42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely fantastic! I'd accidentally picked up 2 1/2 lb eye of round at the store last week. I'd meant to get a chuck roast to grind for burgers. Since it's such a lean piece of meat, I knew burgers wouldn't work and was happy to find this recipe. Honestly, I didn't have great expectations because it's such an inexpensive cut of meat and, well, the cooking method seemed odd. But this was awesome, and so very simple! I was kind of worried about moistness, so I brined the beef for a couple of hours. Then, instead of Tony Cachere's, I rubbed garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, chili powder, salt and pepper into the meat. Followed the cooking directions, cutting it down to 16 minutes at 475F due to the size of my roast, and kept my fingers crossed. The result was a tender, perfectly cooked, very flavorful piece of meat which, when thinly sliced, was one of the best roasts I've ever made. Thank you so much for sharing, Susie!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate August 21, 2009

1st time I used this high heat cooking method. It was hard not to check roast but it turned out great. I seared it in hot olive oil first and sprinkled with montreal steak seasoning and garlic salt. I kept the oven at 500* for my 1 1/2 pound roast for 10 minutes. Turned oven off for 1 1/2 hr - hub loved it - was pink in the middle and juicy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy Cuisine March 30, 2009

Very good. I have never done a eye of round before because I've always heard it is a tough cut of meat. A local store had eye roasts for a low price so I bought one and found this recipe. I rolled my roast around in some Tony C's, kosher salt, and black pepper. Just like the pictures my roast came out fantastic, nice and pink warm and juicy. I have always been a chuck roast guy but this was really good kinda like a cheep ever so slightly chewy prime rib thing going on. Left overs made great french dips a couple of days later. Well done Susie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tread December 21, 2013

This roast will make you a Sunday dinner hero any day of the week! It's fool-proof and delish! I season it with Private Selection Cracked Peppercorn Seasoning Rub and serve it with horseradish sour cream sauce on the side. Makes awesome leftovers for sandwiches, wraps, tacos, beef fried rice or strips of beef for stir-fry. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaggyVolk November 08, 2013

By George this worked! I could not believe that a roast sitting in a hot oven would cook but it did and turned out perfectly moist, tender and pink. I have never been able to make a good medium rare one before. Mine usually were dry and overcooked. No more dry eye roasts for me! I just bought 2 large eye round roasts that I had the butcher cut into 6 small roasts. I am going to do another to make some juicy French dip sandwiches. I seasoned mine with Adobe and Emeril Essence. It was delicious and so very very easy. Thank you Susie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 September 02, 2013

My first review had to be for this super-easy roast! I haven't made an eye-of-round for ages - my husband and sons hate how dry and chewy they usually are. The roast was just over 2 pounds - followed directions exactly and it was juicy and perfect; tasted like a more expensive cut of beef! There were no leftovers (!), sadly - next time will go with a 3 pounder for next-day sandwiches. Horseradish sauce made it extra yummy & this one has been added to my cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaycee #13 May 14, 2013

Made this in my Christmas Eve test kitchen on a 2.5 pound roast with about 10 garlic cloves placed in slices made in top, then rubbed with 3 T fresh rosemary and 1 T cracked pepper and 3 T Famous Dave's Steak Seasoning .... served with horseradish sauce ... this passed the test and is highly likely to be on my Christmas Eve menu .... delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 11, 2012

I first found this recipe on AllRecipes.com; it is the best and easiest way to roast a tough piece of meat making it so tender and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrewerFoody November 09, 2012

great recipe! Followed the directions exactly, except for the seasoning. I used a pepper seasoning I have, mixed with a bit of cayenne for some heat. Turned out beautiful. I shaved the meat for roast beef sandwiches for the week. Much tastier and healthier and cheaper than buying cold cuts. Hubby is very happy right now! Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will be making it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GertieGirl June 24, 2012

"PERFECT" I had a 3 pound eye of round and made as written and I seasoned it all over with "Cavender's all Purpose Greek Seasoning (salt free) and baked for 30 minutes at the 475?F mark before turning the oven off and left it in the close oven for the recommended 2 1/2 hours and as I said it came out "perfect". Juicy, tender and full of great flavor. Thanks for posting this keeper! Made for the "Down on the Farm" Photo Tag 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 May 21, 2012
500°f Eye-Of-Round Roast