516 Reviews

I used ricotta instead of the cottage cheese and it turned out great.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quixoposto January 15, 2003

Mediocre results for a time intensive recipe. We expected "Wow" but got "Ehh"...I immediately had memories of Costco frozen lasagna, comparatively speaking. I used quality beef sausage and cheeses from whole foods, making this a bit of a pricey medeocre dish. I was drawn to this recipe based on reviews. It's ALL meat no vegetables unless you add as several of us have. I figured adding a good amount of roasted zucchini would make a great lasagna, but disappointed based on the time and ingredients we used. It's not bad, but there are a lot of better recipes out there. Going back and sticking to veggie lasagna recipes.......

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billy.symons October 05, 2015

Not the best lasagna I've ever had! Just okay. A bit dry. I definitely have had much better!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elise H. June 22, 2015

Im so sorry, and I am not trying to be mean, but this was awful. We're minorities, so we love seasoning. I tried this the way it was because of the reviews and it smelled amazing. When everyone bit into it their faces told me, This is gross. I tried to doctor it up, and nothing worked, never again. I will say Now that I have the basics down I will try my own recipe next time. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbuycks March 04, 2015

I was really disappointed with this recipe. Somehow the sauce/meat to cheese proportion is off. I would have preferred less meat and a little more ricotta with one more egg. The ricotta failed to "set" with two eggs. I cooked mine for 55 minutes and easily could have cooked it longer. Even with letting it rest for 20 minutes, it was a goopy mess. Not appetizing to look at and not as tasty as I expected. Disappointed I spent so much money for an I satisfying dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth February 25, 2015

Sad to say yet another online 5 star rated recipe that I followed to the "T" for the first time, and with dinner guests (I should know better by now) It did flow over the sides as reviewer mentioned but also all over the oven bottom (but foil caught most of it but you could smell the burning of the run over yuck) But this turned out dry, just so-so on the flavor and needed a lot more cheese filling. Not one single compliment on the lasagna - thank goodness my other tried and true side dish recipes got good reviews. And now that I look at the calories per serving for this, especially those from fat, wow what was I thinking. There are much better tasting lasagna recipes with much less fat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemgemini1 January 18, 2015

the worst discusting recipe the worst and a waste of time to make its not the best its not even deasent

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l s. March 17, 2014

Wasn't impressed. My dh and I thought it was lacking in flavor. i followed recipe exactly as written. Will stick with my old recpie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keli in Indy October 24, 2013

After reading several pages of review after review that this was the best thing they've ever taste, I was sold. Had to try i. And my verdict? Honestly disappointed. I made it to the recipe exact. We found it on the dry side. Too much meat for me. Taste was certainly good, but nowhere near best ever. Quite disappointe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeeMat October 12, 2013

After reading all of these 5 star reviews I thought this was going to be insanely good. Unfortunately, it's just a run of the mill lasagna. I didn't find anything special about this. It wasn't saucy enough (on the drier side than I like), not enough cheese (not gooey!), and the meat mixture was pretty standard. I'm moving on to find a better recipe. Unfortunate too, since making lasagna is time consuming I was hoping for better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davejj April 07, 2013
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna