Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolute Best Ever Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    440 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 440

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      I made this for Christmas Day and everyone loved it! I've made it once before so I had a few modifications. I used only 1 lb. of ground beef....it was a little too meaty last time I made it. I used cans of diced tomatoes and added a small can of tomato sauce. Also used 3 cloves of garlic. I opted for ricotta cheese and used the large package (not sure oz). I did cook my lasagna noodles first and did not have any problems but will try not cooking them next time...save me a step. This is my go-to meat lasagna recipe! YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it was a hit! I used cottage cheese in place of the ricotta and I didn't cook the pasta since I made it early in the day and it was saucy enough that the noodles came out perfect. Several people asked for the recipe and I will gladly pass it along. Thanks for sharing, ratherbeswimmin'!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Ok so this is the 2nd time that I have made this Lasagna and it is my family's absolute favorite! I did use smoked sausage instead of Italian sausage. I decided to go with ricotta cheese. I kicked it up a bit with adding Pepperoni to the top layer then the cheese! Oh man it was so good this way and the pepperoni is my boys favorite part! Thanks for sharing this awesome and good recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      I made this again using Bolognese Sauce - Traditional Italian Meat-Based Sauce for Pasta for the sauce(I had it in the freezer). I put some of the sauce over the noodles and then topped with the cheese. Excellent lasagna. I had to make due with what I had on hand because of the nearly four feet of snow we have. Only had 15 oz. of ricotta, and six oz. tomato paste. I may save some sauce to put on top of the last layer of noodle then top with cheese as mine were very tough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I made the recipe as written except that I used ricotta and I didn't have the tomatoes for the sauce, so I used a jar of Prego (1lb 8oz) instead. I thought that the sauce looked good as far as amount and consistency. Ok, I'll admit that I had difficulty with choosing the right size pan. I have a metal 9x13, but that seemed too small, I was afraid my glass 11x13 had sides that were too small - plus it was too much overlap with the noodles. I chose a larger glass pyrex that I have - it's about 10x14. I thought that leaving off with the noodles was strange, but I figured the sauce would come up and around during baking. It didn't, and the top was all hard and dried out. Although the fillings/layers covered the area, they were thin, and the result was a very dry, crumbly lasagne. I couldn't taste the sausage. it was very disappointing. I had about 2/3 of the pan left after dinner (for 5). If I made it again (and that's a big if), I'd probably opt for the smaller 9x13 pan and put sauce on the top before the cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      In my opinion, the salt content in this makes it almost inedible. I cut back on the salt by one teaspoon based on other reviewer's comments, but it was not nearly enough. I would recommend using one teaspoon of salt in the meat mixture and none in the cheese mixture. Lasagna normally gets devoured in my house, but I ended up throwing most of this out, which was quite irritating considering how expensive it is to make. My other suggestion would be to definitely let it sit for a half-hour before serving, or it really falls apart.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      The name is very accurate. This is by far the best lasagna I have tasted. I am throwing out my old recipe and replacing it with this one. Has loads of cheese and the meat sauce is scrumptious. My husband grabbed me up and kissed me smack on the lips so I know the effect this had on your husband. If anyone wants to mesmerize a man, then just make this. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      I also used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, as well a 1 lb. of Italian sausage and 1 lb. of ground turkey meat. I threw a bay leaf in the sauce as it simmered. Good stuff, I had some for breakfast too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Wow and wow again. Hands down the best lasagna I have ever tasted. Beats any that I have tried in the numerous Italian restaurants I have eaten in. The sauce is meat-filled and very well seasoned. This is so full of cheese which makes it rich and delicious. It tastes even better the next day. Simply amazing. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

    • on September 10, 2014

      I LOVE this recipe! However, I use a whole lb Italian sausage and 1 lb lean ground beef, or ground turkey. I use ricotta cheese instead of cottage, I think it makes the texture better. Other than that, I follow the recipe exactly, it's always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      It was the first time i made Lasagna, and it tasted so gooood, absolute best ever, nice & cheesy, thank you the whole family loved it, just remember to cover with tin foil before cooking, thank you again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      I made this yesterday and it was AWESOME!! It is a bit labor intense, but well worth it! This yielded 12 pieces, so we have dinner for a week. Delicious recipe, no changes needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      Made this lasagna last week and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      This was great although I only gave it 4 stars since I changed some things a bit according to other reviews. First I halved the recipe to use in an 8x8 dish. There's only two of us so it's plenty enough for dinner and leftovers. I used half a pound each of the meats, added an 8oz can of tomato sauce, 6oz of water and half tablespoon of brown sugar to the sauce before simmering. I added a good pinch of salt to the ricotta mixture but my own personal taste wishes I had added a bit more. I layered some meat sauce on the bottom of the pan first and used standard lasagna noodles that I left uncooked. (I had to break off the ends of the noodles to make them fit but it turned out great...I was a little nervous it wouldnt) I continued to layer, making sure I had meat sauce to cover the top layer of noodles so they wouldn't dry out. I covered with foil, cooked for 45 minutes and then uncovered to top with the mozzarella cheese. I continued to cook uncovered for 25 minutes and then I let it cool and set for 20. It turned out amazing and I'd be happy to make it again. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      I decided to try this for my nephew and baby girl. My baby is funny about some cheese so I was skeptical but I love lasagna and all types of cheese. Needless to say it was a hit. My nephew absolutely love it and my baby picked off the noodles just for the filling. My cousin came and got two plates within 12 hours Nd he lives across town. My nephew wants me to make him a batch for his new place. I tweaked it a bit with sour cream & ricotta and it still came out great. Definitely a hit in my home. Will be making again very soon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      We really did like this. I would definitely say it was probably the best homemade lasagna I've had! Thanks for sharing. <br/><br/>I didn't have the whole tomatoes so I used the same size can of crushed tomatoes.(plus I don't like chunky tomatoes)<br/><br/>Update......I just absolutely LOVE this recipe. The best I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      This was really good, my DH loves lasagna and he said it was't the best he ever had, he prefers my original recipe that I use, but maybe it was due to me not having all of the ingredients. I didn't have as much cottage cheese as it called for and it definitely could have been a little cheesier. I would definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      This truly is the best lasagna we have ever had. It was definitely worth the work. I used fresh herbs from my mom's garden and followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      Very good! I made my sauce yesterday (your recipe) and put the lasagna together tonight when I got home from work. I had left over spinach dip so I put that in with the cheese mix kind of made it dump this in dump that in. Everyone has their own take on lasagna but this was really good. Thanks!! We really liked this! Winner! thanks swimmin, Nina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    44%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 147.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1472.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites