516 Reviews

After 20 years of marriage and making lasagna, I finally got a "hey, you should write this recipe down." I followed recipe as is, but used grass fed beef and whole wheat lasagna noodles (uncooked). I added a tomato paste can and a half of water, and put sauce in the pan first, followed by the raw noodles, then the layers as specified. I took the advice of others and cooked 35 mins covered and 25 mins uncovered then let it sit for 15 mins outside of the oven. My secret.....use San Marzano tomatoes. If you haven't tried these, DO IT. Worth every penny. Oh, also added about a teaspoonful of brown sugar to the sauce. Delish!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brendaandeddie May 06, 2013

Super yummy!! Made it with half ricotta and half cottage cheese. I was nervous about using all cottage cheese but the consistency with half was good. The lasagna even stood up well after cooking and it looked pretty!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeni.sully0311 August 18, 2010

I thought it was really good. Next time I would double the cottage cheese/ricotta mixture. And 1/2 lb less meat. I thought it was too much meat and not enough cheese. But it tastes very good still.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigershoes June 13, 2010

This was very good, definitely worth preparing again. I made a mistake however, and I want to share it so others won't fall into the same trap. I followed the recipe exactly, except that without thinking I used "no boil" lasagna noodles. I've had great success with them in the past and didn't stop to think about the fact that this recipe calls for just noodles and cheese for the top layer. Well, the no-cook noodles need to be moist or they remain hard and almost brittle. FOR SURE, either boil your own noodles per the recipe or, if you are going to use the no-cook kind as I did, make sure you top the lasagna with sauce and cheese on the top! I was able to "save" my lasagna when I realized what was happening by adding some quickly prepared sauce on top, but it was a nuisance and resulted in a less than spectacular looking dish.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GREG IN SAN DIEGO January 28, 2013

I've been making the same lasagna for over 50 years - the recipe from Better Homes & Garden. I've always really liked it. Rather than dig out my recipe, I looked on Food.com to see if i could find a similar one. This was really close, but used more meat and more spices. This was awesome - I won't be going back to my old recipe - this is the one I will use from now on. Thanks so much for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 03, 2011

This lasagna was VERY full of taste! I have had so many first here on zaar/food, and this is another one. The sauce part of the recipe was the best tasting homemade red sauce I have tried or made. Smelling the sauce as it cooked was heavenly The recipe is a little fussy, but not difficult at all. Left overs were better the next day. Froze the rest for later. I have defrosted and reheated frozen leftovers and I think the taste suffers not one iota. Better than frozen Stouffers. Just getting around to reviewing, made this the middle of last month. Thanks for posting this recipe ratherbeswimmin!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker May 06, 2014

This was delicious! I followed the very important suggestion below to cover the lasagna with foil for the first 20-25 minutes baking. I also followed the suggestion to use some portobello mushroom in place of 1/2 lb beef, since I wanted to eat just a tad less meat. I also found that I could have made 3/4 the amount of meat sauce and cheese mixture, because I was able to make an extra mini-lasagna!! Anyway, this was a great success overall and I am relieved, since I had never made lasagna before.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef_d'orchestre July 08, 2013

Awesome Lasagna recipe! I took this recipe and made it for a OAMC session. I then made it into two smaller casserole dishes for two lasagnas and they were overflowing with the food. I then froze both, thawed one all day and baked it according to directions. Tasted fabulous and I was able get 8 large slices out of one casserole so with both I have 16 servings vs the 10 the recipe estimates for servings. I will definately be making this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp September 21, 2011

Fantastic! This went over really well at the potluck I recently took it to. The only alterations I made was to add in a few red chili flakes, a tablespoon of brown sugar, and 1/2 teaspoon of fennel seeds. Otherwise, made as directed using ricotta. Thanks for a wonderful lasagna!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs April 07, 2011

In my opinion, the salt content in this makes it almost inedible. I cut back on the salt by one teaspoon based on other reviewer's comments, but it was not nearly enough. I would recommend using one teaspoon of salt in the meat mixture and none in the cheese mixture. Lasagna normally gets devoured in my house, but I ended up throwing most of this out, which was quite irritating considering how expensive it is to make. My other suggestion would be to definitely let it sit for a half-hour before serving, or it really falls apart.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefJessica October 09, 2006
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna