Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 711 Kirkwood's Barley Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    711 Kirkwood's Barley Casserole

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2002

      I used "medium" Barley and I also needed to add more water. The barley did not swell like if it were in a soup so that is why I say it needed more water. But it was very good and easy to make. Thanks for sharing I love barley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      I made ths last night. I had to add more liquid as the barley was sort of hard. It was delicious noetheless. Next time I will add beef broth instead of water. Even my husband and daughter who are very "PICKY" eaters, had seconds. I had pearl barly in the house that I use for Beef Barey Soup. It is definitely a "keeper'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      This was excellent in flavor, nutrition and texture. I loved it. I chopped all the vegetables with a few pulses in the food processor, so that made it quick and easy to prepare too. I made a few minor changes substituting ground turkey for the ground beef and used olive oil to fry instead of shortening. Normally I would have used the barley called for but I had some pearled wheat leftover that I bought to make an Italian grain pie at Easter and I wanted to use some of it up. It is so similar to barley and worked out nicely in this recipe. My only problem was I had to add a lot more water than the recipe called for. I added an additional 3 coffee mugs worth of water. But it was all absorbed nicely and this turned out great. will definitely make this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      This is a hearty meal with flavors very similar to the goulash my mother made while I was growing up. Of course, her goulash had noodles instead of the fiber-rich barley. My husband enjoyed this when served with a tossed salad and fresh bread. It was really satisfying. I did make a few changes in the preparation, though. I subbed a can of beef broth for the original water. I also had no celery on hand (and therefore omitted it) and subbed a red pepper for the green. I subbed about a tablespoon of Montreal Steak Seasoning for the salt and pepper. I used Pearl (or medium) Barley and required an additional 6 cups of water before the barley was tender through simmering. I topped the finished casserole with chopped fresh parsley for color. Overall, this is a simple meal that definately qualifies as comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      Everyone liked this when I made it. I used mushrooms instead of green peppers, and I'm sure I used a lot more than 1/2 cup. I also left out the tomato sauce. It seemed quite flavoful even though there are not a lot of seasonings. I think the mushrooms added a lot of flavor. The barley made it seem very filling and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Nice comfort food! I used ground chuck instead of the lean ground beef and omitted the shortening. Also added two cloves of garlic to the onions, celery, and bell pepper, a small can of tomato sauce, and about 2 cups of beef broth. This is a very versatile recipe that other ingredients could easily be added to depending on your own personal taste. Thank you Dib's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      YUMMY, got rave reviews for something that took no time to prepare! I added about 1C of frozen mixed pepers, 1/2 c each of peas and corn, I like veggies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This was so easy because I made it in my rice cooker! I used the quick cook setting to cook the first 5 ingredients (but I didn't need the shortening) and I also added a little red wine and worcestershire sauce as well as some garlic. I closed the cover and then would open it and stir once in a while until it was cooked. Then I added the rest of the ingredients but used half a can of pasta sauce instead of the tomato paste because I had it on hand. Then I closed the machine and set it to cook (regular rice setting) and shazaam, it was perfect! Using a rice cooker also keeps things moist because it keeps in the steam so you don't have to keep adding water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Simple and nutritious, this was a nice option to include a healthy grain on the dinner plate. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic to the veggies, a plus since I found the final dish a bit bland. In the end also added oregano. I cooked mine for close to 40 minutes and used close to 3 cups of water. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 711 Kirkwood's Barley Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.6
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    39%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1302.7 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes