Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A Real Maine "Italian" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Real Maine "Italian"

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2003

      wonderful-tasting sandwich. A lot of interesting flavours that all worked well together. Something good in every bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Wicked good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      Excellent! I made these for dinner last night. I was going to give the sandwiches a "very good 4 star" rating until I woke up today wanting another "Italian". Then DH called and asked if we could have them again for tonight's dinner! We are not even from Maine - yet are addicted to the flavor combinations and crunch of the pickles. I made them as directed and would not change anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      yum! I love Amatos.. I grew up in Maine, and I always get these every chance I get when I go home to visit. I put black olives on mine, since that is how the original is done, also I omit the red wine vinegar. So delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      They don't come any better than this, even in NYC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I made this for DH to take for lunch, so this is his review! "Make this at least once or twice a week please!" So... I have a standing order for these sammies! Thank you Kim! Anything to making lunch easier is a winner for me! Made for Potluck Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Now here is a real Maine Italian. I used to love these as a kid living in NH. I haven't had one in ages and decided it was about time I did! Made mine with black olives, not the Greek. The ones I bought had regular black olives in them. This really hit the spot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I'm hooked. This is a fantastic sandwich. I will be having it again very soon. This was served with assorted pickles, olives and potato salad for a quick dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I grew up in Maine, and whenever I want a little taste of home, I dig into one of these delicious sandwiches. This is exactly the way we used to buy them at the pizza shed, and this is exactly how I make them now (except, always with black olives instead of the greek). Thanks for sharing a great sub!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I have had these many times and they are AWESOME! The originals were with American cheese, but any cheese is good. I remember having them with black olives, but they weren't the Greek olives. I also don't remember it to be with red wine vinegar, but I am sure it gives the sandwich great flavor! I can remember eating these dry without anything on them and still being great! Thanks for posting this recipe Kim.... Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I knew I'd love this sandwich and it did not disappoint! A great combination of meat, cheese and vegetables. I will make again! Congrats on your win, Kim127!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      DE-LISH!!! I love this sandwich!!!! I must admit that I added a few slices of salami (I couldn't resist) and used provolone rather than american and some italian dressing that I whipped up last night- but your recipe is divine. So, so good! Thanks!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      The Italian is Maine's signature sandwich making it's first appearance in Portland almost 100 years ago (or so it is said). The original was on a long, soft bread and salami was the the choice of meat. When my hubby and I dated back in the 50s we'd stand in line just to get in the door. Thanks Kim, you've not only given us a good recipe (red wine vinegar, I don't remember but it's a nice addition) but you've made me remember my teen dating years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I live in Maine and we have been buying these forever. I just wrote a review for these saying that I, too, did not know where the name came from, and then proceeded to read the rest of the reviews. I did not know that Amato's in the Old Port once served the Italian immigrants these sandwiches and they were originator of them. They are very, very good even though the ingredients don't seem to fit together. A good Italian sandwich should get a rating of 10. I live outside of Augusta and I am going to check to see if there is an Amato's there, and if so, I will go and get an original one and see how it rates with the rest of them. Kim, I am so glad that you thought of posting these. Now people will be able to get a taste of our "state sandwich" and get a picture of the general store or sandwich shop that makes them. I don't know any other state that makes "Italians". EDITED NOTE: I did go to Amatos in Augusta and got an Italian Sandwich and they are delicious. They looked like a photo when we opened it up and tasted as good as it looked. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Outstanding! I have had this recipe saved for quite some time I am happy I pulled it up and made it for dinner tonight. DH absolutely loved it and so did I. He took one bite and said "Now this is a sandwich!" I don't know about the history behind this sandwich, but I can tell you from experience, this is one great Maine "Italian" Thanks Kim!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This was awesome!! Just so you know, olive oil, red wine vinegar and greek olives are used a lot in italian cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      We're from Maine and this is the real thing. Great job putting this together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Hey, I live in Maine and this is a Real Maine Italian. All the ingredients that Amato's uses. Always use red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper. Thanks Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Although I would not consider this "Italian" it is a delicous sandwich, and I will make this again with maybe some ham, I used roast beef and some pastrami this time. I did not have the greek olives and had to use regular black olives, but it was quite good Kim! Thank you, and congrats, you RedSox lover! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I agree not italian, I will stick with lobster and lobster rolls from maine. If you want italian try r.I. grinders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Real Maine "Italian"

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 763.0
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    49%
    Total Fat 41.5 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 21.3 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 137.4 mg
    45%
    Sodium 3379.9 mg
    140%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 47.6 g
    95%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes