakfast. I have experimented with adding different extras to make them even more special. Here is my current opinion
1) cinnamon = excellent choice. Almost essential
2) apples = so good. I have a dehydrator so I try to get some of the excess liquid out of them first.
3) shredded carrots = a nice way to add a few extra nutrients
Other things that I've added but been less impressed with include walnuts (my family liked them but I didn't think they were worth the extra calories), dried blueberries (too much added sugar, fresh would probably be better), freeze dried mango (good in that they're easy and I had some to use up but not the best). With the added stuff, I was able to make rather good sized muffins. Depending on which extra, they come out to about 100-115 calories each.
Also I've noticed that others have commented on the fact that the muffin papers really stick to these suckers. I have also had that problem but it really seems to dissipate after the first day. They still stick a bit but not as much and a little paper isn't a terrible thing...hopefully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco February 16, 2011

YUMMY!!! I use foil muffin wrappers and sprayed them w/ Crisco no-stick spray with Pillsbury flour. They didn't stick at all, in fact, completely fell out! PERFECT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flaminalpha July 09, 2009

I've made this recipe several times now, with a few variations; mostly just substituting Splenda for the sugar or half Splenda, half brown sugar. I've also done versions adding mashed banana or frozen blueberries. They always come out great, but... But I have two big questions. 1. Does anyone else have a problem with the paper muffin cups really sticking to the muffins? Maybe it's the lack of oil, but I have the hardest time peeling the paper off. And I've tried just spraying the tins directly and not using paper, but that's even worse. 2. Most importantly (to me), how accurate do you think the nutrition info is? I find it hard to believe one of these muffins is only 65 calories! Granted, I have never gotten 40 muffins out of the recipe. Usually I get only about 24 normal sized muffins. The recipe says 40 "large", but maybe they'd each have to be mini-muffins to be 65 calories. Meanwhile, I'll tell myself they're 65 each, so I can have two for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgoonan July 07, 2009

Made this muffins with a few variations -- used buttermilk in place of the soured milk. Added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Also substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup splenda for the sugar. Will think about adding some raisins next time. They baked up tall, moist and tender. Excellent recipe!!! Easy to make, keeps in the fridge so you can bake them whenever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Ann #2 February 18, 2005

Wow! This is the best muffin recipe I have found for a delicious South Beach Diet legal breakfast! The muffins were moist and flavorful and just plain delicious. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and I added freshly grated nutmeg and cinnamon to spice it up. Like the other reviewer I added craisins as well. Unfortunately, we didn't like the craisins at all, this muffin certainly didn't need them as it stands quite nicely on its own. No worries though, we just picked out the craisins and enjoyed! Thank you for a great recipe, its definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk November 04, 2004

This recipe is true to its name! I've tried other recipes for bran muffins and felt like I was eating a hockey puck. This made a moist, light DELICIOUS muffin. I added Craisins to some which were excellent. I also tried frozen blueberries but I think I went overboard in the blueberry dept...they took longer than the 20 minutes listed in the recipe. Thank you for a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura36 October 24, 2004

I thought these were great! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added cinnamon. I also added one packet of sugar free apple cider mix which made it very apple-y. Will make these often. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicxstar February 06, 2013

Even though I did make a few substitutions, based on reading others' reviews, these muffins are really good! I used half brown sugar and half Splenda, 2 eggs, half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour, and I was going to add 1 tsp. cinnamon, but I forgot (next time!). I had to adjust my baking time/temp, because I have dark muffin pans, but I filled the tins about 3/4 full, and they puffed nicely. I got 28 standard-size muffins from this recipe. My husband loves bran muffins, so I freeze them, and he takes a couple out each day to take to work. They freeze really well. If you want one from frozen, just heat it for 25 seconds in the microwave, and you can have a nice, warm muffin! Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 September 08, 2011

The recipe is awesome but the serving size is waaaaaaay off! I got 24 SMALL muffins following the recipe exactly! The muffins formed a little peak that just poked above the top of the tin. There is no muffin top so they are truly small. However I'm fine with that. They are very handy for a grab and go breakfast. I eat two. I found them a little too sweet so next time instead of sugar I'm going to substitute with chopped up dates. I submitted a correction here for the serving size so we'll see what happens. In the meantime I plugged the info in at another site with the 24 serving size and it said they're 115 calories each and get an A for nutrition! Still an awesome recipe! Thanks Shannon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noybtu June 25, 2010
Absolutely Delicious Bran Muffins