30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent!! These were delicious!! I used the leftovers for my High Rise Biscuit/Breadstick recipe which uses mashed potatoes . I wanted to see if the dried onion flakes effected them. It didn't. They were also delicious.I love the idea that you can make, refrigerate and then bake. I liked the consistency and didn't add any more milk as suggested by a reviewer because my family will load them up with gravy, butters anyway so the consistency was great! I would not change a thing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song November 23, 2007

A good easy side dish enjoyed by all. I scaled back for 3.5 and 3 of us devoured the lot - it was great to be able to make it up early in the day and bake later. Made for the DM's 85th birthday dinner, thank you TGirl,RN, made for Healthy Choices ABC.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 01, 2010

Loved these potatoes! I made a few changes by accident. I threw all of the butter in at once because I was in a hurry and didn't realize that I was supposed to save some of it out and then I didn't have any onion flakes so I used dried minced onions. Turned out great! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly in Michigan December 25, 2007

These were great!!! I accidentally used my sour cream for something else, so I left it out. These were fantastic anyway!!!! They heated up really quickly in my crockpot!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 22, 2007

I made these potatoes two days in advance and refrigerated them. I did change things a bit because I was so worried that the potatoes wouldn't be creamy enough. I wasn't sure about using 10 large potatoes. I used 4.5 pounds of peeled potatoes. I used a mix of all purpose and russet. I added 3/4 cup of milk on top of the cream cheese and sour cream and increased the butter IN the dish to 8 Tablespoons... then added 4 Tablespoons ON TOP. I know.. I know.. SO much fat! But.. this is a dish that will be used for holidays and it's good to have the potatoes done ahead of time and have them be delicious. My family was surprised that they were so delicious. They're used to nice, fluffy, freshly mashed potatoes and were skeptical. This is my make ahead recipe from now on. Thanks for your help! Edited to say:.. I froze them in a loaf pan and defrosted (micro at 30% power).. I then heated in 350°F oven for 40 minutes covered with aluminum foil. Then took foil off and heated another 25 minutes and they were JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST TIME! Yeah baby... !!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge December 03, 2006

My guests loved these. I did halve the recipe, but added the full amount of cream cheese and butter because I thought it was lacking in flavor with only half of those two ingredients. There weren't any leftovers, but I would bet they would make great potato pancakes if there were.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 October 18, 2011

These quickly became a family favorite! If we're not feeling worried about sodium content, sometimes we'll mix in a little cheddar cheese. Also, I'll usuall chop up an onion instead of using flakes, just because I keep forgetting to buy them, but always have an onion handy. I highly recommend this for any potato fan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shaggy Red Chef July 26, 2008

Very rich but yummy! These were great at Christmas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbieQ December 30, 2007

Loved these!!! Preparing them ahead of time really took some of the stress off - they were tasty and loved by all. Thanks. (I did add a little milk since they seemed a little dry when i mashed them).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlimSadie December 27, 2007

Oh boy these were fabulous! I will be making these more often. I might cut down on the dried onion a bit but they were very yummy and enjoyed by all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalRN November 24, 2007
A Mountain Of Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes