22 Reviews

I've tried other microwave mug chocolate cake recipes and they have been pretty bad. I was sure I would never bother tying it again but I saw that the ingredients in this recipe included an egg and realized this could improve the texture and moisture a lot. I've made this recipe a few times now - all without the chocolate chips since I don't have any on hand. . The first time I made it as written. The cake was very dry and kind of tough. I think three minutes in the microwave was too long. So I made it again but cooked it only 2? minutes. The texture was better but it was still a little dry. So I made it again but cooked it only 2 minutes. Much better. The fourth time I added an extra half tbl of oil and cooked it just 2 minutes. This was pretty good. Moist and a good texture. Certainly not like from the oven cake but when a chocolate cake mood hits, it's quick to put together. The addition of chocolate chips would probably improve this even more. Btw... I realize that all microwaves are different and the size and shape of the mug would also affect how long it takes to cook but I would suggest starting with less time to begin with so you don't dry it out or overcook it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeeblyWeebly June 09, 2012

Tried this about 10mins ago and it's heaven in a cup for about 5mins ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurence M. April 19, 2015

Ok so this recipe was not good at all. Yes it did turn out like cake, but the taste was like a brown sponge. Mine was moist but lacked chocolate taste. I didn't add chocolate chips but I don't think that would of helped. I think the amount of flour and sugar is off. Sorry but this recipe is not a good one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amcritten October 18, 2015

Not very good at all :( Just made this and it doesn't taste very chocolately to me. It has a very faint chocolate scent and chocolate taste but it hardly comes through. Based on other reviews I added an extra 1/2 Tbsp oil so it's very moist, but the flavor is just meh.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kritzer_99 July 10, 2015

This cake is awful! Rubbery texture. Would not recommend it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynette Paulson November 25, 2015

I just cooked this recipe and it was absolutely disgusting. The cake had no flavor and no matter what I added to make it better, it failed to taste good in any way. When I make something to eat, I want to eat something that tastes at least half-decent. I cooked the recipe with chocolate chips and everything, and afterward added many different topping to no avail, it still tasted horrible.I would never recommend this to anyone if you are looking for something tasteful. The only thing even close appetizing about this cake was the texture that was at a good medium between fluffiness/thickness. Overall, however, it was a great disappointment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brodyismydog October 20, 2015

Wonderful recipe! It was quick, and easy to assemble, and I couldn't resist licking the mixing spoon that I used to mix together the ingredients. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fhuitang October 15, 2015

the original recipie gives a very dry rubbery cake. It cooked perfectly in 1min 15sec at 700W power. After which I just mashed it up and had it with whipped cream and it tasted great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bipasana B. October 15, 2015

This came out a bit bitter to me. Not enough sugar for my tastes I think. Texture was heavy. I had added an extra tablespoon of oil because several other reviews said it came out dry. Maybe some baking soda or something to lighten the texture?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lena A. October 15, 2015

Recipe as written is dense, but add 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp soda for airy result. Most important part of recipe is to make sure all dry ingredients combined with wet. While it defeats the purpose of a single-dish dessert, mixing dry in one mug and wet in another, then combining, with attention to scraping the space where side and bottom of mug meet, makes for better outcome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
still_swimming October 04, 2015
5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake