Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aaron's Favorite Ham Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aaron's Favorite Ham Salad

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2002

      My mom made this frequently when I was growing up, but she added cheddar cheese and a little bit of onion. We also would put it open-faced under the broiler just until bubbly. WOW! Great stuff! Also, I have made it using my food processor, but you have to be careful not to turn it into pate':)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      Growing up in Kansas, we had these all the time in the school cafeteria. They were called "Schoolboy Sandwiches" and were always a favorite. Hadn't thought of them in years, but now I'm hungry for one! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      We make this all the time at our house. Only difference being we use dill pickes ground with the bologna. I have never tried using the seasonings but I will give it a try. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I grew up in Miami on a similar ham salad. My GMa ground picnic ham in a hand-grider to make it, too. Miracle Whip and a tablespoon of yellow mustard gave it her own 'tang'. Instead of relish, she chopped up small gerkin pickles to add to the ham salad...I'm going to find my grinder and make this tomorrow! thanks for the memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I made this using ham instead of bologna. I also used mayo instead of Miracle Whip. Next time I will add a little cheese and onion, as another reviewer suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Great ham salad, I can see why this is a favorite of Aaron. I followed this exactly except used Spam lite instead of bologna, (had on hand) but added the sweet relish, and followed suit with all other ingredients. What a great taste, and I served them on white bread points. Nice and very special tasting, there isn't one left for me! Great and will make again. Thank you! Made for *Think Pink* Breast Cancer Awareness Month Fall 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Takes me back to growing up in Nebraska! When I was pregnant I CRAVED this stuff and was lucky enough to be able to get it at a local grocery store. Alas, the grocery store stopped selling it. I made this with dill pickles as I generally don't like sweet pickles. Gotta admit, it HAS to have sweet relish and next time mine will have sweet relish. DD is loving it as sandwiches for lunch, too. Pretty economical when you consider how many sandwiches you can get out of one lb of bologna for $5.00! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I love this recipe......I just made it today. It is exactly the same as my mother used to make, but I did add some diced onion and celery and even a few chopped green olives. I used my old crank-type meat grinder, so that I didn't have the fear of over-processing it in my machine. I am letting it sit in the fridge right now, but can hardly wait for a sandwich on toast ! Thanks for posting this, Manda. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Yummy!! I just used my little chopper to grind the bologna. I served with a quarter slice of american cheese on a ritz cracker. This was also great as a dip for wavy potato chips. I wanted to take a picture but we ate it too fast... maybe next time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I made this with left over ham from Christmas and it was delicious! I chopped it very fine with my manual food chopper. Served it on crackers and my kids even loved it! Thank you for such a tasty, quick, great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      remember this when i was a kid back in the 40*s..BRINGS BACK OLD TIMES

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      This is how we always make ham salad except to use a ring bologna instead of the stuff from the deli. I sometimes get "fancy" and add minced celery and onion to it. It is a classic in our family. It is flavorful and quick to make. I also find it more flavorful than the varieties made with ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      This is exactly how I have eaten "ham" salad my whole life. DH grew up on this too but he also grinds up some boiled egg to mix in with his. And, of course, it's always Miracle Whip. This is the absolute best ham salad ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      The ham salad you get at the deli is made of ham. At the deli you can also get what's called sandwich spread. it's made of ham, bologna, you name it . usually the ends of the luncheon meats not used(doesn't sound too appealing) but the sandwich spread does seem tastier. As with this recipe, Manda when i make this i add leftover ham when we have a big ham and i add bologna to it. Also, i do half mayo, half miracle whip. It's a keeper and versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aaron's Favorite Ham Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (691 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.6
     
    Calories from Fat 368
    76%
    Total Fat 40.9 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1748.8 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites