333 Reviews

This is one of the best vegan pancake recipes! So yummy and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgialaurie93 May 29, 2015

I would just like to make a very important point - Many of the negative reviews are complaining and blaming the quantity of baking powder saying there is a bitter/acidic taste, HOWEVER, many of you are also using the term Baking Soda. To clarify, Baking Soda and Baking Powder are completely different things, and he recipe clearly calls for Baking Powder. Maybe those of you who can "taste the baking powder/soda' are using Baking Soda? I made these with the full quantity of Baking Powder (not Baking Soda) and they were absolutely amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clairemel.nah May 19, 2015

These pancakes were delicious! Imade one change. Instead of using soy milk, I used vanilla flavored almond milk. I would have to disagree with the people that say that there is too much baking powder. I just simply don't have that taste. Everything to me is well balanced. These pancakes came out light and fluffy. My children say that these are the best pancakes that they have ever tasted! This will always be my go to pancake recipe. No more store bought boxed pancake mix for us!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxielocs6 May 17, 2015

Light fluffy and easy to make. Stands out from other vegan recipes by a mile!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben M. May 03, 2015

This was fantastic !!! Have no idea why I bought mix all these years :( never again will I buy boxed :) I had to edit this after Reading so many bad reviews . I think the problem is people are using soda and not powder there is a huge difference and is the reason they are so salty (easy mistake I made recently with biscuits) . I used almond milk and I threw a tbsp of egg replacer but I am sure flax or chia would have the same results and help hold them together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina E. April 12, 2015

Sorry, these were awful. To be fair, I added vanilla, used coconut milk and coconut oil so they weren't exactly like the recipe. They were very light and fluffy. They also tasted horrible. I made a double recipe to feed my family and I completely regret it. I will not be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrysla September 28, 2014

I am wondering if the reviewers that hated the recipe are using aluminum-free baking powder because mine were not bitter and I'm very sensitive to bitterness. The batter was really fluffy and made rustic looking cakes, they were yummy with or without syrup. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil which gave it a coconut-like flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little B. May 14, 2014

There was /way/ too much baking soda in here and the pancakes were bland otherwise. Although it did come together very quickly, the baking soda made for pancakes with undercooked centers and a very bitter aftertaste. On top of that, the recipe did not recommend using any oil for the pan and that is a pretty large mistake if you are not using non-stick pans! The fact that it was fast is really the only thing it has going for it; simply make some different pancakes. I suggest anything from Isa Chandra Moskowitz's cookbooks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
untemperedhope May 04, 2013

These pancakes taste awfull ! I can't believe all the rewiewers who liked them didn't feel the strong, bitter salty taste of baking powder, my tongue is still bitter an hour after eating them. My kids kept asking me because I didn't make my regular recipe...<br/>I will try again with a normal amount of baking powder (2 tsp), I don't think all these fluffy is necessary...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celiclo April 20, 2013

BAKING SODA!!! wow, we made the error of making these TWICE... The kids won't eat them, there is way too much baking soda- dare I try it again and cut it in half? They turn out great looking, they are fast, versatile and easy but the baking soda is clearly strong in the finished product. Even now I still feel a little burning in the back of my throat from the baking soda- so if you do these cut it in half. I would have given these more stars but we need to drop this recipe out of the 5 star category.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kindavegan July 05, 2012
5 Minute Vegan Pancakes