8 Reviews

I made a batch of the syrup yesterday to take to our grandsons little league game (for the team), and I was planning to mix them there. Unfortunately, the storms made them cancel the game until this evening. So hubby and I made 1 glass portion and tested it. It was very good. I've never had an A&W Cream Soda (I always use to get their Root Beer Floats), so I don't really know if I can say it tastes correct or not, I can only say that we enjoyed it. I've still got the remainder of the syrup in my fridge, along with the soda water. I wish it specified how long you can refrigerate the syrup, hopefully it will still be okay by this evening (it has not been mixed with the soda water yet). Thank you for posting this recipe. I'm sure all the little guys on the team are going to love it. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 May 23, 2013

This really hit the spot ! Made this as posted though I did add a 1/4 more sugar. Made for a real cool treat, for us and the 6th graders on a field trip. Was very refreshing and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker May 22, 2013

This worked great! The only thing I changed was upping the sugar to 2 cups, but that's my own taste preference. Have already made this several times. SLColman rocks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nightvoice March 30, 2013

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Recipes: Sodas, Smoothies, Spirits and Shakes (Penguin/Putnam) www.TopSecretRecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 25, 2011

Giving this a big 5 stars, even tho I wasn't able to follow the recipe to a "T." Forgot to buy the lemonade mix so added lemon juice, and used all Splenda and just added extra water to make it come out right. Even with those changes, this is amazingly good! Impressed the parents when we made our own sodas that tasted just like fountain drinks! I'm sure I lost a little in the texture or mouth feel with not using the corn syrup, but I don't like to have lots of sugar in things, and in my opinion, this tastes great without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 20, 2009

This recipe is amazing!! I was really skeptical about it taking "real" because of the lemonade mix being it in, but it was spot on! I only had clear vanilla so my soda ended up being clear too but I'm sure with regular vanilla it would be a little more of a tan color. The kids thought it was "too cool" to make their own soda and they asked that I give the recipe 10,000 stars. :) I thought the finished product tasted more like a fountain soda than canned or bottled, which is good since I like that better. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 11, 2007

Wow! The taste is right on, even my husband (a total soda snob) was impressed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissabear621 October 23, 2006

Made this tonight for my craving of diabetic cream soda...HELLO WONDERFUL! You simply cannot buy diet cream soda around here anywhere and I got to wanting it so bad, I couldn't take it anymore. I had all the stuff (substituted Splenda for the sugar) and popped it in the fridge. I didn't have a sub for the corn syrup, but I cut corners where I can. So, even though it wasn't totally sugar-free, it was still "reduced calorie/sugar grams". This was SOOOO wonderful...but I did add more vanilla due to my love for the stuff. I did try the original mix and it was perfect. THANK YOU so much for submitting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redneck Epicurean August 29, 2006
A & W Cream Soda