14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a baby shower. It is absolutely scrumptious and very easy. I had to promise to make copies of this recipe for several ladies. Thanks for posting this.

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 17, 2002

OMG, TARA!!! This dessert is absolutely incredible!!! I used a 12 oz. angel food cake, a 15 oz. can of pineapple chunks, a 15 oz. can of fruit cocktail, a small can of mandarin oranges, and a 12 oz. container of cool-whip. I didn't have a punchbowl, so I made it in a regular large serving bowl. Also, I only had time, in my cooking frenzy for the 4th of July, to let the Jello set until slightly thickened (pourable) Then I refrigerated the entire dessert for 2 1/2-3 hrs. It turned out wonderful, and everyone in my family wants the recipe. The taste reminded me of a banana split. Next time, I will double the recipe because noone could get enough of this stuff!! Wonderful, refreshing blend of tastes and textures!! 5+5+5....stars!! Thank you!! ~Manda

45 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 05, 2002

This dessert is just beautiful and so light and cool. I made a reduced sugar variation of this as follows: angelfood cake, 2 packs diet strawberry jello (cut in cubes), 1 tin (no sugar added) pineapple chunks, 1 tin (no sugar added) crushed pineapple, unsweetened flaked coconut to cover, 2 tins (no sugar added) mandarin oranges, 2 packs diet vanilla pudding prepared with low fat milk, diet cool whip. It makes a ton and the taste is unbelieveable. Thanks for the fantastic recipe, I'll be making this again!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* September 09, 2002

I can't believe that I have not already gave this a 5 star. I have made this at least 15+ times and thought I had reviewed it but when pulling it back up I noticed I had not. The only thing I do different is use Strawberry/banana jello and Strawberry cool whip. If it is strawberry season I top with strawberries. This looks like I'm Martha Stewart as it is so goooood and elegant at the same time. This is one of the recipes you keep going back to as it is light, delicious and beautiful!!!! Thanks for a wonderful desert

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britt O's sweetie pie May 25, 2008

What a beautiful and light dessert. I made this for a taste of spring and summer in the middle of winter and we loved it. I can see where it would be great for a summer treat. Its easy to put together and looks so good in a pretty glass bowl. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 17, 2011

Absolutely wonderful!! Our family just decided this is our new favorite summer dessert!! all of my 3 boys asked for seconds!! So simple to make, but the favors combined make a great flavorful combination! Thanks so much for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rn4nz July 28, 2010

This was terrific! Made a big hit at an office event! Served in one of those $9.99 glass bowls with a stem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PollyJo August 11, 2009

Amazing. I just made this for my sister-in-law's baby shower, and everyone loved it, even the guys! And it looks so beautiful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t_m_hammond May 25, 2009

This is one of many desserts I made today today to serve at a BBQ party, I layered all ingredients in a large trifle bowl, it is beautiful to look at and can't wait to serve it to my guests, thanks DancingCook!...Kitten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 29, 2007
7 Layer Punchbowl Dessert