Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 6 Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    6 Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2009

      You know, there really is a sixth can! I have been making this soup for years from a recipe that is identical to this one--except for the addition of a can of refried beans stirred in. It adds flavor and consistency to the soup. So there's your sixth can. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      This is a regular dish in our house, at least once a month I'd say, though I do make a few modifications. I always double the recipe, (leftovers are great!) and I dice up 2-3 chicken breasts, and start by cooking a large onion, chicken and a tablespoon or two of minced garlic together. Then I put in 2 cans of chicken broth and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup. The corn, black beans, and diced tomatoes with green chilis. I season with salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder.<br/><br/>I like to serve it with lots of topping choices, so I typically have tortilla chips, some lime wedges, cheddar cheese, sour cream, avocado chunks, and sometimes some cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      Great, but I used home made salsa in place of Rotellos, and the soup comes out excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Definitely 5 stars for ease of making. As for taste WOW! So good. I did make some slight changes. I wanted to use up the last of a rotisserie chicken so I subbed that for the can of chicken. I also didn't have a small can of Rotel so I used a can of fire roasted garlic tomatoes. Last I took many reviewers recommendation and threw in a can of refried beans. YUM-O! After simmering for an hour to incorporate all the flavors it was ready. So simple and tasty. I topped with some crushed tortilla chips and shredded taco mix cheese (cheddar with Monterrey jack). Didn't need to add ANY extra flavors. Mmmm. And it makes a nice size pot too.<br/>Now lets do a calculation of cost. I'll use regular, non-sale prices. You can get many of these items at the 99 cents store.<br/>Can of corn - 99 cents (I bought mine on sale for 49cents)<br/>Can of Chicken Broth - 99 cents (I bought mine on sale for 69cents)<br/>Can of Chicken - $2.50 (the most expensive item on the recipe, can substitute a pound of bone in chicken breast for 98cents when on sale)<br/>Can of Black Beans - 99 cents (mine was 75 cents)<br/>Can of Rotel - $2.25 (I substituted a 79 cent can of fire roasted tomatoes and flavor was great, no spice though so keep in mind.)<br/>OPTIONAL Can of Refried Beans - 99 cents<br/>Total ~$7.75 (or $8.75 with refried beans) for a nice size pot of soup. Add in a bag of tortilla chips (99 cent store) and some cheese (small block of cheese $1.50) and you can feed your family for under $10 a nice filling and dare I say healthy meal. And people say fast food is so much cheaper. Yeah right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      This was SOOO easy to throw together, and people think you worked really hard! LOVED IT!! (and so did DD)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Recipes like this make me look like a 5 star chef! My husband LOVES this recipe, which is great when I'm in a pinch to get dinner ready. It's tasty and takes no time at all. We used 1 fresh, medium off-the-vine tomato instead of the can and that made the soup taste really fresh. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Hubby & I thought this was pretty good. I made it as is, tasted it, and then added seasonings (salt, pepper, cumin, garlic powder). I would like to try it again adding the can of refried beans as other reviewers have done. This was quick & easy, and my 1 year old ate it with no complaints, so we were all happy. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Let me start by saying that I only used this as a starting point. I fully intended to make this as directed, but ended up doing my own thing, as I always do. :-) In addition to the listed ingredients, I added a can of re-fried beans as another reviewer suggested. I also increased the stock and added an additional can of diced tomatoes. Instead of the canned chicken, i cooked chicken breast in the tomatoes and then shredded them. A little cumin, jalapenos, and cayenne completed this. Very good and as you can see, very flexible. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Very yummy and easy recipe! I used leftover chicken and added a can of diced chilis and it was wonderful. Topped with shredded chedder and a served with tortilla chips, it made a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Good stuff. Hubby and I had seconds and I'll eat the rest for lunch tomorrow. I did use the can of refried beans as the 6th can as Heaven's Kitchen suggested and used diced leftover chicken instead of canned. Served over broken tortilla chips and mexican blend cheese and topped with sour cream. So simple and super fast - will definitely make many times again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I love this soup! It is so tasty and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      The photo looked so great that I just had to have this soup tonight! However, I had no beans and didn't have the correct tomatoes (so no jalapeno flavor). I decided to make it anyway. I used leftover rotisserie chicken instead of canned, and chopped up some leftover roasted potatoes to add at the end. I added some rosemary, garlic, and chili sauce to make up for the lack of spice. I cooked egg noodles separately, and put it into the soup at the end to simmer. WOW, it was so yummy! I can't wait to try it the way it was listed here. Definitely will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Fabulous base for my spin-off of this soup! I turned 6 cans into 7! I prefer a milder spice flavor and even the mild Rotel tomatoes were a bit too much heat for me. I used 3 cans of chicken broth, 1 can black beans (drained), 1 each can corn and yellow hominy (undrained) and about 1 TBS oregano. Instead of the canned chicken, I threw 2 frozen chicken breasts into the tomatoes and chicken broth and cooked them through and shredded them before adding the other ingredients. Top with fresh cilantro and cheese and this is a fabulous and easy soup! This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      The original recipe on Allrecipes.com calls for 2 cans of chicken broth (so this is only 5 can chicken tortilla soup). I always rinse my black beans so the color doesn't muddy the broth (and it lowers the sodium. This is one of my favorite recipes. I always top mine with a dollop of sour cream and cheese... cheddar or Mexican 4 cheese blend. Occasionally, I'll drain the broth and use what's last as toppings for my nachos. I bet it would also make an amazing quesadilla filling. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Made this tonite for dinner & this was good & very easy. I had to use 10 ounces of Salsa instead of the rotel tomatoes, because that it what I had on hand. I added a palmful of chopped cilantro, the juice of 2 limes, zest of 1/2 lime, 3 cloves of garllic & added cheese on top. Very tasty. thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Very good, got rave reviews, I added a bit of cornstarch to make it creamier

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Fabulous! I was worried about it being bland since nothing else is added, but the rotel tomatoes (with chili peppers) gave it a kick. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Wow! This was great! I drained and rinsed the beans and corn, and in place of the canned broth, I used 2 cups of water and one cube of tomato/chicken bullion. I also added garlic powder and cumin. I will make this again, that's for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      I made this recipe while we were on vacation at a townhouse on the beach. I didn't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen and this was so nice and easy! I added crushed tortilla chips & shredded cheese. I'm keeping this recipe for an easy supper when I don't feel like cooking. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This was terrific and couldn't get any easier. It's one of those things that you can add to.. I used chicken breasts, sauted then cut into bite sized pieces. Had some frozen hash browns and tossed those in too. Added cumin, chili powder and hot sauce. If you want a thicker soup just use some corn starch. Served with tortilla strips, sour cream and shreded cheddar. Nice meal! No leftovers and no complaints.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 6 Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 468.4
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    27%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 53.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1507.8 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 31.3 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites