Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 5 Cans and a Jar Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    5 Cans and a Jar Soup

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      Wonderful Soup! I used medium salsa and splurged on a jar of the good stuff since I knew that would really affect the flavor. Other changes I made were: a can of pinto in place of kidney because of preference, 3/4 of a shredded rotisserie chicken, cumin and garlic powder based on other reviewers recommendations. I hate to read a review where they make tons of changes and then give the recipe a low rating, so I tasted the broth before I added the cumin and garlic and it was delicious. This is a very easy and fast recipe to throw together and I agree with other reviewers about it's versatility. Thanks for such a great, quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Delicious and easy!! Gotta like that :) Like other reviewers I used a good quality medium salsa for this soup. Also, as I'm not a big fan of kidney beans I substituted mixed beans for that can and for my kids I didn't add the extra hot sauce. Just a few very basic changes. My boys added some Doritos in their bowls, ds10 gave it 4 starts and said it's a keeper, ds8 was luke-warm but did enjoy the broth it produced. Because I do like heat I added cayenne to my bowl and some fresh cut up cilantro. Will definitely be enjoying the leftovers for my lunches this week and the recipe is a keeper! Thanks so much for posting this :yummy: and simple soup! Made & savoured for TOTM's Feb '11 Soup-Fest tag game. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      This was a yummy meal for a rainy day here this weekend. Changes: I added three chicken breasts to the chicken stock and cooked this on high all morning in my crockpot. In the afternoon I added everything else and switched it to low. I also used a large jar of salsa that was the "garlic and lime" flavor, so I didn't add fresh lime juice. My boys thought the lime flavor was odd, but they ate two bowls each anyway. Served it with tortilla chips. : ) Thanks Nicole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I used medium salsa instead of mild and find this soup to be wonderful. Good lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      To thicken this soup, I added half of a tortilla cut into small pieces. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I was really looking for recipes to help my daughter get her feet wet. Took this recipe for a test drive and really liked it. Easy to personalize. Next time they want soup, bang, this is it, then I give her the recipe. Thanks to the chef for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      This was a good hearty soup. I did add 1 lb. of ground beef that I sauteed with 1 onion. I used my homemade salsa, so this is a very economical soup. I served this with crushed up tortilla chips, shredded cheddar cheese, chopped green onions, fresh cilantro and sour cream. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Very good. I changed the recipe though. I used medium salsa as I like a smidge of heat. Great for adding things as a friend took some & added chicken & noodles and loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Couldn't be much simpler than this. And it was good too!!! I did add some chopped ham, mushrooms and hot sauce. Made a great meal with a sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I love this soup because it is so easy to throw together after a crazy day. I always add some cumin and chili powder to give it a little more flavor. It's also a good base to add other ingredients to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      It's hard to believe how delicious this is based on how easy it is. And so may variations can be made from this, including burritos if the liquid is allowed to reduce. I added shredded chicken that was cooked in diced tomatoes, chili powder, garlic and seasoning salt. Also added about 1/2 c rice. Mine turned out very thick since I added the rice and probably 2c chicken & tomatoes. Will definitely make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Very good, very economical and very filling! I made as written, then added about 1 cup of cooked chicken (leftover rotisserie chicken), and about 2/3 cup of uncooked pasta stars. I let it simmer until the pasta was cooked. Very versatile, tasty, and a good way to incorporate veggies and legumes into your diet. Would be great to pack for lunch. Great recipe- thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      i'm with abbygirl on this one; this is definitely a really easy quick soup to make. i've made probably a dozen variations on this recipe with cooked chicken, adding spices like cumin, curry powder, onion or garlic powder, etc. this is an EXCELLENT base recipe and there's so much you can do with it. great recipe, nicolem! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This was a great Soup! I actually forgot to check the recipe when i was making it and forgot to add the hot sauce and lime. My husband added a squirt of ketchup though, and I think it really made a differenct. It brought out the salsa/vinegary flavour a bit more. Super easy for a last minute lunch..and there's leftovers for during the rest of the week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Wow...wow and wow! This is the only recipe that I have wanted to go back and updated my review because of all the possible combinations this recipe has to offer! Since I originally made in March, I have added cooked chicken, cooked prawns, leftover wild/brown rice, can of green chilies, chickpea instead of the kidney beans (because I forgot to buy them) leftover veggies. Changed the seasonings: added more cumin and chili powder (1 tsp each)....1/2 a lime and definately more than a shake of hot sauce!!! You could add a package of taco or chili seasonings for a change (just watch the salt content) The combinations are unlimited. I have served it with grated cheddar cheese, crutons or for more substance, over brown rice. My HD is not a huge fan of red kidney beans, but he certainly enjoyed this! This is one soup that you will always want to have these ingredients in your cupboard for those nights when supper should have been on the table an hour ago!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Apparently I'm crazy. I wasn't very impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Wonderful and so easy. Everyone at the party commented on the great soup and I gave out the recipe to almost everyone. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Very yummy. I followed recipe as written, except I added some cite sized chicken breast and cooked it on low in a crockpot for a few hours. VERY tasty. I look forward to freezing what little leftovers I have in individual serving sizes and using it for "heat and eat" lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was a very easy recipe and delicious as well. I used a can of undrained Chili Beans instead of Black beans, fresh lime juice and processed the salsa in the food processor for the "chunk" phoebes in my family. I also added diced chicken breast and thickened the broth with a bit of cornstarch and water mixed together. We topped ours with sour cream and shredded cheese and had corn and flour tortillas from our neighborhood Tortillaria for dipping. I could have left the chicken out and I think it would have been just as good! This will be a FABULOUS easy weeknight meal this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Very easy to make, and very tasty. I served it with a dollop of sour cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 5 Cans and a Jar Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    16%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 361.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild salsa

    black beans

    corn

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes