315 Reviews

Mine turned out truly awful. I made two lots of mix with whole flour, the first one with 2 tablespoons of baking powder (not heaped) and the pancakes were inedible - bitter and salty tasting, almost chemical. For the second lot I used less bicarbonate, about 1 tea spoon and even then they tasted horrible. After adding heaps more sugar to cover the tast of bicarbonate I still ended up throwing the stuff away. Also, they didn't keep their shape and ended up in a heap when I tried to turn 'em?! I'm going to stick with the banana oatmeal flour type pancakes in the future but I truly miss the non vegan pancakes I used to have and I thought this might get close :-(((

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous February 19, 2016

If I could give these pancakes a zero star, I would. They were absolutely the worst pancakes I ever made. Instead of soy milk, I used almond milk which shouldn't have made much of a difference according to other reviewers. However, these pancakes were runny and would not set up. They stuck to the pan, and it was even a non-stick electric skillet. With the second round, I even added coconut oil to the pan so they wouldn't stick. They still did! It was just a goulash mess of flour, and the baking powder was overwhelming. Who would ever call for 2 Tbs. of baking powder? At first, I thought it was because nut flours are difficult to rise. But, I just can't say enough about how awful these are. I must be missing something because it has a 4-star rating. SMH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby C. January 17, 2016

This is a terrible recipe - the baking powder was overwhelming so the pancakes were inedible. It's such a shame because I think they would be great if the recipe was adapted to only have a tiny amount of rising agent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucyloveluck January 02, 2016

The recipe as it stands does not make a pancake batter, more of a cookie batter. I used almond milk instead of soy milk and needed to add much more in order to make it the proper consistency. Also, it could've used more salt and flavor--so I added a teaspoon of almond extract as well, and dusted with a little salt on top. After these modifications, not a bad recipe--and quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pniewska January 01, 2016

too much baking powder, and I think people are mixing baking SODA for the baking POWDER. Anyway, this is the baker's measurements for baking, so stick to it. One teaspoon of baking powder for one cup of flour is the perfect amount of leavening for most recipes. For baking soda (which is used if the recipe has a considerable amount of acidic ingredients), use 1/4 teaspoon soda for each cup of flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helensmith214 December 21, 2015

Really a big big thank you :)) most amazing pancakes I've cooked and also the recipe is so easy !!!! Really nothing bad to say about it ! Just perfect recipe easy and quick !! What else ??? Thanks ??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily B. December 04, 2015

I loved it and I didn't use the baking powder cause i never have it and it turned out. I have used this recipe three times already!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yenka_ii November 18, 2015

Look good, easy to make, first taste is ok then.... The baking soda is vile ...inedible . In the written directions it says two tablespoons of salt rather than baking powder. That would be equally vile. Disappointed that these are sitting on the table for my husband and children to eat. My tongue is burning and I am going to have wicked indigestion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn J. November 15, 2015

Disgusting and salty, waste of good food

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela r. November 10, 2015

This recipe was truly delicious! I used whole wheat flour and unsweetened almond milk and the result was better than non vegan pancakes! Thank you for this recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mally87 October 25, 2015
5 Minute Vegan Pancakes