54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm in love with this method and recipe. It takes a minimum of effort for great bread several times a week. I used weight instead of volume for better control (32.6 oz AP flour, 25.6 oz water, 0.49 oz active yeast, 0.88 oz kosher salt). I also used whole wheat flour for 25% of the total flour by weight).

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy October 10, 2009

I just finished making 8 loaves for the first time. One recipe I replaced 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the white. It gave me a heavier but hearty loaf. Excellent. Hard not to eat a whole loaf at one time. This really needs the frig for at least 3 hours to be workable. As it was cool, I let it raise more than the 40 min. suggested. I also turned it several times to stretch the gluten as Cooks Illustrated suggested. I knew what I was looking for. I will never return to the old way of making yeast bread again as this recipe is heaven. Please follow the exact measurements. I use a cookies sheet that is sprayed with oil and sprinkled with cornmeal. Also sprayed the loafs with water the last 5 min. Fantastic.....Gave it to 12 cooks who also said, Fantastic

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joanwgessner February 07, 2010

I made this last week on a Friday & the dough was finished off by Tuesday! The only change i made was i used bleached ap flour instead of unbleached. I think the effect it had was possibly just the color of the bread...it had a somewhat grayish tint to it...it still tasted great, though. Mixing the dough by hand was easy enough...though, i recommend using a round container...all i had that was big enough was a square 8qt food container from sams club.I used the cast iron dutch oven method to bake it & the crust was awesome...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eavey May 17, 2013

HELP! I love the taste of this bread, but mine is totally flat! After the first time I still used my starter but added additional flour, yeast and water which helped a bit. After research, I thought I had let it rise too long so this time I let it go only an hour in a 70 degree house after mixing dough. Again saw a nice first rise, but nothing the second time and very little in the oven. Any suggestions out there?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IMCook2295 January 14, 2013

What a great recipe! The texure perfect. This first loaf had a chewy, crisp crust. I love the fact that you can make a big batch and just bake off as needed. I'm looking forward to trying it again after the dough has had a chance to age. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 12, 2011

I saw Red Apple Guy's picture and review and knew I had to try this. DH and I love fresh baked bread but it's usually way to much and a lot goes to waste. With this I can take out just enough for the 2 of us and have fresh every day. I LOVE that it's ready and waiting in the fridge. At first I felt the directions were way to complicated for me, but as I worked through them realized they are just very complete and easy to follow. I followed exactly, right down to the water pan and the bread came out wonderful, soft and fluffy on the inside with a wonderful crunchy outer crust. DH declared this a 10 star recipe. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 20, 2009

OMG!!! Just made this tonight. Couldn't wait to refrigerate the dough, so my first one was right after rising for 3 hours. Absolutely wonderful!! This is going to be made a lot in this house!!! Thank you for the fantastic recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TERRI E. April 12, 2015

What a great recipe. I can't believe I made this bread and it tastes so good. It has nice texture and crumb with a really lovely flavor. The crust was perfect, just the way we like it. Thank you for making me look like a star. The house smelled delicious while it was baking. Made for Whats on the Menu? Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 17, 2015

I love this recipe!It is easy and so good.I no longer use my breadmaker.I also make pizza crust with this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beros July 28, 2014

I made this for my husband, tonight, for dinner. I used it to make fry bread. Turned out wonderful. It was fast and easy. I also baked a small loaf in a cast iron pan. It is lovely

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grandmamoo May 07, 2014
5 Minute Artisan Bread