41 Reviews

copy and pasted review from the Food Network website...putting it here for easy reference for me when I get ready to try this out!....."I've made this five or six times now and love it! The best variation I've tried so far is to dice finely one-half of a large Jalapeno and let it steep in the cream over the heat. Then strain the jalapeno flavored cream over the potatoes and sprinkle the Jalapeno bits on top. Be sure to do at least four layers of thinly sliced potatoes (two or three potatoes per layer and Mexican-blend cheese and overfill the tins slightly because it all compacts during cooking. I've also tried it with thyme-infused cream and other times I've used smoked cheddar, spicy jack, and gruyere cheeses. They were all great! These freeze and reheat nicely, by the way!"

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyndimking_7457893 August 06, 2011

It's a good idea in theory. They're quite easy, so long as you choose potatoes that are the same size as the muffin tin--otherwise it's a job to fit them in right. But next time I would not use raw potatoes, although I usually prefer them. I had to cook them for an hour to cook the potatoes through, and that meant the cheese and onions were scorched. They still get four stars on flavor alone. With pre-cooked potatoes, this recipe would probably be perfect.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl June 20, 2011

This recipe makes a nice presentation, if you feel like your potatoes are boring. I 'shaved' my potato, making the slices as thin as chips. I used a jumbo muffin pan, and filled all 6, making approximately 3-4 layers of potatoes, with cheese sprinkled in between the layers. Hard to believe there is no butter in this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised with how well these turned out. Tasty and crispy, they were devoured! When I want to impress my guests, I will pull out this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing, diner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl October 19, 2011

I made this recipe "as is" but used ramekins vs. a muffin tin. They turned out well and is great side to just about anything. Quick and easy. Will do these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW July 27, 2011

These were absolutely delish!!! I cut it in half for the 2 of us & used custard cups instead of muffin pans, sprayed well with Pam & had no trouble with sticking. I got 4 custard cups & only used 1 baking potato well washed, thinly sliced with skin on. I have 2 left & can't wait to use them up tomorrow with grilled pork chops. What a great recipe so elegant looking, wish I had it when the outlaws came for dinner, would have made a nice impression. I also used gruyere cheese, shredded & topped each cup off with the whipping cream. Will be making these very often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoryJean54 June 25, 2011

These were a hit at dinner tonight. I ended up making 12 because there was too much potato to fit into 8 muffin cups. I grated a bit more cheese and sliced a third green onion for the extra 4 potato gratins. I also didn't end up using 3/4 cup of cream. I just poured a bit over each assembled muffin tin without measuring the amount but I would guess that each muffin tin got a couple of tablespoons of cream. Made for Best of 2010 Tag Game Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 11, 2011

Can't believe I forgot to review this, made it back in November at the deer lease. We really enjoyed these and it was easy to do. I did salt and pepper each layer. It was nice to have something that felt a little 'sophisticated' to eat down at the deer lease. Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HatesTooCook February 07, 2010

These are every bit as good as I thought they would be. I used all the ingredients listed with no added spices and DH and I were very impressed with the flavor. I cut the recipe in half and made jumbo muffins. I got 3 nice size servings with my potato. I used the suggestion of putting slices of potato around the muffin cup. I also topped them with additional potato slices. I cooked them for 1 hour and they came out perfect. Crispy on the outside tender on the inside. I decided not to flip them out of the pan but to serve them right side up. This is going in my best of 2010 cookbook. Thanks for posting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 11, 2010

My family really liked these. In anticipation of that and their hearty appetites, I made these in a large pan. I layered the potato, salt pepper, a little garlic powder and cheese and then repeated until I had used up all my potatoes. I did not have heavy cream so I just used skim milk. They were so popular I made them again the next day. I think they would make a great presentation if made in the muffin tins. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 22, 2009

So good. I used cheddar cheese for personal preference and cooked mine a little long so they got slightly burned around the edges, but still tasted great. I used fat-free half & half in place of the cream and it worked well. Thanks. Made for Zaar Stars :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 13, 2009
5-Minute Individual Potato Gratins by Melissa D'arabian