Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 7 Layer Tortilla Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    7 Layer Tortilla Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2004

      This is a really good dish. Also has good potential for a make-ahead one. I did find that it takes longer than 40 minutes to bake, more like 60. Using flavoured toritillas (like spinich, tomatoe, whole wheat) makes a really beautiful dish. I also a tried a variation where I substituted chicken for the black beans. I just shredded cold roasted chicken with two forks, seasoned it with taco-type seasonings, and mixed it with the tomatoes etc. for those layers. This seemed to be more popular, than the vegetarian version, but I like it both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      This was delicious! I used a round casserole dish to accomodate all 7 layers, red kidney beans (pinto aren't available here), home made salsa & 2 oz of green chilies which were left from another recipe. For cheese, I combined cheddar & some colby with diced jalapeno. Thanx Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      Absolutely delicious, it went down a storm! Would probably also be good with meat. It felt like sacrilege mashing up the pinto beans, perhaps they would be better unmashed?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Very good! I used about 4 cloves of garlic, colby jack cheese, and I added some canned, diced chiles for spice. Also, my tart dish was too shallow for seven layers, so I made it a five-layer pie. Still fabulous! It went over very well. The bottom tortilla crisps up nicely and provides a good bottom crust. I highly recommend this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      My Grandsons LOVED this! We have been trying to eat healthier and meatless several times a week. I used low fat cheese and they didn't notice the difference. My husband and SIL also thought it was good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This came out really good. I added a little extra cheese. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Love it. Used monterey jack cheese vs cheddar. A little more garlic for me and used a spicy salsa, I think it needed a bit more heat. My garnish was a lime cilantro sour cream, but otherwise followed exactly. Great flavor. It is a nice side dish as well as a main dish. Kim, thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This has been a family favorite for years! I think it originally came from Pampered Chef?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Very easy and my family loved it. I used low carb wheat tortillas and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      I make my tortilla pie with chicken and a cheese sauce instead of grated cheese in the layers, makes it so smooth and creamy! Like a mexican lasagne! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      Super supper! Added a layer of ground turkey sauteed in fajita spices. Great Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      This was absolutely delicious! And my entire family all agreed! I didn't have 8 inch tortillas so mine was made in a 13x9 casserole dish rather than stacked. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      I made this for dinner and it turned out real nice. I did not use the pinto, just the black beans. I used a mix of cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese. Thanks Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      my kids just loved this! i used pinto beans that i had cooked the day before, mashed them and fried them with 1/2 lb of ground veal. i also used mild salsa and while i wanted to add cumin and chili powder, i didn't for the kids who like it less spicy. i served it with sour cream and chipolte salsa to spice it up for the more daring

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 7 Layer Tortilla Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 670.3
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    29%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 49.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1043.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.0 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 33.4 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes