8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe on 10/30/13. I've had mashed and boiled potatoes.But never cooked in a microwave,so this intrigued me. But,this was a very nice change of pace way to make sweet potatoes. The recipe was followed as written,but my potato was small and the 10 minutes made it even smaller( NOTE TO SELF: shorten cooking time if using smaller potatoes :) )Thank you for a very good recipe. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 01, 2013

i followed this exactly and i even put some marshmallows on it like at texas roadhouse! my family loveed it!! The honey was a nice touch to it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elle.lrd November 17, 2011

I made this for the DM using a smallish sweet potato which was cook in 7 minutes in a 900W microwave oven then I completed the halving of the potato and scored but then put the butter then the honey on and didn't worry about putting it back in the oven and the DM thoroughly enjoyed, something I'm sure I will make again for it is just so simple but with lovely flavours. Thank you Derf, made for All You Can Cook Buffet tag game special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 28, 2011

I really love sweet potatoes and thought this was delicious and easy. I've never thought of using honey and enjoyed the honey and butter combo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug July 27, 2011

Easy, quick, and delicious! What more can you ask for? Thanks for sharing a delicious way to cook a sweet potato fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 30, 2011

Couldn't be easier or more delicious! Popped a sweet potato in the microwave after scoring it length-wise... and it came out perfectly done! Didn't use honey but did use butter and a fresh ground pepper. I can see me playing with other seasoning combinations in the future. Thanks for sharing a fast and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna February 09, 2008

This is excellent and I too prefer mine with brown sugar, but hey, maybe it's a Southern thing. It's so nice to have something I can fix for just one and not have to eat leftovers for a week. Real quick, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef jshaffer April 05, 2007

I had to give this 5 stars because of its simplicity in the microwave - and yams are SO delicious even with minimal preparation! Honey is great but I like to put brown sugar and butter in mine, just mashed in with the middle. Wonderful way to make yams!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebeccaa2 February 01, 2007
A Very Simple Sweet Potato (Or Yam)