22 Reviews

I'll admit that I add a full tablespoon of the cocoa and a full teaspoon of vanilla, but oh my, is this good. Moist, surprisingly rich for the lack of actual chocolate and so easy. My microwave is high powered and doesn't change settings, so for me it only takes 1 minute to cook too!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreamling_13 April 14, 2012

Light, fluffy, full of flavor and it's not rubbery! SO GOOD,

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammyLovesCookies May 30, 2012

This is a great mug cake recipe: It bakes up nice and fluffy with a fudgey part, too. I like the vinegar method, I think it really helps the cake to bake up this nicely. I used half whole spelt flour in this and reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup, but next time I might add in 1-2 tbs of bittersweet choc chips to compensate for that. I somehow like that taste better than just cocoa and sugar in a chocolate cake.
I only needed 1/2 ts of oil for my cake.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper, WICC! Ill surely make it often again (probably too often ;) ).
Made and reviewed for our VIP during Veggie Swap #47 June 2012.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 29, 2012

I thought this was quite tasty and the good news is it didn't make a mess of my microwave as some others I have made did. I think the key to this, is to make the cake in a microwave safe mug. Over the years, I have found that not all mugs are suitable as they are either two shallow or don't heat up evenly. Some if you take them out with your bare hand you will receive a burn, and I think that is why some of the reviewers produced rubbery areas in their cake around the edges. Bravo! Thanks for posting! Made for Veg 'n Swap tag for the VIP.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo June 27, 2012

Wow!! I've tried a few other microwave cake recipes and they were all rubbery and tasted like flour. This one is awesome! Like dreamling_13 I used a full tablespoon of cocoa. So good. Cant wait to try it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieCook98 June 04, 2012

I made this for a lunch dessert today and it has a very yummy chocolate cake flavor. However I'm sure I messed up the baking because it came out rubbery around the edges. I have had this micro for about 8 yrs and this was the first time I had tried to use anything except full power. I kept hitting power then 50 then cook for 3 mins. It just kept counting down from 50 seconds. I have no idea where the manual is for the micro. If you know how to work your micro (*blush*) this would be great! I did lightly butter the cup and it fell out beautifully.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 29, 2011

I've been craving chocolate so much lately but the last recipe I found was spongey and pretty terrible. I was about to make it again but realized I didn't have any milk, so a quick search brought me here and you totally changed the way I think about mug cakes! It wasn't spongey at all. It was moist, and full of flavor. It deflated a bit more when I popped it out onto a plate, but topped with a little glaze, it fixed my chocolate craving for sure! Thanks for the great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcollette1991 April 19, 2013

Made this for my kids and they love it! Sprinked the top with some powdered sugar. My oldest was asking for another :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie Blue February 23, 2012

Great: vegan and quick!
Good: tasty and kids loved it!
Overall, though, I'll probably stick with my regular chocolate cake http://www.food.com/recipe/dark-chocolate-cake-2496 and just scale it down, omit the egg(s), and replace the milk with water when needed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope November 29, 2011

Amazing! This cake was very good. The only problem I had was that the cake was stuck to the sides of my mug. Next time I'll try greasing the mug before adding the cake ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario September 25, 2011
5-Minute Wacky Vegan Microwave Chocolate Cake for One