Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5-Spice Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5-Spice Tea

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2011

      I'm not usually one for milk in my tea but every once in awhile I find a spiced milk tea that is a real treat. This is one of those occasions. Love the 5 spice! and a lovely way to use green tea. I used a light tsp of Splenda and enjoyed a grand afternoon cuppa. Thanks Mikekey for another real winner. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Great tasting tea you have here! Our standard milk has 2% fat, & that's what I used here! Also sweetened it with a little wildflower honey which we like! Very, very satisfying! [Made & reviewed in Everyday Is a Holiday tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      What a great pot of tea this recipe makes. I loved all the flavors in this delicious cuppa, I used organic green tea, homemade chinese 5-spice powder and wildflower honey along with 1% milk. Quick and easy to make with excellent results, I can't wait to try this iced. Thank you so much for sharing with us Mikekey, into my keeperbox this goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Just what I needed to soothe a sore throat/cough today, but is a keeper for any occasion! I used black tea and no sweetener (I typically don't sweeten my teas anyway, so felt with all this spice it didn't need it). This reminds me of one of my favorite chais that comes premixed and is expensive. Thanks for an alternative that I can make more cheaply and with what I have on hand! Made for PAC Spring 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This is nice. I used organic green tea & homemade almond milk to be dairy and soy free. It did separate but that did not take away from the taste and it was just for me anyway. I used a homemade Chinese 5 spice powder and honey to sweeten. I would make this again to use the spice mix up!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This is very good tea. Now I know what to do with all that 5-spice powder in the cupboard! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Made this tea this afternoon after work. Really hit the spot. Thank you Mikekey. Made for Everyday's a holiday tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Stepping out of character, I made this exactly as directed. YUMMY!! The 5 spice gives it the complex flavors of chai without opening a dozen bottles of spices. I'd make more but I've made it several times now & am out of 5 spice! Thanks for posting! made forrrrrrrrr...Make My Recipe Tag '10. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      I loved this delicious spiced tea! I cut the recipe in half for 1 serving, and I changed up the preparation a little bit. I put the water, milk ( I used whole milk), and tea bag in a 2-cup glass measuring cup, and microwaved it until it was boiling. I removed it from the microwave and let it steep for a couple of minutes. I mixed in the Chinese 5-spice and put it back into the microwave for about 30 seconds. After removing from the microwave I took out the tea bag, strained off the spices and sweetened it with a little guava nectar...yummy!! Thank you for sharing this quick and easy recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!
      **Made for 2012 Football Pool Wildcard Week**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I had never simmered tea on the stove before, and thought it might be fun to try since so many old recipes call for this. I also happened to have a lot of five spice powder sitting around. So, this seemed like the perfect recipe.

      At first, I did not like it, even though I love proper chai (not the kind that comes out of a carton). But then I added more sweetener (I used agave) and some almond extract, and--voila!--a delicious beverage. You could also, I imagine, add vanilla extract to great success.

      One more hint: make sure to whisk it right before you serve; otherwise you will have grainy tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Wonderful! I used black tea and Sweet Cream coffee creamer. I love the flavor from the 5-spice powder in this. I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      I really wanted to love this tea. I used green tea, 2% milk and sweetened it with a dab of honey. I guess I just didn't care for the Chines 5 Spice flavor. I've never had chai tea, so maybe it's just that flavor I don't like. I did drink it and appreciated knowing the best way to add milk to hot tea since I normally drink it without milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      A delightful concoction and it's good to know that green tea's loaded with antioxidants to fight aging. I'm working on looking 30. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      So easy! and good too! I used decaf green tea bags and almond milk. Thanks Mikekey! Made for Kittencal's Recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5-Spice Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.5
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    51%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 51.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green tea leaves

    Chinese five spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes