23 Reviews

wonderful-tasting sandwich. A lot of interesting flavours that all worked well together. Something good in every bite.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 25, 2003

Wicked good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD May 27, 2009

Excellent! I made these for dinner last night. I was going to give the sandwiches a "very good 4 star" rating until I woke up today wanting another "Italian". Then DH called and asked if we could have them again for tonight's dinner! We are not even from Maine - yet are addicted to the flavor combinations and crunch of the pickles. I made them as directed and would not change anything.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac September 04, 2003

yum! I love Amatos.. I grew up in Maine, and I always get these every chance I get when I go home to visit. I put black olives on mine, since that is how the original is done, also I omit the red wine vinegar. So delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Tinkerbell December 28, 2009

They don't come any better than this, even in NYC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetLee52 August 27, 2009

I made this for DH to take for lunch, so this is his review! "Make this at least once or twice a week please!" So... I have a standing order for these sammies! Thank you Kim! Anything to making lunch easier is a winner for me! Made for Potluck Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom March 06, 2009

Now here is a real Maine Italian. I used to love these as a kid living in NH. I haven't had one in ages and decided it was about time I did! Made mine with black olives, not the Greek. The ones I bought had regular black olives in them. This really hit the spot. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Crystal Cooks May 20, 2008

I'm hooked. This is a fantastic sandwich. I will be having it again very soon. This was served with assorted pickles, olives and potato salad for a quick dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 04, 2008

I grew up in Maine, and whenever I want a little taste of home, I dig into one of these delicious sandwiches. This is exactly the way we used to buy them at the pizza shed, and this is exactly how I make them now (except, always with black olives instead of the greek). Thanks for sharing a great sub!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflower5656 January 31, 2008
A Real Maine "Italian"