519 Reviews

I haven't tried it but but I jumped when I saw the nutritional facts : 61% SODIUM PER SERVING. Sorry, it's way too much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Escoffier2 November 26, 2014

I had never made lasagna before, just a beginner in general! I read through quite a bit of the reviews before making, so I put a layer of sauce on the bottom, covered with foil and put extra liquid in the sauce while it was simmering. Unfortunately I also followed the advice that cooking the noodles before hand was not totally necessary...... bad choice!!! haha the top layer of noodles was definitely tough and hard to cut into! Next time I will cook them just a bit AND put a layer of sauce on the very top instead of very bottom, it was a little messier than it needed to be with sauce as the bottom layer. <br/><br/>Otherwise this lasagna was DELICIOUS and I will definitely be making again! & the sauce smelled AMAZING while it was simmering it was torture! Well worth the time and effort in my opinion. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaitJenn November 04, 2013

This is an excellent. Recipe. Almost exactly like the one I've been making for 35 years. It came from the McCalls Cookbook!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby W October 08, 2013

Very good and very easy...doubled the recipe and it was all gone in days. <br/>Added a little brown sugar to the sauce, half and half with the cottage cheese and ricotta cheese and it was perfect. <br/>And the left overs were even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrfllink October 08, 2013

This is a really good recipe! I looked at a few recipes before deciding on this one. Glad I picked the right one. My husband used to hate lasagna. Now he can't live without it (smile).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azn Delicacies April 25, 2013

Excellent lasagna!!! I used Italian style diced tomatoes and the cottage cheese option. The sauce was a little thick so I added more water. I also added spinach to the cheese mixture. All my guests raved about how good this was. Thanks so much for sharing this true keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY December 20, 2011

Fabulous, authentic... there are shameful restaurants claiming to be Italian that serve overpriced lasagna that does not come even close to this marvelous recipe made EXACTLY AS IS! PLEASE, make it once as it is written, savor the FRESHLY made taste, then savor as the flavors blend and deepen over the following days... can it possibly just keep getting better? Seems so. After making this AS IS ONCE, feel free to tweak the ingredients to suit family preferences should you find it necessary: we might add 1/4 cup of red wine & just a bit more Italian herb seasoning. BUT, this might be the BEST LASAGNA I've have since college days (forty years ago) when invited to the home of a frat brother (Italian) to shoot pool and eat Mama's home cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantg October 23, 2011

I have never made lasagna but love it so much. I have just always thought it was to much work. Well this is a great recipe. It is so delicious. I made it with cottage cheese. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just my husband, my son and myself. My son (pickiest 7 yr old ever) ate 3 servings! The left overs were even more amazing. Defiantly a keeper and easy too. I will make this now all the time instead of frozen lasagna!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sommer S. February 05, 2011

I made this for Christmas Day and everyone loved it! I've made it once before so I had a few modifications. I used only 1 lb. of ground beef....it was a little too meaty last time I made it. I used cans of diced tomatoes and added a small can of tomato sauce. Also used 3 cloves of garlic. I opted for ricotta cheese and used the large package (not sure oz). I did cook my lasagna noodles first and did not have any problems but will try not cooking them next time...save me a step. This is my go-to meat lasagna recipe! YUM

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yums44 December 29, 2010

I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a hit! I used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and I didn't cook the pasta since I made it early in the day and it was saucy enough that the noodles came out perfect. Several people asked for the recipe and I will gladly pass it along. Thanks for sharing, ratherbeswimmin'!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kristan December 27, 2010
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna