Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5-Minute Individual Potato Gratins by Melissa D'arabian Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5-Minute Individual Potato Gratins by Melissa D'arabian

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2011

      copy and pasted review from the Food Network website...putting it here for easy reference for me when I get ready to try this out!....."I've made this five or six times now and love it! The best variation I've tried so far is to dice finely one-half of a large Jalapeno and let it steep in the cream over the heat. Then strain the jalapeno flavored cream over the potatoes and sprinkle the Jalapeno bits on top. Be sure to do at least four layers of thinly sliced potatoes (two or three potatoes per layer and Mexican-blend cheese and overfill the tins slightly because it all compacts during cooking. I've also tried it with thyme-infused cream and other times I've used smoked cheddar, spicy jack, and gruyere cheeses. They were all great! These freeze and reheat nicely, by the way!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      It's a good idea in theory. They're quite easy, so long as you choose potatoes that are the same size as the muffin tin--otherwise it's a job to fit them in right. But next time I would not use raw potatoes, although I usually prefer them. I had to cook them for an hour to cook the potatoes through, and that meant the cheese and onions were scorched. They still get four stars on flavor alone. With pre-cooked potatoes, this recipe would probably be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This recipe makes a nice presentation, if you feel like your potatoes are boring. I 'shaved' my potato, making the slices as thin as chips. I used a jumbo muffin pan, and filled all 6, making approximately 3-4 layers of potatoes, with cheese sprinkled in between the layers. Hard to believe there is no butter in this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised with how well these turned out. Tasty and crispy, they were devoured! When I want to impress my guests, I will pull out this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing, diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      These were a hit at dinner tonight. I ended up making 12 because there was too much potato to fit into 8 muffin cups. I grated a bit more cheese and sliced a third green onion for the extra 4 potato gratins. I also didn't end up using 3/4 cup of cream. I just poured a bit over each assembled muffin tin without measuring the amount but I would guess that each muffin tin got a couple of tablespoons of cream. Made for Best of 2010 Tag Game Event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Can't believe I forgot to review this, made it back in November at the deer lease. We really enjoyed these and it was easy to do. I did salt and pepper each layer. It was nice to have something that felt a little 'sophisticated' to eat down at the deer lease. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      We had fun with these. We didn't remove the foil halfway through. The plus side of that is the potatoes cooked in 35 minutes. The downside, they were pale and not crusty, and we had to scoop our portion out of the muffin cup at the table. Taste-wise they were good. Made for ZWT8 trip to Australia / New Zealand. Thanks for the fun diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Me and DH loved this recipe. It's so easy to do. We'll be doing it again soon. I had only mozzarella cheese. And I added yellow onions. The taste was fabulous. And I used 1 tbs of heavy cream in each. Thanks diner :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      This recipe is really yummy my husband loved it and is very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      I made this recipe "as is" but used ramekins vs. a muffin tin. They turned out well and is great side to just about anything. Quick and easy. Will do these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I halved this recipe, except used the same amount of green onions... yummy is all I can say! Went perfect with the roast chicken we got!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This worked very well for me, I had wondered if they would stick but I had no trouble at all, even allowing for old and well-used muffin tins. I used the coarse side of my grater to roughly slice/grate the raw potatoes, and I used shredded parmesan, not having swiss. I guess-timated the cream. They cooked perfectly, tasted Delicious, I'm not a huge potato fan but I do like a creamy potato bake, and crispy roasted potatoes, I would say that this is the best of both worlds! Thank you Diner, a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      These were absolutely delish!!! I cut it in half for the 2 of us & used custard cups instead of muffin pans, sprayed well with Pam & had no trouble with sticking. I got 4 custard cups & only used 1 baking potato well washed, thinly sliced with skin on. I have 2 left & can't wait to use them up tomorrow with grilled pork chops. What a great recipe so elegant looking, wish I had it when the outlaws came for dinner, would have made a nice impression. I also used gruyere cheese, shredded & topped each cup off with the whipping cream. Will be making these very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      These were fun to make and had a wonderful taste and presentation! I was leary because I don't bake much and anticipated a problem with my ancient muffin tins. I don't use Pam but greased the tins quite heavily and had no trouble turning them out. Super flavour! Thanks for posting. Made for Food.Commandos ~ ZWT 7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Wow. These are so flavorful and so easy! I used red skin potatoes, and did half with gruyere and half with cheddar. I salt and peppered each layer and used less than 1 T cream per gratin. Wonderful, wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Easy to assemble and very tasty, I had some smoked provolone that needed to be used up and the flavour was perfect. :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      We had these for dinner last night to go with salmon filet and baked beans. Perfect combination, but would go with any main dish I'm sure. Had to use Vidalia onion as I was out of green, but they were wonderful with the Vidalias. Mine stuck to the dish a little, but were still very presentable. Thanks so much for a tasty treat that I'll be making often. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      These were absolutely fabulous! I loved how crispy all the outer edges got. I used shredded parmesan because I'm not a fan of swiss. I think cheddar would be nice, too. The directions were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      I made these using 1 1/2 cup ceramic oven proof souffle dishes and allowed an hour to cook at 200C (non fan forced oven), I used 3 large nadine potatoes and got 4 layers in my dish. The drawback in my selection of baking dish is I don't think they browned on the bottom as well as they should have as compared to a metal container so would like to try again using texas muffin pans but overall this dish is quite rich even though I only used a little less than 2 tablespoons of thicken cream per serve but overall an enjoyable potatoe dish. Thank you diner524, made for Went To Market tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      What a lovely recipe diner. We really enjoyed these quick and easy to make potatoes. I made in a dish big enough for two. I adjusted the ingredients and time accordingly. These turned out perfectly. Tender and flavorful. The swiss cheese and sweet onions were a lovely addition. I didn't have any green onions left, so I used vidallias...they were nice in this dish. Thanks so much for sharing a dish I will make again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I wanted to make this for two, so I halved the recipe and then made it in small gratin bowls. So I adjusted the cooking time, although I found I really didn't need to. I did cut my potatoes very thin, so that probably helped in reducing the cooking time. The taste was wonderful! I'll do this again....I can make it for just a few people and not have to deal with the leftovers of a big gratin dish! Thanks for sharing...made for Potluck tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5-Minute Individual Potato Gratins by Melissa D'arabian

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.7
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    52%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 73.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 55.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites