Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5 Cup Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5 Cup Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2002

      This has to be the best pecan pie I have ever made or tasted! Pecans take center stage in this fabulous recipe. Simple to prepare with excellent results! Thanks for sharing, Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Love this not too sweet pecan pie. I must say I did not follow the recipe exactly as I mis-read the direction. Instead of 1/2 C of Pecans toasted and processed, I used 1/2 of the Pecans! But, it turned out great and was very tasty. I had request for the recipe! Next time I will follow the direction, who knows maybe even better. Love the flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Best pecan pie I have ever made. Pecan pie is my husband's hands-down favorite, and he absolutely LOVED this one. He had another slice of pie for breakfast the following morning. I'm not a big fan of pecan pie normally, but I ate an entire slice of this one and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This was stunning! I was nervous about using an untested recipe for Christmas dinner, but I was not disappointed! I ended up using a 1.5QT casserole dish, and it was the perfect size. There`s a lot of pecans! Even my "What do you mean we aren't using my family's traditional recipe?!?" husband enjoyed it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making a pecan pie, and I think I did pretty good! While this did have a different texture and flavor from the normal pecan pies, I will say that this is a great option. I was asked to make a less-sweet pie for the holidays, and this will definitely work. The only changes I made was to substitute chopped pecans for some of the whole pecans, making it easier to cut. I also couldn't get my food processor to make pecan butter, but I did as much as I could, and it still worked. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I have made this recipe a few times and it has been well liked. It is somewhat labor intensive but worth the effort. Lots of pecans, just the way a pecan pie should be. The recipe I have always used is from: An American Place by Larry Forgione

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Didn't like this recipe! Way too many pecans! Good flavor but it was too hard to even cut because of all the pecans. Family members were disappointed in this pie on Christmas Day and it was left on plates. Will definately NOT make this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I just made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the day! I reduced the corn syrup by 1 Tbs and used 1 Tbs of brandy. I also used only 4 1/2 cups of pecans because that's all I had in the house :-) The pecan paste gives the pie marvelous flavor and the consistency of the filling is wonderful. We all enjoyed it and this will be the recipe I use from now on. Thanks Steve!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I had problems with this recipe. I used a 9" deep dish pan but it overflowed, making a mess & ruining the crust edge. Also, I baked it for 40 minutes until it was plenty brown, as you can see in the photo, but it still didn't set firmly - an ooey, gooey, runny (but yummy!) mess of a presentation that we ended up serving over icecream as a topping. I did re-bake it the next day, covered with foil, for another 20 minutes and that helped. Still, even with those problems, we loved the taste and the recipe is easy enough to put together. I've always yearned for a pecan pie with less filling and more nuts and I will try making this Larry Forgione recipe again - using 2 smaller pie shells. *Also, the pie shell should be PRE-BAKED.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This pie is outstanding! A pricey pie with a couple of extra steps, but definitely worth the cost and effort. I made this for Christmas dinner, but it actually filled TWO deep dish pie shells. Bonus! I had an extra one to take to a Christmas Eve party. I baked them together for exactly 30 minutes, though they probably could have gone a little longer. I always seem to burn pecan pies for some reason, so I was overly cautious about it this time. Everyone at both places raved about this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      My first pecan pie ever and it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it and so did I (I dont usually like all the goo that is normal pecan pie). Even though 5 cups of pecans can be expensive, this pie is well worth it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Absolutely Perfect! This is a great recipe and not too sweet like other pecan pies. I got soooo many compliments on this one, I will use this recipe every year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      This is absolutely the best pecan pie I have ever eaten! I could eat the whole thing by myself! It is dangerous in my house! If you like nuts better than custard, this pie is for you. Foolproof!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Great recipe indeed. I've been making this for a decade. The "genius" creator of this dish is Larry Forgione. It's "restaurant quality" alright-- An American Place was of quality (that is, to us New Yorkers, before it moved to Lex.). We should give credit where it's due... its only right that we mention the source. Update: Its published in his book, "An American Place" and posted on Food Network's site. Gimme a break! http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_13658,00.html

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Steve, you are a genius! This is THE best nut pie ever! The toasted nut butter, abundance of nuts and the lighter filling make this wonderful. I used walnuts, as my SIL is allergic to pecans. The only other adjustment was to increase bake time for high altitude, and next time will use a larger pan. This was definitely a big hit at Thanksgiving dinner, thank you! My other nut pie recipes are now out the window.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      WOW!!! what a pie. Absolutly fantastic. I followed recipe as written. Not too sweet. Very rich in flavor. And no leftovers. I baked in a deep dish pan and it fit perfectly. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Thank you, Steve, for a wonderful pecan pie recipe! We're nuts about pecan pie at our house (pun intended) and we loved this recipe. I'll be making it again and again - I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This is absolutely fabulous! I love pecan pie, but it is often way too sweet - this one is just perfect. Rich, just sweet enough and the wonderful pecan flavor is dominant. I'm not a great baker and this recipe went without a hitch -Thanks Steve for a superb recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      Steve, this is the perfect pie! Its just sweet enough and full of nuts without being either syrup-y or dry. I've never tasted anything like it and I didn't change a thing. I made both this pie and your $25 pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving yesterday, and my husband has been offering to clean and get my nails done all morning. This is the only pecan pie recipe i will ever use, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5 Cup Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 996.7
     
    Calories from Fat 685
    68%
    Total Fat 76.2 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 138.7 mg
    46%
    Sodium 185.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 39.7 g
    158%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes