Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A 14-Carat Carrot Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A 14-Carat Carrot Cake

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2006

      when i first joined back in 2002 i was looking for a great carrot cake,and this is the one that caught my eye. i made it again today and it tastes just as wonderful as it did then.when i made it this time,instead of finely grating all of the carrots i rough grated some for a different type of texture. if you want an excellent carrot cake,look no further you found it. if i could give it more than 5 '*s .thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      DESERVES 10 STARS! I have made this twice now and it is absolutely delicious and moist! I found that you can cut the recipe in half to make 1 bundt cake/1 loaf pan/12 cupcakes. To make this recipe healthier, I switched the cream cheese frosting (I love it too!) to a maple syrup glaze. I heated up 2 TBL maple syrup with 1 TBL unsalted butter in a saucepan and drizzled it over the cake. Then I mixed 1 TBL of sugar and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and topped the cake! Still VERY delicious with a lot less saturated fat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      I won't rate this because I changed the recipe slightly, but it turned out great. I had a jar of baby food carrots that I substituted for an equal amount of the oil. I'm not sure if it made any difference but the cake was EXTREMELY moist and not greasy or heavy at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      I have a similar recipe from an Austin Junior Forum cookbook "Lonestar Legacy." It is similar to this but uses 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and an optional 3 oz's of flaked coconut. I add walnuts instead of pecans (though I love pecans!) and I don't go overboard draining the crushed pineapple. This cake always gets raves. It is a rich cake so I always line the cake pans (three 9") with oil, flour and a round of parchment paper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I've been making this exact recipe for 30 years. It was originally in the LA Times Cookbook that my mom had. I cut back on the oil by about 1/4 cup and I don't drain the pineapple. It comes out so moist. I recommend grating your own carrots and not using store bought grated carrots. They are too thinck and change the texture of the cake. I also cut back on the sugar in the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This is almost exactly the same recipe my mom has been using for years! She got it from one of her coworkers, a fabulous cook, years ago. All the ingredients and measurements are the same, except hers also includes 1/2 cup of flaked coconut. My mom is famous amongst family and friends for this wonderful cake. Everyone always asks for the recipe. I've never felt the need to look for another recipe because this is the best carrot cake I've ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Great recipe! I only made a couple of changes to the recipe, I substituted 1/2 cup of pineapple juice (drained off the crushed pineapple) for 1/2 cup of the oil, used a bundt pan and it turned out fantastic. I took it to a charity tea we were hosting and one of the patrons told my mother (not knowing I had made the cake) that is was the absolute best carrot cake she'd ever tasted...I wouldn't know, I never got a piece! This is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Excellent cake! VERY sweet, but a nice birthday treat. There was definitely not enough frosting for a 3-layer cake so I ended up using a can of vanilla and mixing in some cinnamon for the inside layers. So, you may want to double the recipe. Other than that, super!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This cake was a hit!! I made this for a dinner party (8 adults). The cake was completely gone the next day. I did change the recipe a little - instead of 8 oz of pineapple drained, I put in 20 oz can drained. It was so moist, it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Easily one of the all time best carrot cakes...addictive

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Delicious cake so moist and flavorful Quick to do. Didn't put the frosting on it but loved it anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This cake was amazing!!! Thanks for sharing!! I did add about two tablespoons of the remaining pineapple juice to the frosting and it was sooo creamy and fruity as well, a HUGE hit with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This cake has a really nice flavor, I found it to be a little heavy, but my family all loved it when I made if for Easter. I added a touch of clove, but that was the only alteration I made. It was very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Supreme carrot cake! It was moist as could be, and the pineapple adds a lovely hint of flavor and extra moistness. I added a pinch of cloves, used baby carrots grated in my food processor, and used whipped cream cheese (not light) in the tub for the frosting. It was actually easier to mix the frosting and I didn't need to add any milk, which I usually do when working with block-style cream cheese. This makes a delicious cake, not too sweet, perfectly complimented by the frosting, which is also not tooth-aching sugary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This is really the best carrot cake! It deserves 10 stars! Absolutely perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Excellent carrot cake - I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown (and I think it is sweet enough!), and 3/4 cup oil plus 1/2 cup applesauce. I also soaked some raisins in boiling water for a few minutes, and added some nutmeg and vanilla as well. I subbed half the flour for white whole-wheat, and left out the nuts - and even with all these changes it's delicious! I'd love to try the frosting next time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I wanted a healthy cake for my daughter's 1st birthday, & this seemed to fit the bill. I used applesauce in place of the oil, added a tiny bit of clove & left out the nuts so she wouldn't choke. Everyone loved the resulting cupcakes!! I also used only 1/2 of the sugar in the frosting, as I didn't want her bouncing off the walls. Very good recipe... Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Super recipe. Great texture, just the right amount of sweetness - gobs of frosting. It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Probably the best carrot cake I have ever eaten! I'm usually a wimp about making layer cakes because I can't get them to look good, but this one was beautiful. Wonderful texture, wonderful flavor, and the icing is divine. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A 14-Carat Carrot Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 805.6
     
    Calories from Fat 415
    51%
    Total Fat 46.2 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 103.1 mg
    34%
    Sodium 618.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.8 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 75.0 g
    300%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites