Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / 7-Layer Fiesta Party Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    7-Layer Fiesta Party Dip

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2002

      This has been made for years in both my husband's family and now mine. I make it for all gatherings - friends and family. Always a winner and the dish always gets emptied! Try using zesty no-fat refried beans and red-cal sour cream and low fat cheeses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This dip has /always/ bee a favorite of mine - and though it may be easier to just get it from the neighborhood deli, nothing beats making it from 'scratch' if you ask me!! I've taken it several times to gatherings, always thinking I've made too much, and haven't ever brought any back with me. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I like the way the beans had extra flavor, with the salsa, taco mix and a little sour cream, instead of "just beans". However, when I make this, (and I make it often), I always put the guacamole under the sour cream. Guacamole turns brown so easily, and if it is going to wait to be served for any amount of time, it could turn before served if exposed. My preference, anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      I originally rated this recipe as being too salty, but after waiting until the next day I found that the flavors had melded and it was delicious. I would definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      I made this for my brother's birthday party and it was a big hit. This was my first time ever making 7-layer dip. I've always wanted to make it because I am not a fan of sour cream and the dip ALWAYS contains a layer of sour cream. So what I did was make the recipe exactly as written (including adding the sour cream to the beans)... and then when I assembled the layers I left just one narrow edge of the pan with no sour cream layer. Just for me. ;D It was DELICIOUS and I will totally be making this again and again. I might even make it for dinner sometime, it's that good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I made this a few weekends ago and ate it with friends who ranted and raved about how great it was. :) I omitted the guacamole b/c DH doesn't like it, and we heated the dip in the microwave before serving (I made it in a large tupperware). Stored in the fridge overnight and ate the second half the next day - tasted even better to me once the flavors melded a little. Thanks for sharing this yummy, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

      fresh taste, easy to assemble, makes a nice presentation

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Wonderful! The only diffrence I did was add some alfalfa sprouts on top. Very easy to prepare. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      Great way to add flavor the beans! This is one of my go-to dips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      Wonderful taco dip. I made this for our football party and we loved it. I really liked the idea of mixing the seasoning with the sour cream. So good. We will make it again, as we liked it that night and the next day with the tortillas. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      This is awesome stuff! I used black refried beans and my own taco seasonings and turned out fabulous. Definitely a keeper for us! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Standing ovation for this recipe. Perfect texture and combination of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Good instructions. Didn't have taco seasoning so used finely minced onion along with the seasonings in Kittencal's Taco Seasoning http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Kittencals-Taco-Seasoning-Mix-76616

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Found this in the Cinqo de Mayo collection and it looked amazing. Since Brits don't celebrate Cinqo de Mayo, I made this the next time, when it was our General Election (and hence necessary to stay up til the early hours of the morning!) I was a little freeform with it (esp the taco seasoning - I scribbled the recipe on a scrap of paper and missed that it was only an ounce in the pack - my pack was bigger!) and I also added a layer of salsa in. I served it hot around midnight, and by 1 it was gone. An absolute masssive five stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Made this dip for Cinco de Mayo earlier today and it was a big hit! I did modify it to my specifications and this is a superb foundation for an ideal layer dip recipe. What I did was I put a can of refried beans and one can of black beans. I followed the formula on the salsa, cayenne pepper and sour cream. Added a 1/2 cup of water to the beans to thin them out a bit because canned beans are pretty thick. Then I put on the guacamole (I made myself... I like mine with emphasis on lime and cilantro), the sour cream and the rest of the goodies. For mine I put some white onions and jalapenos which was not listed on this recipe. This recipe was a big hit and had people inquire about the recipe itself. I directed them to this one and told them this is an awesome foundation to make their own 7 payer dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Everyone really enjoyed this dip. I used Rotel canned tomatoes with lime juice in place of the chopped romas. My son-in-law thought I made the refried beans because the additions made the beans "way better than just canned stuff." Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      I made this dip for the Super Bowl and everyone raved about it! I've tried a few other 7-layer dips over the years and this tops all the others. We served it with nacho chips and it was gone quickly. The only thing I did differently was to make the guacamole from scratch using a recipe from the Joy of Cooking. We loved this dip so much that I made another batch yesterday -- I filled soft flour tortillas with some chopped lettuce and this dip. It made wonderfully delicious burritos. Thanks for posting this delicious and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I have been making this 7 layer dip for years and still is a great back-pocket party pleaser. The only thing I have been doing differently is just rinsing black beans from the can and layering that on the bottom instead of the refried beans. Adds a little different texture/look to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Totally delish! Made this for Thanksgiving this year and have been requested to make for Christmas dinner appetizer as well. Everyone loved it, including me and I'm not a big guacamole fan...all of the other ingredients w/ it keep the guacamole from being too overpowering...YUM! Thanks for sharing Julesong. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This was a hit! Took it to a party and it was gone in ten minutes. Next time I'll make more! I subbed taco sauce for the salsa, but otherwise made it as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 7-Layer Fiesta Party Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.1
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    61%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 57.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1116.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    guacamole

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites