470 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!!! This was absolutely the BEST!!! I made this tonight for dinner and it was delicious. My DH had 2 BIG helpings and he LOVED it!! Definately something I will make again and again. I followed the recipie exactly and added just a bit of sugar to the sauce. I always do to tomato sauces. BRAVO.

54 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of 4 June 21, 2002

Made this last weekend for a special family get together. It was so outstanding. My guests thought it deserved more than 5 stars. Really, the best lasagna I have ever eaten. The preparation involves a little time but it was worth it. This is the best!!

51 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust June 14, 2002

Oh my goodness sakes alive!!! This is without a doubt the best lasagna I have ever tasted. I can't rave about it enough. I love the mixture of ground beef and Italian sausage in the sauce. Rich, and cheesy as well. Thanks

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop July 02, 2002

I added a 16 oz. package of frozen spinach (thawed) to the cheese mixture (trying to sneak in vegies where I can). My family loved it. Will definitely make it again.

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa Wang July 24, 2002

Excellent! Really enjoyed the meaty gravy and compiled a "best of" from the other comments on this board. I used half cottage and half ricotta cheese and found it to be a great combination. I used uncooked pasta (not oven ready) and it turned out perfectly. I added 1 can of tomato paste full of water to the gravy and baked it for 35 minutes covered with tin foil and 25 minutes uncovered. Let stand for 20 minutes and it was not messy at all. The pasta soaked up all the extra liquids. Wow.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinghaile January 30, 2011

This Lasagna is the absolute best ever. I used oven ready noodles so I added 14 1/2 oz. of water to the sauce mixture for more moisture. I also added 1 Tblsp of sugar to the sauce. I used 32 oz of ricotta with 3 eggs & adjusted the seasonings for the cheese mixture accordingly. (We love cheese). I put a layer of sauce on the bottom of the pan first, (10X15X2 Coringware Roaster), then placed a layer of the oven ready noodles and so on, finishing with the sauce on the last layer of noodles and topping with some more parmesan cheese remaining mozzerella. Covered with foil and baked for 40 mins, removed foil and baked 10 more minutes. Gave 15 mins to rest and served. I had never used the oven ready noodles before and will now never boil lasagna noodles again. Awesome! Made 2x in 2 weeks for family/friend gatherings. This recipe is easy and delicious. I will definitely use this recipe again.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thyme to Eat December 04, 2009

Wow is right...wish I could this a 10 star rating..definitely the best lasagna recipe I have ever tried...don't think I will try any other ones. The only adjustment I made was to add a paste can of water..my sauce up to that point was very thick..thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...Carrie

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie August 12, 2002

We just finished dinner less than 30 minutes ago and I'm already posting a review. I've made lasagna before but it never came out right. This was excellent! I added some chopped portabella mushrooms and red pepper flakes to the meat mixture then added a package of frozen spinach to the cheese mixture. Great recipe, my family enjoyed this!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_treated1 July 12, 2010

Yummy! I used
1 lb of Italian Sausage &
1 lb of ground beef,
Cottage Cheese, not ricotta & I used
Barilla no boil lasagna noodles to save me time. Worked great!
A definite keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clamoleon October 25, 2010
Absolute Best Ever Lasagna