47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is awesome stuff! I used black refried beans and my own taco seasonings and turned out fabulous. Definitely a keeper for us! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding May 22, 2012

Standing ovation for this recipe. Perfect texture and combination of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilaureb May 15, 2011

Good instructions. Didn't have taco seasoning so used finely minced onion along with the seasonings in Kittencal's Taco Seasoning http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Kittencals-Taco-Seasoning-Mix-76616

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Fishy Veggie June 05, 2010

Found this in the Cinqo de Mayo collection and it looked amazing. Since Brits don't celebrate Cinqo de Mayo, I made this the next time, when it was our General Election (and hence necessary to stay up til the early hours of the morning!) I was a little freeform with it (esp the taco seasoning - I scribbled the recipe on a scrap of paper and missed that it was only an ounce in the pack - my pack was bigger!) and I also added a layer of salsa in. I served it hot around midnight, and by 1 it was gone. An absolute masssive five stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo L May 07, 2010

Made this dip for Cinco de Mayo earlier today and it was a big hit! I did modify it to my specifications and this is a superb foundation for an ideal layer dip recipe. What I did was I put a can of refried beans and one can of black beans. I followed the formula on the salsa, cayenne pepper and sour cream. Added a 1/2 cup of water to the beans to thin them out a bit because canned beans are pretty thick. Then I put on the guacamole (I made myself... I like mine with emphasis on lime and cilantro), the sour cream and the rest of the goodies. For mine I put some white onions and jalapenos which was not listed on this recipe. This recipe was a big hit and had people inquire about the recipe itself. I directed them to this one and told them this is an awesome foundation to make their own 7 payer dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djariella May 06, 2010

Everyone really enjoyed this dip. I used Rotel canned tomatoes with lime juice in place of the chopped romas. My son-in-law thought I made the refried beans because the additions made the beans "way better than just canned stuff." Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom April 04, 2010

I made this dip for the Super Bowl and everyone raved about it! I've tried a few other 7-layer dips over the years and this tops all the others. We served it with nacho chips and it was gone quickly. The only thing I did differently was to make the guacamole from scratch using a recipe from the Joy of Cooking. We loved this dip so much that I made another batch yesterday -- I filled soft flour tortillas with some chopped lettuce and this dip. It made wonderfully delicious burritos. Thanks for posting this delicious and versatile recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester February 11, 2010

I have been making this 7 layer dip for years and still is a great back-pocket party pleaser. The only thing I have been doing differently is just rinsing black beans from the can and layering that on the bottom instead of the refried beans. Adds a little different texture/look to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat and be Merry January 08, 2010

Totally delish! Made this for Thanksgiving this year and have been requested to make for Christmas dinner appetizer as well. Everyone loved it, including me and I'm not a big guacamole fan...all of the other ingredients w/ it keep the guacamole from being too overpowering...YUM! Thanks for sharing Julesong. : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txn_mommy December 24, 2009

This was a hit! Took it to a party and it was gone in ten minutes. Next time I'll make more! I subbed taco sauce for the salsa, but otherwise made it as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate J December 12, 2009
7-Layer Fiesta Party Dip