Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolutely Delicious Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely Delicious Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2011

      After reading about 9 bran muffin recipes, I settled on this one, incorporating a lot from the reviews. I used 1/2 c brown sugar instead of splenda, 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat, 3 egg whites, 2 mashed ripe bananas, and buttermilk instead of sour milk. Added raisins to half of them, which added quite a bit more sweetness. Rather than use paper cups I oiled my muffin tins and they popped out beautifully. Filled each cup full and the result was a perfect puffed muffin. Yum, Yum! Will be using this again and again--next time I'm going to try shredded zucchini--and I envision using carrots for the holidays, add raisins/nuts, dollop w/whipped cream cheese and they'll be like mini carrot cakes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Love these! I make them at the beginning of the week (half recipe = 12 normal muffins) and keep them in the refrigerator and eat one or two every day for breakfast. I have experimented with adding different extras to make them even more special. Here is my current opinion
      1) cinnamon = excellent choice. Almost essential
      2) apples = so good. I have a dehydrator so I try to get some of the excess liquid out of them first.
      3) shredded carrots = a nice way to add a few extra nutrients
      Other things that I've added but been less impressed with include walnuts (my family liked them but I didn't think they were worth the extra calories), dried blueberries (too much added sugar, fresh would probably be better), freeze dried mango (good in that they're easy and I had some to use up but not the best). With the added stuff, I was able to make rather good sized muffins. Depending on which extra, they come out to about 100-115 calories each.
      Also I've noticed that others have commented on the fact that the muffin papers really stick to these suckers. I have also had that problem but it really seems to dissipate after the first day. They still stick a bit but not as much and a little paper isn't a terrible thing...hopefully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      YUMMY!!! I use foil muffin wrappers and sprayed them w/ Crisco no-stick spray with Pillsbury flour. They didn't stick at all, in fact, completely fell out! PERFECT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I've made this recipe several times now, with a few variations; mostly just substituting Splenda for the sugar or half Splenda, half brown sugar. I've also done versions adding mashed banana or frozen blueberries. They always come out great, but... But I have two big questions. 1. Does anyone else have a problem with the paper muffin cups really sticking to the muffins? Maybe it's the lack of oil, but I have the hardest time peeling the paper off. And I've tried just spraying the tins directly and not using paper, but that's even worse. 2. Most importantly (to me), how accurate do you think the nutrition info is? I find it hard to believe one of these muffins is only 65 calories! Granted, I have never gotten 40 muffins out of the recipe. Usually I get only about 24 normal sized muffins. The recipe says 40 "large", but maybe they'd each have to be mini-muffins to be 65 calories. Meanwhile, I'll tell myself they're 65 each, so I can have two for breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Made this muffins with a few variations -- used buttermilk in place of the soured milk. Added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Also substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup splenda for the sugar. Will think about adding some raisins next time. They baked up tall, moist and tender. Excellent recipe!!! Easy to make, keeps in the fridge so you can bake them whenever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      Wow! This is the best muffin recipe I have found for a delicious South Beach Diet legal breakfast! The muffins were moist and flavorful and just plain delicious. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and I added freshly grated nutmeg and cinnamon to spice it up. Like the other reviewer I added craisins as well. Unfortunately, we didn't like the craisins at all, this muffin certainly didn't need them as it stands quite nicely on its own. No worries though, we just picked out the craisins and enjoyed! Thank you for a great recipe, its definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      This recipe is true to its name! I've tried other recipes for bran muffins and felt like I was eating a hockey puck. This made a moist, light DELICIOUS muffin. I added Craisins to some which were excellent. I also tried frozen blueberries but I think I went overboard in the blueberry dept...they took longer than the 20 minutes listed in the recipe. Thank you for a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      I thought these were great! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added cinnamon. I also added one packet of sugar free apple cider mix which made it very apple-y. Will make these often. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Even though I did make a few substitutions, based on reading others' reviews, these muffins are really good! I used half brown sugar and half Splenda, 2 eggs, half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour, and I was going to add 1 tsp. cinnamon, but I forgot (next time!). I had to adjust my baking time/temp, because I have dark muffin pans, but I filled the tins about 3/4 full, and they puffed nicely. I got 28 standard-size muffins from this recipe. My husband loves bran muffins, so I freeze them, and he takes a couple out each day to take to work. They freeze really well. If you want one from frozen, just heat it for 25 seconds in the microwave, and you can have a nice, warm muffin! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      The recipe is awesome but the serving size is waaaaaaay off! I got 24 SMALL muffins following the recipe exactly! The muffins formed a little peak that just poked above the top of the tin. There is no muffin top so they are truly small. However I'm fine with that. They are very handy for a grab and go breakfast. I eat two. I found them a little too sweet so next time instead of sugar I'm going to substitute with chopped up dates. I submitted a correction here for the serving size so we'll see what happens. In the meantime I plugged the info in at another site with the 24 serving size and it said they're 115 calories each and get an A for nutrition! Still an awesome recipe! Thanks Shannon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Moist, Moist, Moist! My Husband is a picky "Body Builder Type" and he loved them! I did add raisins and walnuts. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      First thing, I only got 24 regular sized muffins using a 1/4 C to measure each one. I used 1/2 C brown sugar instead of the stated 1C of sugar, I addded 1/2 C raisins, 1t Vanilla, 1/2 t each of cinn, nutmag, & cloves. So good and moist. AND, after readjusting the Nutrition Facts for only 24 servings and making the needed changes based on my additions, each muffin is worth only 1 Weight Watchers point!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I tried this recipe but made a few substitutions and they turned out great. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda, 3 egg whites (instead of 1/2 cup egg substitute), added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 3 grated carrots and 1/3 cup flaxseed. I baked them all (only made 27 muffins) and froze them. They are perfect to take out in the morning and heat for about 20 seconds in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Very Good! I used mashed bananas instead of applesauce, 1 whole egg and 2% milk. I added 1 Cup semi-sweet choc chips, 1 Cup raisins, and 1/2 Cup chopped walnuts. These muffins were really moist, I'd suggest keeping them in the fridge or freezer if you have a small family. I used the jumbo muffin tins and the recipe made about 18 muffins. I will try them again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Not sure if I just added too much liquid or not but I found these to be too "loose". Easy enough to to and good taste though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely Delicious Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 64.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    33%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 138.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites