Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5-Minute Mug Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5-Minute Mug Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2010

      I've been making this over the years, and I like it, it's fun, but I have to change it to make it palatable: buttermilk instead of milk makes it much more moist. Also, saturate it with chocolate chips. That will also help the texture/taste. I've gotten funky and, during the holidays, added Andes baking mints to the mix, red or green. That actually came out really tasty. The way I do it also tends to make a huge mess (because of so many chips, I think), so use a big mug! Also, do yourself a favor and grease the mug first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This fulfills a chocolate fix. It was chocolaty but disappointing at the same time. My microwave turned out more of a steamed pudding than a cake. It was not dry, in fact, it took on an almost rubbery moist texture. Not the fudge brownie texture I was expecting. Not a keeper for my taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I have seen this recipe several times on Zaar and in emails I have received. So I kept out of curiosity. I tried it today and I had to comment. I did not like it. It was rubbery and took on that odd texture microwave foods do so many times. It was too oily also. Yes it did only take 5 minutes! (1-star) It may take 6 months to work off the fat and sugars. With so many great cake recipes on Zaar, I don't think saving the time was worth the calories consumed and the so-so flavors!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Do you really mean 3 Tablespoons of oil in one mug?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      This was pretty good actually. I have seen the recipe before in one of those forwarding e-mails but never actually tried it out. Last night my husband wanted some chocolate cake and I really didn't want to mess up the kitchen after scrubbing it down for the evening. So I thought I'd look for a quick chocolate cake recipe. This was pretty perfect in terms of how quick it whips up and the mess that it makes. But it doesn't taste like cake, it's too dense and has more of a dry brownie texture to it. Maybe the 3 minutes was too long in our microwave, I'm unsure. I did run my fork along the edges of the mug to turn it over onto a paper pate so that I could pour some hot water in the mug to be sure I wouldn't have cement in them and that helped greatly in keeping the clean up a breeze. Next time I'll add some nuts to it and maybe top it off with some whipped cream when it turns out of the mug. I would make this again in a pinch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      turned out a little moist. but when all stirred together it was kinda like a moist brownie sudae minus all the other crap! needed a cake fix, and this fit the bill nicely. thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      I need to try it with the suggestions on making it more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Big hit with the family tonight when we wanted a treat! I only used 1 TBS. oil, however...it came out quite good. Topped it with light Cool Whip. Will make it again, I'm sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Double the amount and bake in a medium, doughnut-shaped silicone mould for 3 minutes - serves the whole family - and neighbors! Baked like his it turns nice and moist every time. I usually serve it with chocolate pudding and strawberries (or oranges) in the center. It is beyond perfect! Works for any occasion and it is done at warp-speed...
      :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This is a great recipe. Yeh it comes out very moist, but it tastes good and is VERY quick. I used honey instead of sugar, probably less than was called for. I used yogurt instead of milk. Whole wheat flour and no chocolate chips. I will definitely plan on making this again. I have an 800 watt micro and ran it for 3.5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I was not impressed with this at all. It was dry, spongy, too bland and just overall a disappointment. I think I'll just stick to Warm Delights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Delish! I didn't have normal flour so I used self raising flour and cooked it for 2 min 10 sec in my 1100 Watts microwave. There was quite a lot so I halved it with my bf and ate it with vanilla ice cream and custard. YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I've seen this recipe around the net for a while now, but never tried. I was in the mood for a chocolate something with vanilla ice-cream today though. This turned out to be just what I needed! I made up the entire amount of batter (added a dash of salt too), then poured half of it into another mug and cooked that for 2 min and 20 sec. It was a little tough textured but excellent with the ice-cream. The chips melted in the bottom which made for a nice saucy top on the plate. The other half of the batter is in the fridge and I'll report back after I cook it. Thanks for the quick fix, lil' chef_3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      i used brown sugar and margarine instead of oil, minimize the cooking time to 2min 30 sec in an 8oo watt microwave and got a fluffier cake. it remained moist at the bottom. i will add choco chips next time for a burst of moist chocolatey goodness :-) i simply top it with yogurt icing and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Just tried. This cake is spongy (is that a word?). It really needs salt badly. I think that that will balance it out but haven't yet tried. Overall, very good. Just needs some tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I was really disappointed by this. The texture was like a sponge and it was pretty flavorless. I ended up dousing it in chocolate syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      My bf loved this cake and was amazed that this cooked in 3 minutes. Considering it's microwaved, it was decent, but I thought the texture was a bit off. It was easy and quick though and only made a mess of a measuring spoon and mug so I definitely can't complain there. I added about 2 tsp of peanut butter which complimented the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I had a lot of fun making this! I am fresh out of chips, walnuts and baking cocoa, but I used dark drinking chocolate and added Penzey's cinnamon. I put the ingredients in a tall latte mug and it took exactly 3 minutes. You're right, even without the chips it has a lot of chocolate flavor. A perfect quick dessert. I can't wait to make this with my niece & nephew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This is actually pretty good. If you are looking for a cute little dessert for two make this in a mug and split it between 2 small serving dishes. Three minutes is plenty. I also added peanut butter chips. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      For a cake baked in microwave, it was good. I just cooked it for 2 minutes and it was a bit dry, so i think that the chocolate chips and probably some chocolate fudge or maybe strawberry jam would make this a whole lot better. I would also add a pinch of salt and a pinch of baking powder. It's a good recipe, you just need to tweak it according to your taste. Thanks lil'chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5-Minute Mug Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 954.3
     
    Calories from Fat 525
    55%
    Total Fat 58.4 g
    89%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 192.4 mg
    64%
    Sodium 100.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.4 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 67.9 g
    271%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites