Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolute Best Ever Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    450 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 450

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2011

      Fabulous, authentic... there are shameful restaurants claiming to be Italian that serve overpriced lasagna that does not come even close to this marvelous recipe made EXACTLY AS IS! PLEASE, make it once as it is written, savor the FRESHLY made taste, then savor as the flavors blend and deepen over the following days... can it possibly just keep getting better? Seems so. After making this AS IS ONCE, feel free to tweak the ingredients to suit family preferences should you find it necessary: we might add 1/4 cup of red wine & just a bit more Italian herb seasoning. BUT, this might be the BEST LASAGNA I've have since college days (forty years ago) when invited to the home of a frat brother (Italian) to shoot pool and eat Mama's home cooking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      I have made this lasagna multiple times. It always turns out great!!! My husband loves it and he is Italian! Not dry, not runny, perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I have never made lasagna but love it so much. I have just always thought it was to much work. Well this is a great recipe. It is so delicious. I made it with cottage cheese. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just my husband, my son and myself. My son (pickiest 7 yr old ever) ate 3 servings! The left overs were even more amazing. Defiantly a keeper and easy too. I will make this now all the time instead of frozen lasagna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I made this for Christmas Day and everyone loved it! I've made it once before so I had a few modifications. I used only 1 lb. of ground beef....it was a little too meaty last time I made it. I used cans of diced tomatoes and added a small can of tomato sauce. Also used 3 cloves of garlic. I opted for ricotta cheese and used the large package (not sure oz). I did cook my lasagna noodles first and did not have any problems but will try not cooking them next time...save me a step. This is my go-to meat lasagna recipe! YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a hit! I used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and I didn't cook the pasta since I made it early in the day and it was saucy enough that the noodles came out perfect. Several people asked for the recipe and I will gladly pass it along. Thanks for sharing, ratherbeswimmin'!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Ok so this is the 2nd time that I have made this Lasagna and it is my family's absolute favorite! I did use smoked sausage instead of Italian sausage. I decided to go with ricotta cheese. I kicked it up a bit with adding Pepperoni to the top layer then the cheese! Oh man it was so good this way and the pepperoni is my boys favorite part! Thanks for sharing this awesome and good recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I made this again using Bolognese Sauce - Traditional Italian Meat-Based Sauce for Pasta for the sauce(I had it in the freezer). I put some of the sauce over the noodles and then topped with the cheese. Excellent lasagna. I had to make due with what I had on hand because of the nearly four feet of snow we have. Only had 15 oz. of ricotta, and six oz. tomato paste. I may save some sauce to put on top of the last layer of noodle then top with cheese as mine were very tough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I made the recipe as written except that I used ricotta and I didn't have the tomatoes for the sauce, so I used a jar of Prego (1lb 8oz) instead. I thought that the sauce looked good as far as amount and consistency. Ok, I'll admit that I had difficulty with choosing the right size pan. I have a metal 9x13, but that seemed too small, I was afraid my glass 11x13 had sides that were too small - plus it was too much overlap with the noodles. I chose a larger glass pyrex that I have - it's about 10x14. I thought that leaving off with the noodles was strange, but I figured the sauce would come up and around during baking. It didn't, and the top was all hard and dried out. Although the fillings/layers covered the area, they were thin, and the result was a very dry, crumbly lasagne. I couldn't taste the sausage. it was very disappointing. I had about 2/3 of the pan left after dinner (for 5). If I made it again (and that's a big if), I'd probably opt for the smaller 9x13 pan and put sauce on the top before the cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      The name is very accurate. This is by far the best lasagna I have tasted. I am throwing out my old recipe and replacing it with this one. Has loads of cheese and the meat sauce is scrumptious. My husband grabbed me up and kissed me smack on the lips so I know the effect this had on your husband. If anyone wants to mesmerize a man, then just make this. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      I also used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, as well a 1 lb. of Italian sausage and 1 lb. of ground turkey meat. I threw a bay leaf in the sauce as it simmered. Good stuff, I had some for breakfast too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Wow and wow again. Hands down the best lasagna I have ever tasted. Beats any that I have tried in the numerous Italian restaurants I have eaten in. The sauce is meat-filled and very well seasoned. This is so full of cheese which makes it rich and delicious. It tastes even better the next day. Simply amazing. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2015

      Sad to say yet another online 5 star rated recipe that I followed to the "T" for the first time, and with dinner guests (I should know better by now) It did flow over the sides as reviewer mentioned but also all over the oven bottom (but foil caught most of it but you could smell the burning of the run over yuck) But this turned out dry, just so-so on the flavor and needed a lot more cheese filling. Not one single compliment on the lasagna - thank goodness my other tried and true side dish recipes got good reviews. And now that I look at the calories per serving for this, especially those from fat, wow what was I thinking. There are much better tasting lasagna recipes with much less fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2014

      Really yummy! I added half ricotta and half cottage cheese. I also added a tomato paste can full of water. Next time I will probably double the sauce to have some on top and any leftover sauce would make great sauce over spaghetti!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2014

      Excellent recipe with a few simple tweaks. Added a cup of tomato sauce and a cup of beef stock to the sauce to make it just a little thinner and changed the layering order to end with noodles, cheese mixture, sauce and lastly cheese, to keep the noodles from getting too dry on top. Also baked for 25 minutes covered, then 25 more uncovered. Very easy basic recipe to customize to your own tastes (I added just a hint of red pepper flakes and about a teaspoon of crushed rosemary). Needed a few too many adjustments to be 5 stars, but still a wonderful, tasty recipe for anyone looking for a good starting point!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2014

    • on December 09, 2014

      You must use ricotta if you want true Italian lasagna. This recipe is delicious if you use ricotta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      I haven't tried it but but I jumped when I saw the nutritional facts : 61% SODIUM PER SERVING. Sorry, it's way too much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2014

      This is our "traditional Thanksgiving lasagna"!! My kids are not big turkey eaters, but, as good Italian children, lol, they love their pasta. This year my son is in his 2nd year of college, and he's looking forward to coming home for Thanksgiving -- especially for this lasagna! And it's even better as leftovers! :) With 8 of us for dinner this year, even with an 18 lb. turkey, I'll be making a double batch. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      I made before leaving for work and asked husband to take out of oven. I received text at work..."Amazing Lasagna!" -- I don't think I have ever heard him call my cooking amazing. And he comes from an Italian "off the boat from Italy" grandmother. <br/>I used my own sauce that I canned from my summer garden tomatoes. I compiled the rest of the recipe exactly as is. I doubled the batch so I could freeze dinners since I work nights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      Meatiness, fantastic. But too much marscapone :( i'd try a 3/4 cheese mix by volume next time to get to a happier place for my preferences. That said, easily the best lasagne I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    44%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 147.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1472.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes