18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! Since we're not huge fans of pimientos, I substituted with sliced sun dried tomatoes! I also added some extra mozzarella cheese to the top (maybe 1/3 cup) and a sprinkle of dried Italian seasoning. Was melt in your mouth good! Making again for company this weekend!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne April 26, 2007

Yummy! I made a mountain of pesto this past summer and thought New Years Eve was a great time to use some of what I had frozen. This recipe was the perfect application! I used Neufchatel and a mix of pecorino romano and parm as I didn't have enough parm. I didn't use quite the full amount of pimentos, just what looked good. Served with lightly toasted multi-grain baguette slices. Everyone at the party kept commenting on how tasty it was (which was true!) Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 January 01, 2012

Wonderful! Very easy to prepare and had great flavor. This was much enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 24, 2013

Awesome, super easy, quick app that everyone will love. Here are some changes I made. I blended the cream cheese and parm in the food processor and blended in a few slices of salami. I also layered in some sliced pepperoncinis and used monterey jack cheese instead of mozzarella (all I had in the house). I served it with triscuits. These little changes gave it more tang and zip which my family loves. Great recipe. Everyone kept coming back for more...even after dinner was over! Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamiegess December 25, 2012

Delicious---! I, too, subbed roasted peppers (mixed with some sun-dried tomato paste) for the pimiento, and took another reviewer's advice about mixing the cheeses to avoid the hard crust. Also, draining the pesto is a must! Thanks for a treat, indeed. Into the appetizer file it goes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante June 09, 2012

We loved this dip! So easy too, will be making often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 09, 2012

This was GREAT. I used Classico jarred pesto, and drained some of the oil off the top before I spread it over the cream cheese. I also used chopped roasted red peppers instead of pimentos. Everyone was raving over this dip. I walked away from it for a few minutes and when I returned the dish was licked clean! The smell was luring people over to the table to try it, it was wonderful. Next time I might mix some of the mozarella cheese into the cream cheese mixture because when it cools it forms a crust on the top that is hard to get a cracker through. Thanks for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgal July 05, 2010

Absolutely delicious. I used roasted red peppers in place of the pimiento, just a rough chop. I used Classico pesto as I didn't have time to make it. After reading reviews, I drained the oil from the pesto and then drained the pesto itself on 5-6 paper towels to get as much oil out as I could. So easy and so flavorful. Keeper, thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! May 01, 2010

It was INCREDIBLE!! i used roasted red peppers and added more cheese. The only problem that i found was the olive oil film (from the pesto) over the top after baking. i simply used a papertowel to damp it dry. I also used refrigerated pesto not the kind you find on the shelf. I think next time i might sprinkle olives with the cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s.b.diaz March 22, 2010

Great recipe! I was looking for something to use some leftover cilantro pesto on. I omitted the pimiento and served with tortilla chips. YUM!!! I may have to post it as a new recipe! I will definitely make again using basil pesto.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenJenMarie December 06, 2009
5 Layer Italian Dip