Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 55 House Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    55 House Salad

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2014

      Outstanding! This is now my favorite salad recipe!! The only changes I made to the recipe: exchange the blue cheese for feta, add chunked cucumbers and half the dressing (still have some left over..yum!). This salad got rave reviews from my dinner guests. It's simple and absolutely delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2014

      A simple and delicious salad. The salad was reduced to 1 serving provided a generous amount of dressing. The sugar in the dressing was reduced by half and was perfect for my taste. Mixed spring mix was used for the greens and the cheese was crumbled Queso Fresca making this delicious salad gluten free. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      this was nice salad cut down for one used bacos loved the blue cheese made for italian leg of the quest cakepops on parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Made this for a family gathering and got rave reviews! I increased the salad ingredients a bit to serve 12, and didn't need quite half the dressing. I used feta instead of blue cheese, and smoked sundried tomatoes instead of bacon, also added cucumbers. Delicious and simple!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      I love this dressing. Have made it multiple times since finding this recipe. Amazing that a little garlic can make such a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      We used to get this salad all the time, I make it with Marzetti's Poppy Seed Dressing, romaine lettuce and croutons, everyone loves it, have made it for years and they all want the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Loved this salad. I made this to go with a lasagna we were having for dinner and it was a hit. I subbed in feta for the blue cheese (what I had) but it tasted great! I really like the dressing for this. Yummy. I halved the recipe for 4 of us and I have some leftover dressing thats calling my name for lunch. Thank you for sharing this delicous salad recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Awesome salad! I halved the dressing, which still ended up being too much for a salad for 5 people. Next time I will 1/4 it. Will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Great salad. I did add some tomatoes, but other than that I made it as is. You can half the amount of dressing and still have plenty! This is quite excellent and I am so glad I finally made it. Made for BEVY TAG Sept 2008 Crowd Pleasers. UPDATE: I just wanted to go on record to say that this is one of our favorite salads. I make it frequently - love the dressing and love the combo of flavors. Salem Blue is our favorite blue cheese by far. I think heart of palm would be delightful in here as well. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Other than cutting down the first four ingredients in half, this was a very nice salad to a light dinner. You know the kids love it when they are quiet during dinner and eating away. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This was a great salad and one which I for sure will make again. I will probably reduce the amount of sugar next time, as we found it a bit on the sweet side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      Wonderful salad with ingredients i usually have. Will make this often. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Loved it! I used feta cheese, two 9-ounce bags Dole "Classic Romaine" prewashed lettuce which includes a little carrot and red cabbage, along with only a third the amount of dressing. We were thinking some sunflower seeds would also be good in this salad. Can't wait to enjoy it again and again this summer. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

    • on March 27, 2010

      I LOVE THIS SALAD! You read it and think how could those simple ingredients be any big deal. They meld together perfectly and you get bursts of flavor from the bacon, the blue cheese, the dressing, the onion etc. This isn't one that will be the same with lots of substitutions though so try it on people who like these ingredients. Our family scraped the bowl clean. Half the dressing as it does make a ton. I am so glad you posted this-thanks! Made for "Went to the Market Tag, March 2010" Enjoy ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I have had this recipe saved for quite sometime. After trying it, I can't believe it took so long. Love bacon and blue cheese, so I knew I would like this salad. I cut back a touch with the sugar (don't usually like my dressing sweet), and used 3 tsps of garlic powder. Loved the salad and will be making it again and again, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I noticed that my biggest complainer had her mouth the fullest. Makes sense? Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was a great salad, made it for Xmas dinner. The dressing seems to make a huge amount. We did two heads of red leaf + a container of mixed greens, seven pieces bacon and maybe 5 ou of blue cheese - people loved the salad, but I think it is best to be moderate w/ the cheese and people can always add more. We still had alot of dressing left over, not that you wouldn't use it again. Thanks for the keeper, will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Great salad and a very simple, flavorful dressing! Be careful not to use too much garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      So simple and light! A great winter salad since it doesn't rely on a lot of different veggies. I used precooked/crumbled bacon and spring greens instead of iceberg lettuce. Loved the dressing, it went very well with the bacon and blue cheese. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 55 House Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.3
     
    Calories from Fat 404
    80%
    Total Fat 44.8 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 18.7 mg
    6%
    Sodium 338.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites