Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A-To-Z Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A-To-Z Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2001

      I love the ease and versatility of this recipe! I added 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes. My miniature loaves(I baked them in small soup cans for slicing into rounds and serving at a party) were delicious and very moist. Next time, though, I will add a bit more cinnamon for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2002

      This was wonderful--finally got around to using the A to Z ingredients--and I used 2 cups of strawberries! this bread was great--it will be in my cookbook for good because of its totally unmatched level of versatility.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      This is my go-to bread recipe. It's so versatile and tastes great no matter what ingredients are added. Very moist, easy to make, and always gets high ratings from anyone who eats it! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      Very easy to make and great taste. I thought this would be too sweet but it wasn't. We ate this for breakfast, snack or dessert. I used 2 C drained, crushed pineapple. Only drawback is that it makes 2 loaves, which is too much for the 2 of us to finish. I had to give away 1 loaf. I can't wait to try another flavor of this bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Great tasting bread! I made the apple bread but I plan on going down the list and using most of the ingredients. It's so easy and delicious! Hubby took it to work and they all loved it. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I used one cup mincemeat, 1 cup chopped apple, one quarter dates, and one quarter of dried cranberries, all leftovers from Christmas. Turned out very good, moist and I can not stop eating this loaf cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I make this ALL the time. It's my husband's favorite breakfast.
      I use applesauce for all the oil and Egg Beaters for the eggs. Cuts out a ton of fat. I also think the nuts are optional--I usually throw in a handful without measuring if I have them around. It's perfect for using that one too-ripe banana, the 1/3 of a can of fruit leftover from a recipe that demanded only part of a can, and whatever else you find in the cabinet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This was good. I used 1c fresh strawberries, and 1c fresh rhubarb. I also subbed some of the AP flour for wheat. I was a bit worried, because the mix seemed dry, but I figured the fruit would give off moisture as it baked(which it did). Thanks for helping me use up my large stash of rhubarb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! I have tried it with several different ingredient combinations and it turns out great every time. It is also simple! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      Excellent bread - even if I did have some issues with it getting stuck in the pan (my fault - not the recipe's!) I made it with chopped peaches - a little more than 2 cups, and, as always, I tweaked it a bit. I used 1 tsp each nutmeg & ginger in place of the cinnamon ( I love those spices with peaches), only 1.5 cups of sugar, used white-wheat flour for 1 cup of the AP flour, and replaced 1/3 cup of oil with milk. I'll definitely make this again - it's a great base recipe for me to create variations from!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Would give this more stars if I could. I have made this recipe over and over again mixing and matching ingredients. I use toasted oatmeal instead of the nuts (nuts are soooo expensive) I sometimes sustitute half of the AP flour with whole wheat, and it still turns out wonderfull. This is my no fail recipe. Everyone Loves it!!! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Awesome recipe! We have been using this since it was posted I think! Our favorite is bananas and apples. It's always moist and hard to eat just one serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      We use a can of Cranberry Sauce in the bread for the fruit. Makes a great tasting quick bread, even cranberry haters like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This is a family favorite of ours! Thanks for posting this recipe, it really is easy and super moist! We add 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it more healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      It smelled so delicious but the taste didn't match. I used pineapple (all I had at the time), and I think that was the problem. The pineapple didn't work with the bread, which itself was a bit bland. This recipe probably tastes okay...just not with pineapple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Great and easy recipe. I didn't want to make so much so I cut the recipe by 2/3. I used splenda in place of sugar, eggwhites instead of the egg and plain fat free yogurt instead of the oil. I added fresh strawberries for my optional ingredient and omitted the cinnamon, although it may have been great. I only had to bake for about 20 minutes with the smaller recipe but it was fabulous strawberry bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Just out of the oven & wonderful! It was a great use of odds & ends of ingredients. Mine took a decided tropical twist as I used 1/2 cup each of mango yogurt, chopped fresh oranges, diced canned apricots & flaked coconut. For the nuts, all I had on hand was slivered almonds. I also followed toni's suggestions of applesauce, Splenda & Egg Beaters. Thanks for a real keeper of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I made this last Tuesday for a party on Saturday... froze and thawed perfectly, for one. Tasted wonderful, for another. I made it with grated apple after squeezing some of the apple juice out because I was worried it would be soggy. Actually, it might have been just more moist if I'd left the juice it; compared to the storebought carrot loaf, it was just slightly dry. Anyway, I added extra cinnamon and replaced some of the oil with applesauce. It had the soul of apple cake in the body of quick bread. The one thing I question about this bread is whether the nuts are necessary... But, on the whole, this is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      Sitting here savoring the last morsels of my warm slice of sweet potato bread with cranberries. Next time I may cut the sugar a bit as the sweet potatoes bring so much natural sweetness to the bread. I am sometimes reluctant to post a review after making lots of substitutions but wanted others to know that this recipe can be lightened up and still result in a scrumptious loaf. My substitutions: replaced 1 cup sugar with Splenda replaced 1/2 cup oil with apple sauce replaced 3 eggs with 3/4 cup egg beaters replaced 1 cup all purpose flour with whole wheat flour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A-To-Z Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (743 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.0
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    47%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 260.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites