Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5 Cup Ambrosia Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5 Cup Ambrosia Salad

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2001

      Took this salad to a barbecue, I used the long 'thread' coconut and as I couldnt find a lemon yoghurt here in NZ, I used an orange and apricot flavoured one. It was really yummy...thanks =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2001

      The recipe did not say to drain the juice from the pineapple and mandarin oranges and therefore it was very soupy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Awesome simple recipe. I used sour cream and added cherries. We all loved it. Thanks for an easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Same recipe I have used b4. I never used the lemon yogurt b4 and will try it next time. I always top this with cherry halves. It makes for a pretty presentation but don't put them on too soon or they may color the salad. Great for a Thanksgiving or Xmas dinner as it is refreshing like fruit when fruit isn't in season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I added fruit cocktail as well and coloured mini marshmellows about 10 minutes before serving. I made this for a pot luck luncheon. Very tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I loved the creamy taste of this "fruit salad"!!! I also really liked the fact that all the ingredients are in equal proportions so I can make it in any quantity that I want... I made just half a recipe this time since I knew my BF would not even taste it... he didn't know what he was missing out on... I used sour crem and did add the marshmallows in along with all the other ingredients since I like them soft... Yummy!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Yummy! Loved this. Very good for parties...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      favorite of mine for years! I like it with sour cream and white marshmellows! My kids don't like coconut so now I just leave it out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      very simple and good. we prefer using the colored marshmallows and sour cream. I also add a quarter cup dried cranberries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Made this with vanilla yogurt instead of the lemon (family not fans of lemon), and it was outstanding! Great job :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      This was really good! I used peach and mandarin yogurt (couldn't find lemon!). I used dessicated coconut so I mixed 1/2 cup powdered sugar with 3/4 cup coconut. A big hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Just made this tonight... it was good, but not the "Ambrosia" that I remember having at a party years ago. What drew me to this recipe was the use of sour cream instead of Cool Whip (I'm majorly anti -Cool Whip!!). I used pineapple tidbits instead of crushed, not sure if that made a difference or not. I added a little confectioners sugar because it still tasted too "sour cream". All in all, it came out good, but not EXACTLY what I wanted. The search goes on...! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      Wonderful, old-fashioned yumminess! I love the sour cream with all the other sweetness, and as suggested, I added a handful or two of dried cranberries-LOVED it like that! The cranberries added nice color and a slight crunch. I also mixed in the marshmallows and didn't have a problem with sogginess at all. Great recipe Marg!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      This has been a family favorite for years but instead of just one cup of mini marshmallows, I use close to one whole bag plus I add one cup of marachino cherries. If the mixture seems a bit thick, then I add some of the cherry juice. It's a big hit everytime!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      Yum, taste of my childhood! This was excellent. I used peaches instead of the mandarins because that's what I had on hand and it turned out well. I think next time I'll use finer (flaked?) coconut because I love the flavour but it's a little chewy with the shredded coconut.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      In the ingredients list it says to drain both the pineapple and the oranges

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      A lady from church gave me this recipe. It is wonderful!! I used the colored mini-marshmellows and the salad is so pretty!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I had never had a 5 Cup Ambrosia Salad before and I just thought it was okay for my tastes. The texture of the coconut was a little odd for me and the yogurt base was more tart than I expected. It's certainly pretty and I know so many people adore it, so I appreciate the chance to have tried it. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is a very yummy recipe and simple to make...Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Perfect just as posted! I made it twice in the past week. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5 Cup Ambrosia Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.8
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    64%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 11.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 26.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes