Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5-Minute Wacky Vegan Microwave Chocolate Cake for One Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5-Minute Wacky Vegan Microwave Chocolate Cake for One

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2012

      I'll admit that I add a full tablespoon of the cocoa and a full teaspoon of vanilla, but oh my, is this good. Moist, surprisingly rich for the lack of actual chocolate and so easy. My microwave is high powered and doesn't change settings, so for me it only takes 1 minute to cook too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      Light, fluffy, full of flavor and it's not rubbery! SO GOOD,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      This is a great mug cake recipe: It bakes up nice and fluffy with a fudgey part, too. I like the vinegar method, I think it really helps the cake to bake up this nicely. I used half whole spelt flour in this and reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup, but next time I might add in 1-2 tbs of bittersweet choc chips to compensate for that. I somehow like that taste better than just cocoa and sugar in a chocolate cake.
      I only needed 1/2 ts of oil for my cake.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper, WICC! Ill surely make it often again (probably too often ;) ).
      Made and reviewed for our VIP during Veggie Swap #47 June 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      I thought this was quite tasty and the good news is it didn't make a mess of my microwave as some others I have made did. I think the key to this, is to make the cake in a microwave safe mug. Over the years, I have found that not all mugs are suitable as they are either two shallow or don't heat up evenly. Some if you take them out with your bare hand you will receive a burn, and I think that is why some of the reviewers produced rubbery areas in their cake around the edges. Bravo! Thanks for posting! Made for Veg 'n Swap tag for the VIP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Wow!! I've tried a few other microwave cake recipes and they were all rubbery and tasted like flour. This one is awesome! Like dreamling_13 I used a full tablespoon of cocoa. So good. Cant wait to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I made this for a lunch dessert today and it has a very yummy chocolate cake flavor. However I'm sure I messed up the baking because it came out rubbery around the edges. I have had this micro for about 8 yrs and this was the first time I had tried to use anything except full power. I kept hitting power then 50 then cook for 3 mins. It just kept counting down from 50 seconds. I have no idea where the manual is for the micro. If you know how to work your micro (*blush*) this would be great! I did lightly butter the cup and it fell out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      I've been craving chocolate so much lately but the last recipe I found was spongey and pretty terrible. I was about to make it again but realized I didn't have any milk, so a quick search brought me here and you totally changed the way I think about mug cakes! It wasn't spongey at all. It was moist, and full of flavor. It deflated a bit more when I popped it out onto a plate, but topped with a little glaze, it fixed my chocolate craving for sure! Thanks for the great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Made this for my kids and they love it! Sprinked the top with some powdered sugar. My oldest was asking for another :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Great: vegan and quick!
      Good: tasty and kids loved it!
      Overall, though, I'll probably stick with my regular chocolate cake http://www.food.com/recipe/dark-chocolate-cake-2496 and just scale it down, omit the egg(s), and replace the milk with water when needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Amazing! This cake was very good. The only problem I had was that the cake was stuck to the sides of my mug. Next time I'll try greasing the mug before adding the cake ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      My first try was good - waiting for the verdict from my twin toddlers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Wow, I'd heard about microwave cakes before but any that I've found online have mainly had reviews that it was rubbery, not well cooked, etc. This has positive reviews so I thought I would give it a try. And since it is vegan, no eggs, you can eat the batter, too ;). I tried it, my microwave is rated ~900w so I did 2 1/2 minutes... Probably could have gone a bit less but it turned out pretty good anyway. This is dangerous... It doesn't require any special ingredients and it only takes a few minutes; that's a recipe for lots and lots of cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This is a great quick and really moist and tasty one-person cake. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      This was great! I never thought you could make something so delicious and simple in a microwave. It rises so high and it's really fluffy. I added more cocoa and a teaspoon of peanut butter - yum! I will try it next time with cinnamon and chilli powder or white chocolate chip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      i was told take 1 angle food cake mix and 1 reg cake mix u pick flavor i used cho take 2TBS mix 1TBS water in cup bake in microwave 1 min but it comes out rubbery

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      Oh wow - this is great. Perfect for when you just gotta have some chocolate. We ate it right out of the microwave with a little butter (I know not quite vegan).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Wonderful! My daughter (6) and I made this together and loved it. thanks for the vegan treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      This recipe is good for what it is: a very quick/simple chocolate fix. The cake on its own didn't taste great to me and was pretty dense, but is definitely edible. I put a little shake of instant coffee into the water to add more flavor, and think espresso powder would work even better! Good with ice cream. I divided mine up into two smaller ramekins and baked each for 2 min. on 50% power.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5-Minute Wacky Vegan Microwave Chocolate Cake for One

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.3
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    17%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 609.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.5 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites