Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / A Mountain Of Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Mountain Of Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2007

      Excellent!! These were delicious!! I used the leftovers for my High Rise Biscuit/Breadstick recipe which uses mashed potatoes . I wanted to see if the dried onion flakes effected them. It didn't. They were also delicious.I love the idea that you can make, refrigerate and then bake. I liked the consistency and didn't add any more milk as suggested by a reviewer because my family will load them up with gravy, butters anyway so the consistency was great! I would not change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      A good easy side dish enjoyed by all. I scaled back for 3.5 and 3 of us devoured the lot - it was great to be able to make it up early in the day and bake later. Made for the DM's 85th birthday dinner, thank you TGirl,RN, made for Healthy Choices ABC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Loved these potatoes! I made a few changes by accident. I threw all of the butter in at once because I was in a hurry and didn't realize that I was supposed to save some of it out and then I didn't have any onion flakes so I used dried minced onions. Turned out great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      These were great!!! I accidentally used my sour cream for something else, so I left it out. These were fantastic anyway!!!! They heated up really quickly in my crockpot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I made these potatoes two days in advance and refrigerated them. I did change things a bit because I was so worried that the potatoes wouldn't be creamy enough. I wasn't sure about using 10 large potatoes. I used 4.5 pounds of peeled potatoes. I used a mix of all purpose and russet. I added 3/4 cup of milk on top of the cream cheese and sour cream and increased the butter IN the dish to 8 Tablespoons... then added 4 Tablespoons ON TOP. I know.. I know.. SO much fat! But.. this is a dish that will be used for holidays and it's good to have the potatoes done ahead of time and have them be delicious. My family was surprised that they were so delicious. They're used to nice, fluffy, freshly mashed potatoes and were skeptical. This is my make ahead recipe from now on. Thanks for your help! Edited to say:.. I froze them in a loaf pan and defrosted (micro at 30% power).. I then heated in 350°F oven for 40 minutes covered with aluminum foil. Then took foil off and heated another 25 minutes and they were JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST TIME! Yeah baby... !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      My guests loved these. I did halve the recipe, but added the full amount of cream cheese and butter because I thought it was lacking in flavor with only half of those two ingredients. There weren't any leftovers, but I would bet they would make great potato pancakes if there were.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      These quickly became a family favorite! If we're not feeling worried about sodium content, sometimes we'll mix in a little cheddar cheese. Also, I'll usuall chop up an onion instead of using flakes, just because I keep forgetting to buy them, but always have an onion handy. I highly recommend this for any potato fan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Very rich but yummy! These were great at Christmas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Loved these!!! Preparing them ahead of time really took some of the stress off - they were tasty and loved by all. Thanks. (I did add a little milk since they seemed a little dry when i mashed them).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Oh boy these were fabulous! I will be making these more often. I might cut down on the dried onion a bit but they were very yummy and enjoyed by all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Love these potatoes. I had 15 lbs of potatoes on a great $2 buy so I had to use them! We made these for a gathering on Tuesday and Thanksgiving on Thursday. They worked out great in advance. Note to self: add a bit of milk or half and half to make a bit creamier. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      So amazingly good! I was very skeptical of making these at first. I made these for my families huge x-mas eve dinner and I didn't tell anyone that these were make ahead to see if they noticed a taste difference. Everyone was asking what I did different because these were the best potatoes they ever have had!!! Thanks so much, you saved me a lot of time last night! And if you have left over (which you most likely will not) I made Leftover Mashed Potato Roll Ups and Potato Carrot Burger With Spiced Mayo with the left over potatoes, and it worked very well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      I made these mashed potatoes for a 60th birthday party we gave to a friend and all the guests loved them. It was wonderful to be able to prepare and cook them the day before serving. I will definitely make these again for a party. The only change I made was to top them with buttered fresh breadcrumbs. I had made them for something else and didn't use them so decided to top the mash with them. Thank you TGirl for sharing you recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Wow, ok, I am horrified by the fact that I have not reviewed this recipe yet! I have made this at least 4 time so far, and it is DIVINE! I changed nothing, my family LOVES it! I make it with Breaded Ranch or Ranchero Chicken, Breaded Ranchero Chicken, by The Dancing Cook, with Milk gravy and I am telling you, It is a FABULOUS, Southern comfort food meal, that your family won't soon forget! Thank You, Thank you, Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Great recipe. Huge time saver on those busy holidays. Thaks for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      Yum, yum, yummy! I made these the night before our Thanksgiving meal and put then in a crockpot (I used a Reynold's slow cooker liner before putting them into the crock.) Took them out of the fridge for an hour then cooked just over 3 hours on Low. I stirred them a few times while they were reheating. Just before serving I added a little more butter. Hey...it's the Holidays! It's not Thanksgiving without buttery mashed potatoes! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Made this last year for Thanksgiving and I can't believe I didn't rate it then. I usually bring a mac and cheese to Thanksgiving dinner with my family, but last year I was given the task of the potatoes. I always get rave reviews for my mac, and it was no different here. However, this time I had people asking if THEY could take home the left overs. Hah! So, well done. Thanks for a great recipe. BTW, I'll be doing the mashed potatoes again this year, and SO looking forward to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      These were very tasty. They were quick and easy too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Sorry we did not care for these at all. We like all of the ingredients but it just did not taste good for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Mountain Of Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.8
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    37%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 242.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes