Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ableskiver - Danish Doughnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ableskiver - Danish Doughnuts

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2001

      My grandfather come from Denmark, and we had these every Christmas at their house. The recipe my grandmother used included chopped apples in the batter. She also added raisins to some. They were always rolled in powdered sugar or confectionary sugar when they were still hot out of the pan. Best if eaten warm. They don't hold longer than a day. Brings back old memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Love this recipe! I inherited a pan from my grandmother so decided to give them a try. Simple to make and delicious. I sprinkled them with powedered sugar and brought them to a holiday run where we finished four miles then had cookies and cocoa in the park. Everyone loved them. Definitely want to try them with apple in the middle. I did add some dried blueberries to some and they were even better. Made two batches and doubled the sugar and added a half tsp vanilla and decided both were equally good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Where are the 10 Stars to rate this recipe??? I bought an ableskiver pan last year, all excited to make this treat from my childhood. I had saved five recipes from a massive thread on this subject and expected to sit down with my family to a wonderful breakfast. BOY, was I wrong with THOSE recipes! :( Each and every one was an utter failure! I used milk or buttermilk; whole eggs or separated eggs; beaten egg whites folded into yolks. I was so frustrated and upset, that I vowed that I'd resell the pan on ebay this Winter.

      Thank Goodness I did NOT! Bergy's recipe was my last ditch effort. I thought, how can a recipe that is SO simple beat out those ones that were vowed to be "authentic", took ages to cobble together, yet failed? Well, this recipe ROCKS! Each and every one of the twenty flawless ableskivers was devoured by my family and I. GREAT recipe, super simple, turns out like a dream...and NO FUSSING AROUND!!! I added 1/2 tsp.cardamom to the dry ingredients but didn't do anything different, not even allowing the batter to "rest" as so many other recipes recommended. First batch was plain; second batch had applesauce in it and third batch had lingonberries inside. Bergy: thank YOU for this classic, amazingly easy and tasty Danish recipe. I would have been mighty upset, selling my pan and THEN finding this recipe! Made for Kittencal's Scandinavian Tag Game 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I enjoyed making this recipe and am glad I found it. It was quick to whip up this morning. I have been trying different recipes where you seperate the yolks from the whites and I just never liked the end product. I added a few dashes of cardamon and a bit of orange zest and a piece of chopped apple in the middle. I served it with butter and warmed apricot preserves. My kids prefer it with maple syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Not bad. The authentic recipe calls for cream not milk & butter. My mor mor (grandma) always added cardamon to the recipe (1/2 tsp. would be good for this recipe) Plus we almost always put the apple in but it's good with jam too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      We thought these were really yummy. After the first batch I added a little bit more sugar and a bit of vanilla. I filled them with small apple chunks and then topped them off with some maple syrup and lingonberry preserves. I found it was easiest to use two toothpicks to turn mine (my pan's a bit small). Thanks Bergy for a delicious and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I bought my kit in Solvang. The recipe was such a pain, but this one is wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      My mother learned to make these in a little Danish town in Minnesota where we lived when I was very young. We ate them as breakfast food. Our recipe calls for more eggs than this one, and we always sprinkled powdered sugar on them after they come out of the pan. Takes some practice with the knitting needle and the pan, but they're worth it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      My mother used to make these, except she always filled them with applesauce. They were delicious! We ate them at breakfast; I think the difference is just cultural, since in the US we tend to eat pastries more often in the morning than in the afternoon. I found my aebelskiver pan at a Scandinavian shop in a nearby town, but I've seen them sold online, too. I think Maid of Scandinavia (sweetcelebrations.com) has sold them in the past.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      In Denmark we mostly eat æbleskiver around Christmas time. I have never heard of anyone eating them for breakfast. We serve them instead of cake with jam and powered sugar. Some people put a piece of apple in the middle, right before you flip them in the pan - which is why they are called "æble" since that mean apple in Danish. The apple part is from the old days - since most people buy them premade and then they don't contain apple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      A yummy recipe. They rose up very nice and had a good flavor. Don't expect these to be sweet like donuts they are more like pancakes you put something sweet on. I found an awesome Youtube video on how to turn these in the pan to make them evenly cooked and round. Search for "How to make an aebleskiver" by ianpalmer. She owns a danish restaurant in Solvang, CA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      My family lived in Solvang, a cute Danish town in California near Santa Barbara where my mom learn to make these. My mom would always add a spoonfull of applesauce before flipping them over. So yummy. We would sell them at my school fundraisers when I was in Jr high school. We always sold out of them within an hour of making them. Needless to say the were a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ableskiver - Danish Doughnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.2
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    24%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 211.6 mg
    70%
    Sodium 511.8 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites