481 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Now this is truly outstanding. Absolute best is right. The sauce is they key. The combination of ground beef and Italian sausage is brilliant. Lots of oregano and basil too. Very rich with cheese too. We LOVED this and believe me, I am spreading the word. Thanks for posting this.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl August 26, 2002

Should come with warning...only make if you're experienced at making lasagna. Directions were confusing and I forgot the tomato paste because of hire they were written. Also I didn't know to put sauce on top or cover with foil before baking...so my to noodles came out crunchy. Will try again though now that I know.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonlitsiren January 26, 2012

SO GOOD! This was my first time making Lasagna in the oven and not the crock pot. I dont think I will ever do it any other way again. After reading other reviews, here is what I did.
I doubled the sauce (were saucy people) and we dipped our garlic toast in the left over sauce. I used only ground beef, because it is what I had on hand. I used Italian seasoning instead of the other seasonings. 2 TBSP of brown sugar in the sauce. I put my cheese mixture right into my meat sauce. I find it easier to layer that way. It was to die for! I feel like I am going to roll everywhere because I ate so much! Thank you for posting!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3boysnlovinit June 19, 2011

Made this for noon mess today, used about 1/2 cup of fresh parsley insted of dried and it turned out great. Make sure you let it stand after baking as it is a tad bit runny. SCMEDIC

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SCMedic October 25, 2002

This is wonderful and it did really stay stacked up when serving. Like others, I used diced tomatoes, along with the paste. I tried half cottage cheese, that I let dry on paper towels in the fridge for an hour or so, and I slathered Ricotta on the no boil noodles like peanut butter on a cracker. Since I couldn't decide between Ricotta and Cottage, I went with both! It was delicious, and enormous and got raves from all who sampled the leftovers as well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stace is eating at home tonight August 10, 2010

I made your lasagna for our anniversary dinner. What a treat. The sauce is very, very meaty which is how my husband and I like it. Sometimes, at restaurants, it is hard to detect any meat at all in the sauce. Great seasonings and the cheese adds a delectible richness. I do recommend letting the lasagna sit for about 15-20 minutes before serving. Otherwise it is a little runny. I have found that to be true with all the lasagna recipes I have tried. A gem of a recipe. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmaTaylor March 08, 2003

This recipe is amazing! The only bad note is that the meat sauce should also top the final layer of the noodles, or else it dries out very quickly. I also had to add extra sauce (about another can of tomato sauce, 8 oz) because it wasn't very moist. Letting it stand for 15 minutes is just right. The flavor is perfect, exactly the way lasagna should be!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
badkitty87 April 16, 2012

This was great although I only gave it 4 stars since I changed some things a bit according to other reviews. First I halved the recipe to use in an 8x8 dish. There's only two of us so it's plenty enough for dinner and leftovers. I used half a pound each of the meats, added an 8oz can of tomato sauce, 6oz of water and half tablespoon of brown sugar to the sauce before simmering. I added a good pinch of salt to the ricotta mixture but my own personal taste wishes I had added a bit more. I layered some meat sauce on the bottom of the pan first and used standard lasagna noodles that I left uncooked. (I had to break off the ends of the noodles to make them fit but it turned out great...I was a little nervous it wouldnt) I continued to layer, making sure I had meat sauce to cover the top layer of noodles so they wouldn't dry out. I covered with foil, cooked for 45 minutes and then uncovered to top with the mozzarella cheese. I continued to cook uncovered for 25 minutes and then I let it cool and set for 20. It turned out amazing and I'd be happy to make it again. It's a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeLove August 09, 2014

This is EXACTLY the same as the lasagna recipe I got from my best friend back in high school...in the late 60's. It is INCREDIBLE & believe me, I've made lots of lasagnas over the past 45 years! This recipe takes a bit more time, but what good Italian cooking doesn't? Leftovers freeze well too...if there are any. I've even caught my dear SIL making a "sandwich" using cold lasagna, sliced into thick slices. Oh...be sure to use a deep straight-sided baking dish. The Bobby Flay line of stoneware sold at Kohl's has a very nice one with handles that is great for this lasagna. This recipe is so generous it will overflow a standard 9x13 glass pan. And be sure to let it "rest" about 10 minutes before cutting or it will ooze it's cheesy goodness all over the plate!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKBerney October 08, 2013

After 20 years of marriage and making lasagna, I finally got a "hey, you should write this recipe down." I followed recipe as is, but used grass fed beef and whole wheat lasagna noodles (uncooked). I added a tomato paste can and a half of water, and put sauce in the pan first, followed by the raw noodles, then the layers as specified. I took the advice of others and cooked 35 mins covered and 25 mins uncovered then let it sit for 15 mins outside of the oven. My secret.....use San Marzano tomatoes. If you haven't tried these, DO IT. Worth every penny. Oh, also added about a teaspoonful of brown sugar to the sauce. Delish!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brendaandeddie May 06, 2013
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna