19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love the ease and versatility of this recipe! I added 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes. My miniature loaves(I baked them in small soup cans for slicing into rounds and serving at a party) were delicious and very moist. Next time, though, I will add a bit more cinnamon for my taste.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KATY December 19, 2001

This was wonderful--finally got around to using the A to Z ingredients--and I used 2 cups of strawberries! this bread was great--it will be in my cookbook for good because of its totally unmatched level of versatility.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock July 18, 2002

This is my go-to bread recipe. It's so versatile and tastes great no matter what ingredients are added. Very moist, easy to make, and always gets high ratings from anyone who eats it! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roggins July 16, 2009

Very easy to make and great taste. I thought this would be too sweet but it wasn't. We ate this for breakfast, snack or dessert. I used 2 C drained, crushed pineapple. Only drawback is that it makes 2 loaves, which is too much for the 2 of us to finish. I had to give away 1 loaf. I can't wait to try another flavor of this bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky August 18, 2003

Great tasting bread! I made the apple bread but I plan on going down the list and using most of the ingredients. It's so easy and delicious! Hubby took it to work and they all loved it. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty February 08, 2013

I used one cup mincemeat, 1 cup chopped apple, one quarter dates, and one quarter of dried cranberries, all leftovers from Christmas. Turned out very good, moist and I can not stop eating this loaf cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy January 13, 2012

I make this ALL the time. It's my husband's favorite breakfast.
I use applesauce for all the oil and Egg Beaters for the eggs. Cuts out a ton of fat. I also think the nuts are optional--I usually throw in a handful without measuring if I have them around. It's perfect for using that one too-ripe banana, the 1/3 of a can of fruit leftover from a recipe that demanded only part of a can, and whatever else you find in the cabinet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stholcomb September 02, 2011

This was good. I used 1c fresh strawberries, and 1c fresh rhubarb. I also subbed some of the AP flour for wheat. I was a bit worried, because the mix seemed dry, but I figured the fruit would give off moisture as it baked(which it did). Thanks for helping me use up my large stash of rhubarb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DramaQueen14 June 27, 2011

Wonderful recipe! I have tried it with several different ingredient combinations and it turns out great every time. It is also simple! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cake Kid June 21, 2011

Excellent bread - even if I did have some issues with it getting stuck in the pan (my fault - not the recipe's!) I made it with chopped peaches - a little more than 2 cups, and, as always, I tweaked it a bit. I used 1 tsp each nutmeg & ginger in place of the cinnamon ( I love those spices with peaches), only 1.5 cups of sugar, used white-wheat flour for 1 cup of the AP flour, and replaced 1/3 cup of oil with milk. I'll definitely make this again - it's a great base recipe for me to create variations from!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesrn2000 August 13, 2010
A-To-Z Bread