464 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this again using Bolognese Sauce - Traditional Italian Meat-Based Sauce for Pasta for the sauce(I had it in the freezer). I put some of the sauce over the noodles and then topped with the cheese. Excellent lasagna. I had to make due with what I had on hand because of the nearly four feet of snow we have. Only had 15 oz. of ricotta, and six oz. tomato paste. I may save some sauce to put on top of the last layer of noodle then top with cheese as mine were very tough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 13, 2010

I made the recipe as written except that I used ricotta and I didn't have the tomatoes for the sauce, so I used a jar of Prego (1lb 8oz) instead. I thought that the sauce looked good as far as amount and consistency. Ok, I'll admit that I had difficulty with choosing the right size pan. I have a metal 9x13, but that seemed too small, I was afraid my glass 11x13 had sides that were too small - plus it was too much overlap with the noodles. I chose a larger glass pyrex that I have - it's about 10x14. I thought that leaving off with the noodles was strange, but I figured the sauce would come up and around during baking. It didn't, and the top was all hard and dried out. Although the fillings/layers covered the area, they were thin, and the result was a very dry, crumbly lasagne. I couldn't taste the sausage. it was very disappointing. I had about 2/3 of the pan left after dinner (for 5). If I made it again (and that's a big if), I'd probably opt for the smaller 9x13 pan and put sauce on the top before the cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three February 19, 2010

The name is very accurate. This is by far the best lasagna I have tasted. I am throwing out my old recipe and replacing it with this one. Has loads of cheese and the meat sauce is scrumptious. My husband grabbed me up and kissed me smack on the lips so I know the effect this had on your husband. If anyone wants to mesmerize a man, then just make this. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callalilyprincess August 08, 2004

I also used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, as well a 1 lb. of Italian sausage and 1 lb. of ground turkey meat. I threw a bay leaf in the sauce as it simmered. Good stuff, I had some for breakfast too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn August 14, 2003

Wow and wow again. Hands down the best lasagna I have ever tasted. Beats any that I have tried in the numerous Italian restaurants I have eaten in. The sauce is meat-filled and very well seasoned. This is so full of cheese which makes it rich and delicious. It tastes even better the next day. Simply amazing. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 August 19, 2002

Made this last night after reading tons of positive and negative reviews. I used ground turkey and sausage, doubled the sauce, added 4 table spoons of red wine, and a few pinches of sugar. Sauce was amazing! Oh, I also used canned San Marzano tomatoes. I made one huge pan and used leftover sauce to make mini spaghetti squash lasagnas. So good! I loved this basic recipe for non cooks like me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 23, 2015

Love love love this!!! Best lasagna recipe I've ever made!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda M. March 22, 2015

FANTASTIC! My fiance said "don't change a thing about it". That means alot coming from a chef! The batch lasted the two of us forever and I ended up having to make more sauce (which I actually added more sausage to)! I topped it with homemade alfredo sauce and now this is going to be a staple. Definitely going to freeze 1/2 right away next time though! I would say if you like a heaping of red sauce on top then 1.5 times the sauce recipe (at least!)! OH! And 12 lasagna noodles are PERFECT for a 9 x 13 pan! What the heck am I gonna do with the extra 6 that I made?!!! Oh, Drown them in the extra sauce! YUM!!! Seriously, no doubts about this recipe. PS. I used Ricotta cheese and a Parmesan/Romano blend and spicy Italian sausage. I'm gonna use a bit more italian sausage next time though! That was the ONLY criticism from the man!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 12, 2015

Cooked this this evening and all the family loved it! great recipe and easy to follow i did add one tin full of water to the meat and only one pound of meat as per suggested from some of the reviews and it came out just right not too runny or dry. I will defiantly be cooking this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimeecrowther March 07, 2015

Im so sorry, and I am not trying to be mean, but this was awful. We're minorities, so we love seasoning. I tried this the way it was because of the reviews and it smelled amazing. When everyone bit into it their faces told me, This is gross. I tried to doctor it up, and nothing worked, never again. I will say Now that I have the basics down I will try my own recipe next time. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbuycks March 04, 2015
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna