Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / A-1 Pot Roast Chuck Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A-1 Pot Roast Chuck Steak

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      This was a last minute attempt to fix Sunday dinner. So I went online to find a recipe for boneless chuck roast. I went through a few that had either a loooooong list of ingredients, took to long or didn't sound very appetizing. Then I found you. I had all the ingredients in the pantry, I was able to put it together in less than 20 minutes including the time it took to brown the meat. The hardest thing about this recipe was packing the 3 tbs of brown sugar. I added potatoes and baby carrots, some onions, green pepper and baby portabella mushrooms during the last hour of cooking. It was DELICIOUS. I will use this recipe each time I make chuck roast. Thank You very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I must admit that I was hesitant to try this recipe...it just seemed like an odd combination of flavors to me. But OH MY GOODNESS it was DELISH! I used my crockpot after I browned the meat. I followed the recipe exactly, and I will certainly be making this again. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Wow, this is delicious. I cooked it inthe Crock-pot after browning the meat in a skillet. Made just like the recipe stated. It was very tender in about 3 hours, cooked on high for 2 hours, then turned to low to finish. Thanks this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      I have tried this several times now. Did not have brown sugar so substituted molasses and it made for a wonderful sauce. This is so delicious it is becoming a staple for this single guy who needs an easy to prepare meal. Served with rice that I add partial package of frozen mixed veggies to. Looks colorful and tastes delicious. Thanks for great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      As other reviewers have mentioned; I was also skeptical about the ingredient combination.<br/>This is awesome. Thank you so much for posting and saving Sunday Dinner for our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I did this in the crockpot using Montreal Steak steak sauce and adding some carrots, sliced cremini mushrooms, and red skin potatoes. After cooking for 6 hours, it was falling apart tender. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Terrific recipe. Great Sunday night dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Great! I used 2 small 3/4inch chuck steaks weighing about a pound each and it worked. I was worried about it becoming dried out or the bottom steak becoming boiled instead of nicely braised. At the end I reduced the sauce, added a few cracks of pepper and another teaspoon or so of brown sugar. <br/><br/>Oh yes... The one thing I did substitute was white vinegar for lemon because I was fresh out. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Simple, hearty, full of flavor and Hubby asked for it to be put on the permanent rotation. Need I say more?? Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      I hate to be the only one again. We just thought this was alright. My daughter didnt like the sauce. My husband and I thought it was too sweet. Especially, in the carrots I threw in there. My sister was the one that liked it the most. She really liked the addition of the onion slices I put in there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      If you like A-1 Sauce, then you will like this. I made it with a huge chuck roast and doubled the sauce. (I think the original amount of sauce would have been enough, but since this was new to me, I didn't know.) In any case, I let it cook longer than called for - until tender. If I had let it get to the falling apart stage, then maybe the extra sauce would have been needed. As it was, it was very tasty. The A-1 sauce is somewhat overpowering. So, keep that in mind. I served it with mashed potatoes, which modified the sauce a bit. I highly recommend the combination of mashed potatoes with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I was feeling too lazy to make stew out of the chuck steak I had, and went searching. Glad I decided on this recipe, as it's delicious. I am not a huge fan of A-1, but it was great in this. I did have to cut my steak up a bit for searing, since it was huge, but just poured the sauce over everything and turned it a bit more so it all cooked. Let this simmer for almost 3 hours on low and it was so tender we almost needed a spoon to get the meat out of the pan. Didn't have the sauce on anything but the meat, and it was good that way. Not sure I'd like it on side dishes, but would prob be good with mushrooms. Saving this one to make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      I just made this yesterday. OMG! It was to die for. We loved it. I used Heinz 57 steak sauce instead of A-1. I tenderized my steak before I browned it. Once I put the sauce mixture over the steak and brought it to a "bubble boil", I then put it in my crock pot for 5 hours. No knife needed what so ever. As of matter of fact, there were no leftovers at all. Even the mashed potatoes went. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      My kids loved this! But then, they love A1!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Very good! I even tossed everything in the crockpot one day and it was still yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      I have an incredibly picky family (no joke- the list of things they will eat is massively shorter than the list of things they won't) and this was a hit with 2 of my 3 kids! This almost never happens, and I was shocked it did since one of the kid's doesn't even like mustard OR A-1! So success! It was really yummy and I loved it and so simple to make! Will definitely be making this again in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      This was fantastic!! The sauce made a great dipping sauce. I may make extra sauce next and shredded the meat to make sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This was so good! I served mashed potatoes and coleslaw as sides and made some homemade rolls too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This was SO easy to put together and the taste is to die for! My husband has a lot of health problems and does not like to eat most of the time really liked this and ate everyting on his plate!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Made this as written, we did like the meat, but not the gravy. That is different huh?? I think we are not big A1 people here and the flavor of the gravy was the A1. I will probably make this again, but just not put the gravy over the rice or potatoes. Thanks for letting us try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A-1 Pot Roast Chuck Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 74.4
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    44%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 88.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    underblade steak

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes