66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried this recipe before (found it in a church cookbook) and it is very delicious. Being a chocolate lover, it takes a lot for me to love a cake that is non chocolate, but I am partial to all things lemon :) It does come out very moist and light and I would recommend it to anyone.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= June 20, 2002

This was a great cake and it starts a great conversation!! The only modification I did was, I doubled the glaze (I have a sweet tooth) and I added 2 teaspoon of 7 Up to the glaze as well. Just made it slightly easier to spread. I think creaming it for the whole twenty minutes made it lighter than when I did it the first time and creamed it for only ten minutes. It was a lot fluffier. :) Great tasting cake!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac March 02, 2003

Very good! Although, I must confess that I only creamed the butter and sugar for 10 mins.! I also couldn't find lemon extract and used lemon juice in place instead. Seemed to turn out great though, very moist, with just the right amount of lemon flavor!!! I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Nurse August 20, 2002

WOW!!! Are you kidding me? I made two of these cakes yesterday - one for church and the other for Sunday dinner. The recipe was reasonably easy. The final results were amazing. I followed the cake recipe exactly but did have to cook it for an additional 10 minutes. Like many of the previous reviewers, I doubled the recipe for the glaze and added Sprite to it to make the right consistency. I received nothing but rave reviews from church members and from my family. Without question, this cake will be on my holiday menus. Thanks so much. You are a cake goddess!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RevBre September 27, 2010

Delicious! It took 2 tries to get it right, but it was well worth it. The first time I cooked according to directions 1 hour to 1 1/4 hours -- after unmolding from bundt cake pan some of the cake escaped ... it obviously was not done... I was determined to get it right so made again and like Kass stated (thanks Kass for giving me the impetus to try again), cooked a full l 1/2 hours and it came out perfect. The lemon is just perfect in this cake, and we thoroughly enjoyed for our Labor Day celebration. Thanks for a great recipe!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady September 01, 2003

I made this as written with the exception of adding some lemon zest, because I needed to use it. I did cream the butter and sugar with the stand mixer for 20 minutes, even though previous posts said it wasn't necessary.As everybody else has said, it has a wonderful light lemon flavor. Mine has a pound cake like consistency and goes beautifully with a glass of cold milk. I'm notorious for messing up baked goods and this one seems pretty fool proof. The egg odor while cooking was present but does not show up in the flavor of the cake. My 15yo DS said, "This cake is da BOMB, MOM!" That's a huge compliment. Thank you for posting a recipe that redeemed my last batch of rock hard boxed brownies!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen January 09, 2011

Fabulous cake and glaze. Light texture and cool lemony citrus flavor. I made this for my daughter's sleep-over. The girls all liked it and so did my husband and sons. Very easy, but I didn't cream the sugar and butter for 20 minutes, more like 5. Thanks Jo.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop December 21, 2002

I baked this cake for Christmas and my family loved it! I would definitely do it again-but I would make a few changes:
1. After reading the reviews, I let the cake bake for 1:30-although the original recipe required 1:15. The cake turned out to be a very dark brown and had a bit of a hard exterior. The inside was very moist and delicious so I would cut back on the baking time.
2. I was not a fan of the glaze. I may not make it at all next time, however if I do, I will wait until the entire cake it cooled before I pour it on. By the cake still being warm, the glaze was very translucent and did not stick to the cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissJC January 02, 2012

I have never made a cake in my life and I ended up making this twice last weekend. After reading some of the other comments, here is what I would suggest:
1. Beat the butter/sugar for 5 min, not 20 minutes.
2. Chop up the zest of 1 lemon and add to the batter.
3. Double the recipe for the glaze.
4.Chop up the zest of 1 lemon for the glaze- it looks great, and really brings out the citrus.
5. Add a couple TBSP of sprite or whatever you are using to the glaze... I don't know what it does, but it makes the glaze better in my opinion.
The cake turned out to be fantastic, so I thank you for whoever put this recipe online :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CFMonty July 26, 2011

I made this for my MIL and FIL's birthday cake and it was fantastic! I thought creaming the butter sugar mixture was a misprint but did it anyway. Wow, was this ever good. I want to make this cake alot, it was so moist and light for a bundt cake. I love bundt cakes and this is my favorite. I too, double my glaze and it was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely cake withus.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 28, 2010
7-Up Bundt Cake