Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A Grape Picker's Lunch! Sausages and Lentils With Thyme and Wine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Grape Picker's Lunch! Sausages and Lentils With Thyme and Wine

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2013

      This is another winner from French Tart. Easy and delicious. I omitted the bacon and the taste is still delicious. I think you can also make this with whatever sausage flavor you have and combine with a coordinating herb. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      An excellent choice for New Year's Eve supper. So easy and low maintenance. The wine adds an interesting flavor. For the two of us we reduced the bacon by half and used three onions. The rest of the ingredients we left the same (the sausages were smallish), and there is a small portion left over. Merci, merci beaucoup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      I wish I could give this 10 stars! Hearty, satisfying and delicious. We absolutely loved it! Next time I'm going to try is with duck and cognac sausages. Yum! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      just lovely!! felt like i was in france again! will definitely make for a long lunch with lots of company :) there was a bit of fat from the bacon which i drained before continuing (might have been the kind i used), and i wasnt sure where i could get a hold of toulouse sausages, so i used a roll of the south african boerewors as i heard it was quite spicy, and it matched really well with the wine and lentils. thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      In one word, delicious!! The flavour of the thyme and lentils with the meat is superb. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to take a picture before it had all gone. Thank you for posting FT. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap #38 March 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      Easy, quick and simply delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I can make it with what I have on hand. Good bread and salad completes the meal. Love the French lentils!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I'm going ahead with a five-star review, even though I TOTALLY screwed up this recipe. I read the "150 ml" of wine and immediately thought of "750 ml" (yes, a whole friggin' bottle). So in it went, and I realized it was tremendously, well, liquidy. Amazing enough, it still tasted fabulous with the help of a straining spoon. My sausages were purple and ridiculous looking, but they were very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. It was my first time making lentils, and it was a wonderful preparation. Thanks for yet another keeper, Karen! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Thanks, FT, for another winner! I decided to make this after seeing Jan's review and loved it. I used fairly plain sausage because I was feeding horrible, fussy kids, but it was still just fantastic. Even the horrible kids appreciated it - after their initial reluctance when the word 'lentils' was mentioned! I will be making this again - next time with some gourmet sausages. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Karen, this is a five star plus recipe. The only thing I could suggest as an improvement would be to be eating it sitting in a vineyard in France with you! I made this tonight for our daughter-in-law. She and our son own a 2 chef's hat restaurant in country Victoria but I know her simple tastes and I knew she would love this. I made no changes to your recipe although I did cook it for longer (puy lentils can stand it without going to mush) and I scattered some roughly chopped parsley over it at the end. I served this with a rocket, fennel and parmesan salad and crusty bread and the wine like you suggested ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Grape Picker's Lunch! Sausages and Lentils With Thyme and Wine

    Serving Size: 1 (494 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 718.3
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    50%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1324.6 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 16.8 g
    67%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 37.6 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites