Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A Winter's Walk Beef and Carrot Stew With Herb Crusted Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Winter's Walk Beef and Carrot Stew With Herb Crusted Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2009

      The title of this recipe lured me right in and I'm so glad it did! What a scrumptious meal this provided. We went on a fall bike ride through the woods while this was simmering and came back to the delicious aroma. The flavoring is lovely and I love the addition of herb crusted dumplings. C'est magnifique! ~Made for the Nov. Aussie/NZ Swap~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      What a great stew recipe!!! I made this last night and we loved it. It was a little runny for stew, but I will use a bit more flour next time when browning the meat....easy enough fix. The dumplings were a great addition to this stew. I used my food processor to grate up the frozen butter and it was a breeze. Thank you so much for sharing this very good stew recipe with us. I plan on making this many times in the cold winter months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This stew is wonderful. I made this all in one dutch oven careful to keep the "fond" in the pot. I did have to add butter between browing & removing the meat & adding the vegtables. Also I added a full pint of liquid, half beef stock & half red wine. As for the tomatoes I chopped two roma tomatoes into chuncks. It was the most amazing stew I ever made or ever ate. I didn't make the dumplings because it's just me & I was feeling lazy tonight, but definately going to make them next time. This could feed a family of four or five easy. Thank you French.. I've saved just about every recipe you've posted & am working through them one by one! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Lovely recipe.. I doubled it and added extra liquid..we had leftovers in a piecrust the next day. thankyou for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Wonderful dish it has a very rich flavor. I always love stews and this one will definately be made again. I only changed some of the veggies adding in parsnips and a turnip from the garden I also used the wine option. My only complaint is idiot that I am I made this ahead and froze it and then FORGOT the dumplings! But I'm sure they are good too

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      When I wanted to make a beef stew on this cold November day knew this was the one to try when I saw it was your's Frenchie. Every one of your recipes have been outstanding and this one is no exception. Loved the idea of the dumplings with it and they were so easy to make. The only thing I did differant was leave out the turnips as I had none, and add some oregano and basil to the soup. Used the beef broth with wine and DH declared this the best stew he's ever had and I have to agree. Thick, rich and meaty with the soft, savory dumplings - perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I only made the dumplings, I'll admit. I used fridge-hard butter. They were PERFECT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      This was very tasty. I really liked the turnip. It does only serve 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! I was making this for a larger group (of *very* hungry people ;) ), so I doubled the recipe, and used ground beef because I had an abundance of it that needed to be used up. Having not quite enough carrots for a doubled recipe, I added in two parsnips and loved what that did for the flavor. I also added four smaller-sized potatoes that needed to be used up, which made the dish even more complete. Because of the extra veggies, I included a bit more liquid than called for, using some of the reserved liquid from the 14.oz can of diced tomatoes that I'd drained and added. This was a HUGE hit with my fiance and our friends! People went back for seconds -- and in some cases, thirds! Thanks for sharing a keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Excellent recipe, FT! I made it in the crockpot and added some bouquet garni. It has an excellent flavour. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Absolutely brilliant. I also did improvise a little by adding some tomatoe puree and reduced Rioja to "lift the flavours". Great !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Very nice stew! I did however improvise (sorry) by adding a turnip and potatoe to the veges. I also (sorry) added 2 bay leaves. The dumplings were superb! Lovely dish. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      When I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it. It was awsome, I served it with your saffron roast vegetables. I did not have suet so I used chilled butter as you suggested. I cooked in the slow cooker for 4 hours on high. Best stew recipe I have had, thanks french tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Thank you so much for this recipe. I made this as a special dinner for us for Christmas Eve. I made just as stated except that I diced one med potato and added it to the stew. I used a 10oz can of Rotel tomatoes with green chillis to give it a little kick. Excelent meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Winter's Walk Beef and Carrot Stew With Herb Crusted Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (972 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4692.3
     
    Calories from Fat 4325
    92%
    Total Fat 480.5 g
    739%
    Saturated Fat 125.1 g
    625%
    Cholesterol 139.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 425.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes