Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolute Best Most Excellent Soft Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolute Best Most Excellent Soft Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2011

      These are the best oatmeal cookies! When i made them i left out the raisins and put in cinnamon chips and chopped pecans. Everyone loves them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Fantastic recipe for my most favorite cookie! I added 1 tsp vanilla and used craisins (dried cranberries) instead of raisins, but didn't soak them. I can eat a whole batch of these myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      These cookies really are the best! My husband won't stop eating them. I've made 3 batches so far. Excellent!! I added a little vanilla extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      The cookies seemed to lack some punch, but when I made them again, I added 1/2 tsp. of salt. My hot oatmeal always tastes flat without it, so I figured that it would work for these cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful recipe, even after I substituted coconut spread in place of the butter because of recently being ordered by my GI doc to go completely dairy-free. Sometimes oatmeal cookies are dry and hard even after the first day. The recipe is great just the way it is. Other than for my butter substitute which makes it, in fact, healthier, I wouldn't change a thing. The soaked raisins and the mildly spiced cinnamon give the cookies a "gentle" spiciness. The addition of some chopped nuts would be good, but I don't believe anything else is necessary at all, not even vanilla. GOOD JOB, whoever came up with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Very good. One of the better oatmeal cookies I have made. Didn't use raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      I have been baking for all my life and I tried your soft oatmeal raisin cookies, had my husband try them and we both found them to be soft but oh so missing on flavor. As my husband said...it's missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      these cookies are the bomb!!!!! i followed the recipe exactly and even at high altitutde (7200 feet) they turned out so moist and delectable

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Me & My Grammy teamed up to make a large tray of mixed cookies for my relator's office. Being Italian, we made the tray of mostly Italian type cookies so I wanted to mix in a more traditional cookie that was also appropriate for fall so I chose this recipe and I am so GLAD that I did! They are truly delicious! I am sure when I deliver the tray people are going to love this cookie if they love oatmeal rasin to begin with! I used golden raisins (not sure if I was supposed to) but I always favor golden rasins over the dark one. Also- for all of you fall bakers out there, FYI- I use King Arthur Flour's Vietnamese Cinnamon... I use that Cinnamon for strictly baking especially in the fall and it seriously does wonders! Thanks for posting such a wonderful cookie and I am hysterical at how you have to cook the rasins to plump! never knew that trick before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I'm rating on flavor because I messed up on consistency--my fault, not the recipe's. When I softened my butter, it got TOO soft, nearly melted so I got perfectly flat cookies (MY fault!). They taste awesome though! I soaked the raisins in orange juice and it really gave a little extra kick to the flavor too. UPDATE: Made them today without melted butter and oh my. So good. I soaked the raisins in OJ, water & vanilla mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This is the cookie recipe that I had for years and could not find it. I added vanilla and a little more cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      These are really good cookies. I did cut back on the baking powder and they turned out fine. Next time I believe I will spice them up up a bit. This was a quick easy recipe that I will definitely be using often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Very good! I cut the recipe in half and it worked out fine. I also added vanilla like the other posters suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This is so fantastic!! I did as someone else said and cut the baking powder by half. I did not have brown sugar so i put in just under 1 cup white sugar (all i had) and I think it came out even better then it would have if I had put in brown sugar! So delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Just made this recipe tonight. These are definitely soft, but perhaps too fluffy for me in the way of a cookie. I would probably cut the baking powder in half next time around. Overall, very yummy. I replaced half the flour with whole wheat flour. Very good substitution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      These are not the tastiest oatmeal cookie I've made, but they are definitely the softest. I'll be making them again as my hubby likes them. I must admit they were better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I am updating this review and upping the stars!!! I made these cookies over the weekend again, and I found the mistake made the first time. I realized I used old fashioned oats the first time which yielded a crisper cookie. This time I used quick cooking oats, and these cookies were soft and heavenly! These are definitely a family favorite. I used my cookie scoop and wound up with about 60 2 inch diameter delicious cookies. Thank you so much for sharing this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Easy to make and tasty, however; mine turned out flat...was hoping for gooey, chewy and plump.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I took these cookies to my office and they were instantly gone! They're very soft and chewy, I added about 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp salt to the recipe. Great Recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      These cookies are the best Soft Oatmeal Raisin cookies I have ever had the pleasure of eating and seerving. I also made them with chopped walnuts and they were just the best tasting cookies. Nita Michigan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolute Best Most Excellent Soft Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.5
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    37%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 97.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites