27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a last minute attempt to fix Sunday dinner. So I went online to find a recipe for boneless chuck roast. I went through a few that had either a loooooong list of ingredients, took to long or didn't sound very appetizing. Then I found you. I had all the ingredients in the pantry, I was able to put it together in less than 20 minutes including the time it took to brown the meat. The hardest thing about this recipe was packing the 3 tbs of brown sugar. I added potatoes and baby carrots, some onions, green pepper and baby portabella mushrooms during the last hour of cooking. It was DELICIOUS. I will use this recipe each time I make chuck roast. Thank You very much.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonnid11 March 21, 2011

I must admit that I was hesitant to try this recipe...it just seemed like an odd combination of flavors to me. But OH MY GOODNESS it was DELISH! I used my crockpot after I browned the meat. I followed the recipe exactly, and I will certainly be making this again. Thanks for such an easy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Burden November 19, 2010

Wow, this is delicious. I cooked it inthe Crock-pot after browning the meat in a skillet. Made just like the recipe stated. It was very tender in about 3 hours, cooked on high for 2 hours, then turned to low to finish. Thanks this is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz August 06, 2008

I have tried this several times now. Did not have brown sugar so substituted molasses and it made for a wonderful sauce. This is so delicious it is becoming a staple for this single guy who needs an easy to prepare meal. Served with rice that I add partial package of frozen mixed veggies to. Looks colorful and tastes delicious. Thanks for great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedkansan April 04, 2007

As other reviewers have mentioned; I was also skeptical about the ingredient combination.<br/>This is awesome. Thank you so much for posting and saving Sunday Dinner for our family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom April 29, 2014

I did this in the crockpot using Montreal Steak steak sauce and adding some carrots, sliced cremini mushrooms, and red skin potatoes. After cooking for 6 hours, it was falling apart tender. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! April 14, 2014

Terrific recipe. Great Sunday night dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedJim April 14, 2014

Great! I used 2 small 3/4inch chuck steaks weighing about a pound each and it worked. I was worried about it becoming dried out or the bottom steak becoming boiled instead of nicely braised. At the end I reduced the sauce, added a few cracks of pepper and another teaspoon or so of brown sugar. <br/><br/>Oh yes... The one thing I did substitute was white vinegar for lemon because I was fresh out. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niakins October 15, 2013

Simple, hearty, full of flavor and Hubby asked for it to be put on the permanent rotation. Need I say more?? Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies October 01, 2013

I hate to be the only one again. We just thought this was alright. My daughter didnt like the sauce. My husband and I thought it was too sweet. Especially, in the carrots I threw in there. My sister was the one that liked it the most. She really liked the addition of the onion slices I put in there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel August 02, 2013
A-1 Pot Roast Chuck Steak