468 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good and very easy...doubled the recipe and it was all gone in days. <br/>Added a little brown sugar to the sauce, half and half with the cottage cheese and ricotta cheese and it was perfect. <br/>And the left overs were even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrfllink October 08, 2013

This is a really good recipe! I looked at a few recipes before deciding on this one. Glad I picked the right one. My husband used to hate lasagna. Now he can't live without it (smile).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azn Delicacies April 25, 2013

After reading all of these 5 star reviews I thought this was going to be insanely good. Unfortunately, it's just a run of the mill lasagna. I didn't find anything special about this. It wasn't saucy enough (on the drier side than I like), not enough cheese (not gooey!), and the meat mixture was pretty standard. I'm moving on to find a better recipe. Unfortunate too, since making lasagna is time consuming I was hoping for better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davejj April 07, 2013

I made this yesterday as a special meal for my husband since he came from abroad and wanted to pamper him with his favourite dish :) It was more delicious than I expected and it really deserves more than 5 stars. I made some adjustments as per below but it turned out just as wonderful:
1. instead of Italian sausage, I used Milan salami as I couldn't find
2. I used 1/4 lb. mozzarella for the ricotta filling as I didn't have enough
3. I prepared some white sauce using milk, margarine, salt and flour and topped the lasagne with it. I became super creamy and I only used about 2 table spoons of mozzarella on top of the sauce.

Simply delicious and I WOWWed my husband with it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Venetrix December 03, 2012

This was really good but the there should not be a layer of noodles on top. It should have had sauce then cheese. The noodles got super hard and the cheese became one with the noodles so you lost the ooey gooey effect. Great flavor, but missed the mark with the execution.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 May 14, 2012

Excellent lasagna!!! I used Italian style diced tomatoes and the cottage cheese option. The sauce was a little thick so I added more water. I also added spinach to the cheese mixture. All my guests raved about how good this was. Thanks so much for sharing this true keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY December 20, 2011

Fabulous, authentic... there are shameful restaurants claiming to be Italian that serve overpriced lasagna that does not come even close to this marvelous recipe made EXACTLY AS IS! PLEASE, make it once as it is written, savor the FRESHLY made taste, then savor as the flavors blend and deepen over the following days... can it possibly just keep getting better? Seems so. After making this AS IS ONCE, feel free to tweak the ingredients to suit family preferences should you find it necessary: we might add 1/4 cup of red wine & just a bit more Italian herb seasoning. BUT, this might be the BEST LASAGNA I've have since college days (forty years ago) when invited to the home of a frat brother (Italian) to shoot pool and eat Mama's home cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grantg October 23, 2011

I have never made lasagna but love it so much. I have just always thought it was to much work. Well this is a great recipe. It is so delicious. I made it with cottage cheese. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just my husband, my son and myself. My son (pickiest 7 yr old ever) ate 3 servings! The left overs were even more amazing. Defiantly a keeper and easy too. I will make this now all the time instead of frozen lasagna!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sommer S. February 05, 2011

I made this for Christmas Day and everyone loved it! I've made it once before so I had a few modifications. I used only 1 lb. of ground beef....it was a little too meaty last time I made it. I used cans of diced tomatoes and added a small can of tomato sauce. Also used 3 cloves of garlic. I opted for ricotta cheese and used the large package (not sure oz). I did cook my lasagna noodles first and did not have any problems but will try not cooking them next time...save me a step. This is my go-to meat lasagna recipe! YUM

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yums44 December 29, 2010

I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a hit! I used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and I didn't cook the pasta since I made it early in the day and it was saucy enough that the noodles came out perfect. Several people asked for the recipe and I will gladly pass it along. Thanks for sharing, ratherbeswimmin'!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kristan December 27, 2010
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna