Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolute Best Ever Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    440 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 440

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      I thought it was really good. Next time I would double the cottage cheese/ricotta mixture. And 1/2 lb less meat. I thought it was too much meat and not enough cheese. But it tastes very good still.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      the worst discusting recipe the worst and a waste of time to make its not the best its not even deasent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      This was delicious! I followed the very important suggestion below to cover the lasagna with foil for the first 20-25 minutes baking. I also followed the suggestion to use some portobello mushroom in place of 1/2 lb beef, since I wanted to eat just a tad less meat. I also found that I could have made 3/4 the amount of meat sauce and cheese mixture, because I was able to make an extra mini-lasagna!! Anyway, this was a great success overall and I am relieved, since I had never made lasagna before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      After 20 years of marriage and making lasagna, I finally got a "hey, you should write this recipe down." I followed recipe as is, but used grass fed beef and whole wheat lasagna noodles (uncooked). I added a tomato paste can and a half of water, and put sauce in the pan first, followed by the raw noodles, then the layers as specified. I took the advice of others and cooked 35 mins covered and 25 mins uncovered then let it sit for 15 mins outside of the oven. My secret.....use San Marzano tomatoes. If you haven't tried these, DO IT. Worth every penny. Oh, also added about a teaspoonful of brown sugar to the sauce. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was very good, definitely worth preparing again. I made a mistake however, and I want to share it so others won't fall into the same trap. I followed the recipe exactly, except that without thinking I used "no boil" lasagna noodles. I've had great success with them in the past and didn't stop to think about the fact that this recipe calls for just noodles and cheese for the top layer. Well, the no-cook noodles need to be moist or they remain hard and almost brittle. FOR SURE, either boil your own noodles per the recipe or, if you are going to use the no-cook kind as I did, make sure you top the lasagna with sauce and cheese on the top! I was able to "save" my lasagna when I realized what was happening by adding some quickly prepared sauce on top, but it was a nuisance and resulted in a less than spectacular looking dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Very good! I used some cooked bacon instead of sausage as that's what I happened to have on hand, and 8 garlic cloves! I usually make lasagna with Bechamel sauce rather than a ricotta mixture, so this was a nice change of pace for me. The lasagna noodles I used were pre-cooked, and the next time I will moisten the top layer with something before sprinkling on the cheese - the top layer turned out a bit dry because the noodles were dry going into the oven! Thank you for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Awesome Lasagna recipe! I took this recipe and made it for a OAMC session. I then made it into two smaller casserole dishes for two lasagnas and they were overflowing with the food. I then froze both, thawed one all day and baked it according to directions. Tasted fabulous and I was able get 8 large slices out of one casserole so with both I have 16 servings vs the 10 the recipe estimates for servings. I will definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I've been making the same lasagna for over 50 years - the recipe from Better Homes & Garden. I've always really liked it. Rather than dig out my recipe, I looked on Food.com to see if i could find a similar one. This was really close, but used more meat and more spices. This was awesome - I won't be going back to my old recipe - this is the one I will use from now on. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      I used ricotta instead of the cottage cheese and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Confusing and incomplete recipe not suited for beginners. The number of comments that suggest significant changes attests to the inadequacy of this recipe. For instance, it is essential to cover the lasagna with foil (I like Release brand so it doesn't stick to the cheese) to avoid having the top turn into an inedible, impenetrable crust. I've been making lasagne for at least 50 years and can do it blindfolded standing on my head, so the sketchy directions here are not a problem. However, I hate to think about all the disappointments this caused for beginners. The America's Test Kitchen lasagna recipe is clear, specific, and detailed and gives fantastic results every time. This recipe is, at best, a guide from which to innovate, but some of the omissions are inexcusable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      This is an excellent. Recipe. Almost exactly like the one I've been making for 35 years. It came from the McCalls Cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Very good and very easy...doubled the recipe and it was all gone in days. <br/>Added a little brown sugar to the sauce, half and half with the cottage cheese and ricotta cheese and it was perfect. <br/>And the left overs were even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This is a really good recipe! I looked at a few recipes before deciding on this one. Glad I picked the right one. My husband used to hate lasagna. Now he can't live without it (smile).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      After reading all of these 5 star reviews I thought this was going to be insanely good. Unfortunately, it's just a run of the mill lasagna. I didn't find anything special about this. It wasn't saucy enough (on the drier side than I like), not enough cheese (not gooey!), and the meat mixture was pretty standard. I'm moving on to find a better recipe. Unfortunate too, since making lasagna is time consuming I was hoping for better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      I made this yesterday as a special meal for my husband since he came from abroad and wanted to pamper him with his favourite dish :) It was more delicious than I expected and it really deserves more than 5 stars. I made some adjustments as per below but it turned out just as wonderful:
      1. instead of Italian sausage, I used Milan salami as I couldn't find
      2. I used 1/4 lb. mozzarella for the ricotta filling as I didn't have enough
      3. I prepared some white sauce using milk, margarine, salt and flour and topped the lasagne with it. I became super creamy and I only used about 2 table spoons of mozzarella on top of the sauce.

      Simply delicious and I WOWWed my husband with it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      This was really good but the there should not be a layer of noodles on top. It should have had sauce then cheese. The noodles got super hard and the cheese became one with the noodles so you lost the ooey gooey effect. Great flavor, but missed the mark with the execution.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Excellent lasagna!!! I used Italian style diced tomatoes and the cottage cheese option. The sauce was a little thick so I added more water. I also added spinach to the cheese mixture. All my guests raved about how good this was. Thanks so much for sharing this true keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Fabulous, authentic... there are shameful restaurants claiming to be Italian that serve overpriced lasagna that does not come even close to this marvelous recipe made EXACTLY AS IS! PLEASE, make it once as it is written, savor the FRESHLY made taste, then savor as the flavors blend and deepen over the following days... can it possibly just keep getting better? Seems so. After making this AS IS ONCE, feel free to tweak the ingredients to suit family preferences should you find it necessary: we might add 1/4 cup of red wine & just a bit more Italian herb seasoning. BUT, this might be the BEST LASAGNA I've have since college days (forty years ago) when invited to the home of a frat brother (Italian) to shoot pool and eat Mama's home cooking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      I have made this lasagna multiple times. It always turns out great!!! My husband loves it and he is Italian! Not dry, not runny, perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I have never made lasagna but love it so much. I have just always thought it was to much work. Well this is a great recipe. It is so delicious. I made it with cottage cheese. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just my husband, my son and myself. My son (pickiest 7 yr old ever) ate 3 servings! The left overs were even more amazing. Defiantly a keeper and easy too. I will make this now all the time instead of frozen lasagna!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolute Best Ever Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    44%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 147.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1472.5 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites