14 Reviews

This salad is very good and easy to make. I have had this recipe in my collection for several years and it is a favorite.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 08, 2002

This sounds good! I have had this before from a small deli down the street.They added tomatoes also.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda O January 09, 2002

This also has been a requested dish at all my family's holiday dinners too.I add lots of real bacon bits and a liberal shake of Mrs.Dash spice mix to the Miracle Whip and leave out the salt.There never is any leftovers.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona October 28, 2001

This has been a great favorite in our family and extended family for years. Not only is it good but every time you take this to any social gathering you always bring home an empty bowl. Although after the peas we do add Cheese, then bacon bits, then Miracle whip and then the sugar so the order is a little different.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain Chef September 13, 2004

This salad is delicious. I did do a few things differently. I mixed the sugar & mayo together in a bowl before adding it to the bowl. I also added a layer of hard boiled eggs. And I added romaine to the iceberg.<br/>My daughter loves salads, her fav is Greek salad. But she focused on her plate without adding a word to the conversation until she was done, looked at me and said, "Good salad, Mom!" <br/>That gives it 5 stars from me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pgserver6 April 30, 2014

This is how I make my 7 layer salad except I use regular mayonaise instead of miracle whip and real bacon instead of bacon bits. Thanks for posting. It always receives great reviews at picnics and potlucks. The instructions leave out the the mixing... I mix the whole thing together right before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgal April 15, 2010

Great Salad! I used mayonaise and i will make this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio December 20, 2009

Very nice green salad. I had to add a touch of cider vinegar to the finnished product, since it was just a tad bland. Improvement was tremendous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 27, 2009

There is another name = Green Pea Salad. It is very good.Don't forget the garlic powder it sets the flavors. Awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quinettai July 21, 2009

We really enjoyed this salad. A friend came to our Superbowl party and she had made one just like this recipe, in fact she told me she got her recipe from Zaar but wasn't sure which one she had picked so I went through all that was here and this one came the closest to what she had. I did add some radishes, cucumbers and carrots. I omitted the green bell pepper and bacon bits cause I didn't have any on hand at the time. This is a great salad to have for any occasion. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. February 06, 2009
7 Layer Salad