Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 7-Vegetable Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    7-Vegetable Chicken Stew with Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      Hello Everyone, I tried this recipe today. I am eating the whole thing by myself [ joke]. This is a real "brings back the memories" dish. It has just the right amount of the different vegetables so that one does not overpower the other, and the seasoning is great but I added about 1 tsp. of tarragon to the spice list and it added just enough sweetness to the dish that I prefer. You won't be sorry if you make this dish. It is 'Gourmet' enough for Sunday Company..even on the very first try ! grammajune

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2003

      An excellent stew which I just loved and will certainly make again. I added 1 1/2 cups of chopped mushrooms and 1 tsp. of tarragon. The fresh parsley did not look very good at the store today so I didn't buy any. I used 2 tsp. of dried parsley and 3 tsps. baking powder in the dumplings (they turned out light and fluffy). This was very easy to make, smelled good cooking and very filling. Great for a cold night in Canada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      This looks like an interesting recipe but I would make one tiny suggestion or change. One of the earlier posters mentioned that her husband found the dumplings to be doughy. It looks like there is about half the amount of baking powder that would be needed to make them rise correctly, so maybe that's why. Typically when I make dumplings I use 2 to 2 1/2 tbsp of baking powder (Clabber Girl--you might not need as much with other brands...) for every 2 cups of flour. They rise up like a charm and are light and fluffy (if I do say so myself...). Of course, I do live at sea level...if you live at elevation you would need less so maybe that's why the recipe is written the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2002

      For some reason when I went grocery shopping I thought that I needed turnips & parsnips for this dish. Since I had them I anyway, I just ended up with a 9 vegetable stew. It was excellent. Peoplle ate veggies that they never knew existed and loved them. Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2002

      I tried this recipe because I have never had rutabagas and it also sounded interesting. I cooked this in a crock pot. Next time, I think I will boil the chicken breast first and skim off the "scum". I cleaned the vegetables the day before and put them all in a bag. One thing about the rutabaga, either I am wonder women, or nuking it on medium for 5 minutes and peeling while warm works. Anyhow, I followed the receipe as directed but I put everything in the crockpot before work so it cooked for about 10 hours. The chicken was very tender. I transferred the stew to a dutch oven in order to make the dumplings, which I thought, was the absolute best part of the stew. Oh, they were good! All the vegetables were cooked but not overcooked. The chicken was tender and not dry. I'm glad I tried it. As for rutabagas? I don't think I'll rush out and buy them again, but it was nice to taste them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      I made this for my family this evening and it was a hit. My husband even ate the rutabaga and sweet potatoes - I think he was surprised that they tasted sooo good in this recipe. I do think that I may have cooked it a bit longer than needed because my potatoes started to break apart but it just added body to the stew. The one thing my husband didn't care for much was the dumplings, not that they didn't taste good, but that he wasn't expecting something so "doughy." I on the other hand enjoyed the dumplings. I look forward to the leftovers tomorrow night!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      this was absolutely delicious! very filling too. i didn't think it would be enough for us, so i doubled the recipe. i really didn't need to. i had half left over and my husband and son had third helpings. try this and enjoy! (my son didn't believe he ate rutabaga.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This was wonderful !!! I used diced turkey in mine.I have no idea what a rutabaga is so used broccoli. I read all the problems re the dumplings and generously added baking powder plus chopped herbs from the garden and it was a fabulous supper on a wintry Sunday night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I halved the recipe. I used the pre cut asst. veggies in a vacuum sealed bag, it's so nice to be able to buy veggies like like. It had most all the vegetables you mentioned. I cooked it in the crock pot. I used about 1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I forgot to add the peas but it was good without them. Thanks for posting the recipe Lennie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I made this recipe exactly as written. It was just okay to me. Sorry!! :) I think it was lacking something. I ended up adding more seasonings. I agree with some of the previous reviews that the dumplings were kind of doughy and didn't seem done. I added the extra baking powder as suggested, and they still seemed cooked in the center, but a little too gooey on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Awesome! I omitted the peas and rutabega (didn't have any), and doubled the sweet potatoes. For the dumplings, I used 1 TB of baking powder, 3 TB of butter and added 1/2 tsp of Beau Monde seasoning instead of salt. Soooo good!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Good! I made the recipe as stated, only I chopped my onions up pretty small as I don't like big chunks of them, and for the dumplings I used 1 tbsp of baking powder as another reviewer suggested. The stew was quite tasty - my fussy 4 yr old even ate most of his, but I don't think I would make the dumplings again. They didn't seem to have much flavor of their own and to me seemed to take on only the taste of the rutabagas. I will make the stew again only I will use a different dumpling recipe or just serve with biscuits instead. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Excellent. I dropped the rutabagas and potatoes and added whole button mushrooms and sliced leek. I also used fresh herbs. About the dumplings, I made it once without and loved it. Then decided to try them. I won't be doing that again, the clear soup became cloudy and unattractive and dumplings were too soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Fantastic! As we don't get rutabagas, I subbed turnips and also doubled the baking powder for the dumplings as per previous reviewers' suggestions. The dumplings came out great! Used my own home-made chicken and veg stock. I would have to say the prep time is double the time stated, but this dish is SO worth the effort. I did get a bit carried away with the veg measurements and used more than stated, probably 1/2 as much again of every veg, and this could easily have fed 6 or even 8 people. I'm still eating the leftovers and not getting tired of it at all. A real keeper, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I agree with the last reviewer that the stew is AWESOME and foolproof! I use about a cup more chicken broth and I use pre-cut sweet potatoes and turnip just to save time. The dumpling recipe that they suggested worked way better but I still had to use considerably more milk to get a "batter". The cooking time is doubled which makes a huge difference in the consistency. Still haven't perfected the dumplings but the stew recipe is a definite KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This was a very good stew, and with some minor tweaks will be an amazing meal! We noted the problems some people had with the posted dumpling recipe, so we used mum's from her beef stew recipe, #262169. Our only other concern was that the broth was a little thin for our tastes, but that will be easily fixed next time we make this recipe by dredgeing the meat in flour prior to cooking to give the broth a more gravy like consistency. We both agree that this is a winner. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I made this twice in less than 2 weeks. Once for myself and then again for my parents. I did tweak it, but only because I was in the middle of a move and used just what I had on hand the first time. It was so good I made it the same way for my parents. I used a roasted chicken from the market. Took the meat off the bone and then used the carcass to make my chicken stock. I strained the stock and then added the veggies. I had all except the sweet potatoe and rutabagas, although I'm sure I would love it with those veggies as well. I added the chicken just before I put the dumplings in. For the dumplings I used 1 1/2 tablespoon of baking powder. They were light and fluffy! Growing-up, chicken and dumplings was always my request for my birthday dinner. This is my new favorite recipe...I LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Excellent, outstanding recipe. The tastes are clearly defined, with the chicken soaking all the flavours beautifully. I did not have any peas, but the recipe did not miss them. I put more baking powder as per another reviewer here, but I felt that the 'batter' was too liquid. The dumplings melted into the stew, thickening the sauce, so they did not exactly rise - but the remainder cooked beautifully. The prep time is optimistic - it takes more than 15 mins to peel and slice all these veggies - count more than 25 mins. This aside, fabulous meal !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      If ever there was comfort food, this is it!!! It tasted incredible, it made the house smell wonderful, and it brought back lots of happy memories from childhood. The only changes I made were to sub turnips for the sweet potatoes and to omit the dumplings (I served the stew with hot buttered toast instead). What a great dinner!! This is a ten star recipe--thanks so much Lennie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 7-Vegetable Chicken Stew with Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (952 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 789.0
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    18%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 172.0 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1369.8 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 66.2 g
    132%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites