Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 500°f Eye-Of-Round Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    500°f Eye-Of-Round Roast

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2009

      The downside: I actually picked this recipe because I was hoping to recreate a dish that a friend's dad made years back (Mom was given the recipe, lost it, and now he's passed away and the kids don't remember the recipe), but this isn't it. The upside: I love deli roast beef, and now I can make my own at home! I used Lawry's Seasoned Salt instead of the Tony Chachere's Seasoning, but I followed the cooking instructions as written for a 2.3lb roast. The finished roast was nice, juicy and pink inside, perfect to slice thinly for sandwiches later. DH won't touch it because he's Mr. "Very well done, please", but that's his loss. I, on the other hand, like my beef about 5 minutes from mooing, so this is perfection to me (and yes, we cringe at each other's plates when we go to a steakhouse for dinner lol). I'll definitely be making this again, because I think Mom and Dad would love this, too. Thanks for posting! Made for PAC Spring 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Thank you for this great recipe.The roast was just the way we like it moist,tender and medium rare.I prepared it with McCormick's Grill Mates Montreal Steak seasoning.I turned the oven back on at the end for 10min.@350 just to warm slightly.,this is a keeper .Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      I always have avoided buying eye of the round because it can be so dry. This is an excellent cooking method: pink for me and darker for husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Mmmmmm!!! Roast came out crusty and savory on the outside, butter-tender on the inside. I seasoned with salt and pepper, then brushed w/oil, smart balance, crushed garlic, rosemary and thyme. I also tied mine to shape it before roasting - I assume most people do(?) Tasted like a much more expensive cut. Even the fully cooked end pieces were tender and flavorful. Leftovers are pink enough to reheat without losing texture. Winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Was hesitant like others about just leaving it in the oven without checking on it. Turned out great. I had just over 2lbs. I quickly pan seared it, left oven at 500 for 14 min, and in off oven for 1 1/2 hrs. More tender than my usual roasts and between rare and medium rare. Looking forward to the sandwiches to be made with the leftovers. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Perfectly cooked eye of round! Not too pink and not overdone either!! (Mine was a 2lb roast)
      Thanks Susie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      My go-to eye of round recipe! I salt/pepper/olive oil the beef sometimes, instead of using Tony C's. Sliced thin, the leftovers make great sandwiches (I do paninis with provolone cheese and rosemary.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      This is THE BEST!! I usually marinate it overnight in a mix of red wine, teriyaki, and worcestershire sauce. The roast is always tender, juicy and pink on the inside. Great recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This was perfect, except... The roast was only lukewarm after 2 1/2 hrs with the oven off. It was PERFECTLY done and DELICIOUS, but not hot enough....hmmmmm... how to solve this one????

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Absolutely fantastic! I'd accidentally picked up 2 1/2 lb eye of round at the store last week. I'd meant to get a chuck roast to grind for burgers. Since it's such a lean piece of meat, I knew burgers wouldn't work and was happy to find this recipe. Honestly, I didn't have great expectations because it's such an inexpensive cut of meat and, well, the cooking method seemed odd. But this was awesome, and so very simple! I was kind of worried about moistness, so I brined the beef for a couple of hours. Then, instead of Tony Cachere's, I rubbed garlic powder, onion powder, thyme, chili powder, salt and pepper into the meat. Followed the cooking directions, cutting it down to 16 minutes at 475F due to the size of my roast, and kept my fingers crossed. The result was a tender, perfectly cooked, very flavorful piece of meat which, when thinly sliced, was one of the best roasts I've ever made. Thank you so much for sharing, Susie!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      1st time I used this high heat cooking method. It was hard not to check roast but it turned out great. I seared it in hot olive oil first and sprinkled with montreal steak seasoning and garlic salt. I kept the oven at 500* for my 1 1/2 pound roast for 10 minutes. Turned oven off for 1 1/2 hr - hub loved it - was pink in the middle and juicy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This was absolutely awesome! Wasn't sure how it would work and you do really have to trust the recipe. It cooked perfectly. The only thing I did was after the 2-1/2 hours, was reheat it slightly for about 4 minutes at 350*. This was perhaps the best roast we've ever had and delightfully surprised by how it's cooked. Highly recommend and yes, it does make super delish thin slices for Roast Beef Sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Very good. I have never done a eye of round before because I've always heard it is a tough cut of meat. A local store had eye roasts for a low price so I bought one and found this recipe. I rolled my roast around in some Tony C's, kosher salt, and black pepper. Just like the pictures my roast came out fantastic, nice and pink warm and juicy. I have always been a chuck roast guy but this was really good kinda like a cheep ever so slightly chewy prime rib thing going on. Left overs made great french dips a couple of days later. Well done Susie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      This roast will make you a Sunday dinner hero any day of the week! It's fool-proof and delish! I season it with Private Selection Cracked Peppercorn Seasoning Rub and serve it with horseradish sour cream sauce on the side. Makes awesome leftovers for sandwiches, wraps, tacos, beef fried rice or strips of beef for stir-fry. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      By George this worked! I could not believe that a roast sitting in a hot oven would cook but it did and turned out perfectly moist, tender and pink. I have never been able to make a good medium rare one before. Mine usually were dry and overcooked. No more dry eye roasts for me! I just bought 2 large eye round roasts that I had the butcher cut into 6 small roasts. I am going to do another to make some juicy French dip sandwiches. I seasoned mine with Adobe and Emeril Essence. It was delicious and so very very easy. Thank you Susie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      My first review had to be for this super-easy roast! I haven't made an eye-of-round for ages - my husband and sons hate how dry and chewy they usually are. The roast was just over 2 pounds - followed directions exactly and it was juicy and perfect; tasted like a more expensive cut of beef! There were no leftovers (!), sadly - next time will go with a 3 pounder for next-day sandwiches. Horseradish sauce made it extra yummy & this one has been added to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Made this in my Christmas Eve test kitchen on a 2.5 pound roast with about 10 garlic cloves placed in slices made in top, then rubbed with 3 T fresh rosemary and 1 T cracked pepper and 3 T Famous Dave's Steak Seasoning .... served with horseradish sauce ... this passed the test and is highly likely to be on my Christmas Eve menu .... delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I first found this recipe on AllRecipes.com; it is the best and easiest way to roast a tough piece of meat making it so tender and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      great recipe! Followed the directions exactly, except for the seasoning. I used a pepper seasoning I have, mixed with a bit of cayenne for some heat. Turned out beautiful. I shaved the meat for roast beef sandwiches for the week. Much tastier and healthier and cheaper than buying cold cuts. Hubby is very happy right now! Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will be making it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      "PERFECT" I had a 3 pound eye of round and made as written and I seasoned it all over with "Cavender's all Purpose Greek Seasoning (salt free) and baked for 30 minutes at the 475?F mark before turning the oven off and left it in the close oven for the recommended 2 1/2 hours and as I said it came out "perfect". Juicy, tender and full of great flavor. Thanks for posting this keeper! Made for the "Down on the Farm" Photo Tag 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 500°f Eye-Of-Round Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.4
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    44%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 154.2 mg
    51%
    Sodium 131.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 48.7 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites