Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5 Layer Italian Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5 Layer Italian Dip

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2007

      Wonderful! Since we're not huge fans of pimientos, I substituted with sliced sun dried tomatoes! I also added some extra mozzarella cheese to the top (maybe 1/3 cup) and a sprinkle of dried Italian seasoning. Was melt in your mouth good! Making again for company this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Yummy! I made a mountain of pesto this past summer and thought New Years Eve was a great time to use some of what I had frozen. This recipe was the perfect application! I used Neufchatel and a mix of pecorino romano and parm as I didn't have enough parm. I didn't use quite the full amount of pimentos, just what looked good. Served with lightly toasted multi-grain baguette slices. Everyone at the party kept commenting on how tasty it was (which was true!) Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Wonderful! Very easy to prepare and had great flavor. This was much enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Awesome, super easy, quick app that everyone will love. Here are some changes I made. I blended the cream cheese and parm in the food processor and blended in a few slices of salami. I also layered in some sliced pepperoncinis and used monterey jack cheese instead of mozzarella (all I had in the house). I served it with triscuits. These little changes gave it more tang and zip which my family loves. Great recipe. Everyone kept coming back for more...even after dinner was over! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Delicious---! I, too, subbed roasted peppers (mixed with some sun-dried tomato paste) for the pimiento, and took another reviewer's advice about mixing the cheeses to avoid the hard crust. Also, draining the pesto is a must! Thanks for a treat, indeed. Into the appetizer file it goes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      We loved this dip! So easy too, will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      This was GREAT. I used Classico jarred pesto, and drained some of the oil off the top before I spread it over the cream cheese. I also used chopped roasted red peppers instead of pimentos. Everyone was raving over this dip. I walked away from it for a few minutes and when I returned the dish was licked clean! The smell was luring people over to the table to try it, it was wonderful. Next time I might mix some of the mozarella cheese into the cream cheese mixture because when it cools it forms a crust on the top that is hard to get a cracker through. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. I used roasted red peppers in place of the pimiento, just a rough chop. I used Classico pesto as I didn't have time to make it. After reading reviews, I drained the oil from the pesto and then drained the pesto itself on 5-6 paper towels to get as much oil out as I could. So easy and so flavorful. Keeper, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      It was INCREDIBLE!! i used roasted red peppers and added more cheese. The only problem that i found was the olive oil film (from the pesto) over the top after baking. i simply used a papertowel to damp it dry. I also used refrigerated pesto not the kind you find on the shelf. I think next time i might sprinkle olives with the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Great recipe! I was looking for something to use some leftover cilantro pesto on. I omitted the pimiento and served with tortilla chips. YUM!!! I may have to post it as a new recipe! I will definitely make again using basil pesto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      So easy and everyone loves it every time I serve it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Wow! This was fantastic! I couldn't find the brand of pesto mentioned, so I got a jar of Classico. I would suggest not mixing the settled oil into the pesto if your sauce has any, but avoiding it, since it rises to the top when cooking. I used roasted red bell peppers rather than pimiento, and chopped them. Served with crackers, thinly sliced baguette, and crunchy italian bread (almost crouton like). Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Great! Took this to an italian themed new year's eve dinner party at our neighbors. Served with homemade rosemary bread. Didn't have pimento - used chopped roasted red peppers. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      What a wonderfully delicious dip! I'll be making this many more times in the future. It's addicting!!! I followed your recipe and instructions to a "t" -- and would not change a thing. I enjoyed it on crackers, but many of the guests preferred the sliced baggette. Either way, it's an amazing appetizer. I couldn't find the particular brand of pesto sauce, but used a brand that I felt would be good. It worked out great. Thank you for sharing this recipe with all of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This was a real hit at an office party. The compliments were just flying around the room! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Wonderfull -- was able to make ahead and take to a dinner party and just pooped it in the oven after we arrived. Tasty and a sought after recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      Oh, this is soooo good - I could have eaten the whole pan myself! I could not find DiGiorno pesto sauce so just used another brand. I served this with toasted baguette - yum! This is a keeper in my appetizer cookbook - thanks, Cookiegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Sounds wonderful and will try this weekend! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5 Layer Italian Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.9
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    76%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 61.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 624.9 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites