12 Reviews

I really enjoyed this coleslaw, and it is perfect for low-carb diets. I only used 5 or 6 packets of Splenda, and found it to be just the right amount of sweetness (for my taste). Next time, I might add a little less of the celery seed, as I thought it was a wee bit overpowering. But this is a very good, delightfully different coleslaw recipe. Thank you! ~Manda UPDATE: I'm not sure if I'm allowed to do this or not, but I'm gonna do it anyway;) I rated this recipe with 4 stars on the first day I made it. However, 2 days after making it I ate some and it definitely deserves a 5 star, and mum agrees!! Just proves that some things do get better with time!! I will definitely be making this again, and also sharing it with my aunt who is on a low-carb diet. I'm sure she will love it. Thank you, Bergy!! ~Manda

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda June 30, 2002

The coleslaw was good - but I will use sugar next time instead of artificial sweetner. I did not care for the aftertaste of the sweetner, and I used half of the sweetner called for.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Member #44443 July 01, 2002

This was a nice change from the usual mayo type coleslaw. There is no way it will last 7 days though.We are all taking it to work for lunch tomorrow. I followed the suggestion of a previous reviewer and just added 6 pkg of splenda and it turned out great.Thanks for posting this great recipe Bergy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comet March 09, 2004

I made this for DH, who is a big fan of slaw. His only complaint was that it was a little dry. So I made a second batch of the dressing and added it. Problem solved. He really enjoys it now. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 10, 2015

i love coleslaw, but hate mayonnaise recipes! i searched for a good dressing that was vinaigrette style, and man did this hit the spot! it was so easy to make and absolutely delicious! i left out the horseradish cream simply because we didn't have any and it still turned out absolutely delicious! oh, i also forgot to mention that i only added two packets of splenda out of personal preference, and it was really sweet with only that amount!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaElizabeth December 15, 2008

Bergy another winner! I love your recipes!! DS made this last night and we were all pleased with the results!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill February 11, 2008

Most vinegar slaw based recipes are swimming in oil and sugar. I really appreciated this recipe's healthy preparation. I did cut back on the sweetener quite a bit (1 tsp) as we prefer more tart than sweet. At first it seems that there is not enough dressing for all that cabbage, but it is just the perfect amount and only gets better with age. Thank you Bergy for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ October 10, 2007

This is a really good, easy recipe for vinegar based coleslaw. It's very good on it's own, and it's also great on sandwiches. I've used it in place of sauerkraut on Reubens, and also on pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe, Bergy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
394mm493 January 31, 2007

This was very good. I don't like to use artificial sweeteners so I added a little bit of honey (less than a tsp.) and it was plenty sweet for my tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PistonsFan January 25, 2007

I really liked this. It was so easy and I never liked the mayo variety of slaw much anyway. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll use often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie January 23, 2007
7 Day Coleslaw (Lite eating)