33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

when i first joined back in 2002 i was looking for a great carrot cake,and this is the one that caught my eye. i made it again today and it tastes just as wonderful as it did then.when i made it this time,instead of finely grating all of the carrots i rough grated some for a different type of texture. if you want an excellent carrot cake,look no further you found it. if i could give it more than 5 '*s .thank you so much for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � February 08, 2006

DESERVES 10 STARS! I have made this twice now and it is absolutely delicious and moist! I found that you can cut the recipe in half to make 1 bundt cake/1 loaf pan/12 cupcakes. To make this recipe healthier, I switched the cream cheese frosting (I love it too!) to a maple syrup glaze. I heated up 2 TBL maple syrup with 1 TBL unsalted butter in a saucepan and drizzled it over the cake. Then I mixed 1 TBL of sugar and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and topped the cake! Still VERY delicious with a lot less saturated fat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary_beth_phillips November 19, 2008

I won't rate this because I changed the recipe slightly, but it turned out great. I had a jar of baby food carrots that I substituted for an equal amount of the oil. I'm not sure if it made any difference but the cake was EXTREMELY moist and not greasy or heavy at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 May 27, 2013

I have a similar recipe from an Austin Junior Forum cookbook "Lonestar Legacy." It is similar to this but uses 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and an optional 3 oz's of flaked coconut. I add walnuts instead of pecans (though I love pecans!) and I don't go overboard draining the crushed pineapple. This cake always gets raves. It is a rich cake so I always line the cake pans (three 9") with oil, flour and a round of parchment paper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ma-southard_13026103 November 03, 2012

I've been making this exact recipe for 30 years. It was originally in the LA Times Cookbook that my mom had. I cut back on the oil by about 1/4 cup and I don't drain the pineapple. It comes out so moist. I recommend grating your own carrots and not using store bought grated carrots. They are too thinck and change the texture of the cake. I also cut back on the sugar in the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurab007 August 11, 2012

Fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harriet-sharp June 18, 2010

This is almost exactly the same recipe my mom has been using for years! She got it from one of her coworkers, a fabulous cook, years ago. All the ingredients and measurements are the same, except hers also includes 1/2 cup of flaked coconut. My mom is famous amongst family and friends for this wonderful cake. Everyone always asks for the recipe. I've never felt the need to look for another recipe because this is the best carrot cake I've ever tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria May 14, 2010

Great recipe! I only made a couple of changes to the recipe, I substituted 1/2 cup of pineapple juice (drained off the crushed pineapple) for 1/2 cup of the oil, used a bundt pan and it turned out fantastic. I took it to a charity tea we were hosting and one of the patrons told my mother (not knowing I had made the cake) that is was the absolute best carrot cake she'd ever tasted...I wouldn't know, I never got a piece! This is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaytie Did March 31, 2010

Excellent cake! VERY sweet, but a nice birthday treat. There was definitely not enough frosting for a 3-layer cake so I ended up using a can of vanilla and mixing in some cinnamon for the inside layers. So, you may want to double the recipe. Other than that, super!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowgirl_cook March 02, 2010

This cake was a hit!! I made this for a dinner party (8 adults). The cake was completely gone the next day. I did change the recipe a little - instead of 8 oz of pineapple drained, I put in 20 oz can drained. It was so moist, it was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savour this! January 15, 2010
A 14-Carat Carrot Cake