16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First time making this..was delicious! Will add more extract next time to bring out more flavor. Added a glaze as well. Big hit with the family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
confetti12 October 31, 2012

It was so simple to make right to the point thanks alot my kids enjoyed it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msladeeprecious July 24, 2012

This is the BEST pound cake ever!!! You will not be disappointed at all. I even used regular all purpose flour and it worked out just fine:) When I made the first pound cake during Christmas, it was gone in 24 hours. I made another one the next day. It is great with or without a glaze. I did make a glaze--absolutley delicious!!!
That is why this cake has 5 stars--I give it a 10:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lroutland January 11, 2012

This is one of my families favorite pound cakes. I use all butter instead of butter with shortening. I can't imagine it being better using shortening. I also add a tbsp of vanilla flavoring because we love vanilla and it gives the cake even more flavor. Lastly, I add a powered sugar glaze with 7-up and lemon vanilla in it. I have also just added powered sugar when I don't have time to make the glaze. This cakes is amazing and also sell this cake and it is one of the most requested. Add a pinch of salt to the flour. Also, I alternate the flour with the 7-up ending with flour. Most cakes use this method and I figured I would too. It absolutely works. I highly recommend this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie November 01, 2011

Excellent Pound cake and very easy. My prep time was 42 min. and cooking time 1 hr. 12 min. Yep you have to try this recipe. I did use splenda and it worked out great. Thanks for this recipe. PIGPURPLE

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 1086570 pigpurple January 05, 2010

My great grandmother and my grandmother used to make this all the time and I really missed having it. This is exactally what I remembered them making. I must say that this has become a staple at my job and my home. Thanks so much for posting this. It really brings home the memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisi_Marie October 09, 2009

Perfect for my April Fool's Day "grilled cheese sandwich". It baked & sliced up beautifully. Between 2 thin slices of lightly toasted cake (cooled) I spread cheese-colored whipped topping. When hubby came in I announced it would be a light supper and nodded to the cold skillet the "sandwich" rested in. I made a shepherd's pie to go with, coloring the potatoes pink. It looked like strawberry cake. Next to it sat the strawberries (for the pound cake later) adding to the illusion. Finally I pulled off an April Fool's Joke. Thanks for such a great recipe. I did have to made a couple of subs out of necessity. One was usuing imitation butter extract in place of the lemon. The other was using diet ginger ale instead of 7-up. I was shocked when the mixture fizzed up but all turned out perfect. I am so thankful you posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny Moses April 02, 2009

Oh my, this cake is good. I used 1 teaspoon of almond flavoring and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I didn't use the lemon extract this time. The next time I will use the lemon extract. I also reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cup. Excellent. The top crust is beautiful and the crumb is flavorful and so moist. Keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 21, 2008

Wonderful!!! Moist, and light, and ooohh, so delicious. I would definitely recommend this one. I also added 1/4 tsp salt to mine to enhanced the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmsky102002 June 21, 2008

This cake is awesome! I was wondering if it would rise, but it did! It was simple to make. Since I was going to be serving it with berries I decided to try Cherry 7-Up and I think it gave it a little something extra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wl Lynn December 23, 2007
7-Up Pound Cake